We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour!”

Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.65*
and up
Brazilian Side of Iguassu Falls and Itaipu Dam Full-Day Sightseeing Tour from...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Largest hydroelectric power plant in the world, Itaipu is the current world record holder in power generation and is considered one of the 7 wonders of modern engineering. Built on the Parana River, the seventh largest river in the world, between Brazil and Paraguay, it is 8 km wide, has a maximum height of 196 m and a lake of 1350 km². Itaipu enchants not only for the dimensions and technical aspects, but also for being a vanguard in sustainability and tourism, with several options of visits, from the classic Panoramic Tour and the award-winning Special Tour, that leads to the interior of the plant, to boat trips on the lake and night tours of the plant. Visiting Itaipu is to know, closely, what human capacity can accomplish.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Wasquehal, France
Level Contributor
183 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent tour!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were surprised by the film and the bus tour!!!
It was an amazing tour! We had in our bus one engineer that worked on the construction and told us many interesting stories about it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ana paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,780
    3,266
    914
    129
    50
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
334 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“An Experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We took the special tour that gave us a drive around the entire dam and also a view of the inside workings. There were 2 guides on our tour and they split us between English speaking and Portugese speaking. It was a good opportunity to see why it was built together with all the considerations that had to be taken into account when the project is split between 2 countries but also the ecological effect it had flooding the valley. We started with a film and perhaps the most interesting fact to me is that $7.5 billion of royalties have already been fed back into the community. This is not just a project about creating wealth for a number of individuals but about creating a sustainable source of power while preserving the surroundings to the benefit of the community. Approach the trip with an open mind and you will learn a lot about planning and thinking for the future.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
776 reviews
405 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“A fly bye is all you need!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Our view flying in was as good as helicopter tour and drive out to the damn. Unless you are an engineer maybe you would enjoy tour. Having experience in the power generation field, there are too many other activities available to warrant this attraction .

Helpful?
Thank george60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fillmore, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Itaipu : day and night tours”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I hired a guide to take me to dinner, shopping and to the dam for the night illumination as I was there on a Saturday when the illumination takes place. I had purchased a ticket for each of the illumination tours and for the full in plant tour on line with MUCH difficulty. The problem is, the Brazilians often have you register before you buy a ticket. They ask for your id number. If you are not Brazilian you do no have one, which in turn prevents you from buying a ticket. ( happened at Corcovado too) They do direct translations and think that will do. I will not give out my social security number as they already wanted a passport number. When i got there it appeared people were trying to buy tickets at the counter, but I don't know how successful they were.....there had to be 7 buses filled which seems to indicate they were! The tours were in Portugues, but not sure it mattered. You take a drive around the dam for thenight tour and they drop you off at a viewing point......then for about 15 minutes they put colored lights on the dam and tell the story in english and Portugues. then the lights go off and you are back in the bus going to the entry point. Sort of disappointing for the cost....remember there is NO guarantee the spillway will be open...it was not...so all I saw was colored lights on the cement walls of the dam. I am from the Niagara Falls area and thought I would see a bit more pizazz. As my guide said, blink it and you miss it....we had a good laugh about this!!

for the special tour of the inside of the dam you need a pre-ticket and to be there on time. Once again I took the public bus from "al centro" to Itaipu. The bus stops across the street and you just walk over and go to the counter with your ticket where they assign you a bus. Be sue you get this token thing which I did not get. ALSO REMEMBER THERE ARE NO PURSES OR BACKPACKS ALLOWED IN THE DAM. THEY FORGOT TO TELL ME AND I HAD TO RENT AN EXPENSIVE LOCKER. The bus tour in English takes you around the outside of the dam and the guide was informative. Then they hard-hat you and take you in and you see the enormity of the dam and learn more of how much power is produced and how the countries can sell or use the power. This was much better than the night tour if you can only do one. After the tour , you go back across the street to the same bus stop and watch for "al centro" and ask the driver. Once again, you pay for the ticket on the bus...about $2.00m and a 40 minute ride back to the main bus station.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

It is fantastic from every possible angle. A must see. Take the tour, talk to people if possible, enjoy. It's majestic and should be visited. Really impressive. It is rated one of the seven World wonders in engineering and it makes perfect sense. If possible take some of the other tours as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam also viewed

 

Been to Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing