We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam

Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.99*
and up
Itaipu Dam Half-Day Sightseeing Tour from Foz do Iguaçu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Itaipu in detail: a special and unforgettable tour through the interior of the Plant A special and full of energy visit: in addition to seeing the famous sights of the Panoramic Tour, you will still get a closer look of the details of the Plant, the architecture of the majestic concrete cathedrals that make up the 196 meters high dam (equivalent to a 65-story building).
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

It is fantastic from every possible angle. A must see. Take the tour, talk to people if possible, enjoy. It's majestic and should be visited. Really impressive. It is rated one of the seven World wonders in engineering and it makes perfect sense. If possible take some of the other tours as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,440
    3,152
    894
    126
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Damn big Dam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Really great tour. The dam is an amazing facility and the staff were courteous and professional at every turn. The visitor center and gift shop were very top notch.

Most of us take electricity for granted, this is a chance to have a look at what makes it go.

We did a morning tour, leaving our Hotel around 9AM and we got back in time for our 2PM flight to Rio.

I would definitely go again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you're in the area seeing the falls, the dam is worth seeing as well. The scale is incredible - it makes you feel tiny.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The power plant is huge and very important to Brazil and Paraguay in that it supplies an enormous amount of clean energy for the two countries. It is obviously a source of pride and provides many jobs for both countries as well. Perhaps if I knew more about engineering it would be more intriguing, but as a mere tourist there wasn't much for me to see. We first watched a video that was in Portuguese with Spanish subtitles, so we didn't really get that much out of it. Afterward we boarded buses that had trilingual guides, so that was better. Driving around the dam was interesting for about the first 10 minutes as we took in the grandeur, but after that we were ready to head back to the hotel.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Incredible.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The size of the Hydroelectric Power Plant is incredible, I believe that it stands 54 Floors high. It is a joint construction between Brazil and Paraguay and although most of it is on the Paraguayan side Brazil seems to get the most power from it.
The tour is great and the ammount of water that stands behind the dam walls is most impressive.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wackywalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam also viewed

 

Been to Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing