We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”

Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.50*
and up
Tickets for the Panoramic Tour - Itaipu
More Info
$39.35*
and up
Brazilian Side of Iguassu Falls and Itaipu Dam Full-Day Sightseeing Tour from...
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Itaipu Dam Tour with Catamaran Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Largest hydroelectric power plant in the world, Itaipu is the current world record holder in power generation and is considered one of the 7 wonders of modern engineering. Built on the Parana River, the seventh largest river in the world, between Brazil and Paraguay, it is 8 km wide, has a maximum height of 196 m and a lake of 1350 km². Itaipu enchants not only for the dimensions and technical aspects, but also for being a vanguard in sustainability and tourism, with several options of visits, from the classic Panoramic Tour and the award-winning Special Tour, that leads to the interior of the plant, to boat trips on the lake and night tours of the plant. Visiting Itaipu is to know, closely, what human capacity can accomplish.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Loved seeing the massive plant. Well run bus tour; just an hour. Had a couple of stops for pictures. Starts with a movie at the reception which gives quite a bit of background. Took a total of 2 hours but it's a must. Bring a jacket if you wish to sit in open air top level of bus; it gets a bit windy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sambachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,888
    3,310
    928
    129
    50
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

You have have time besides the Falls and Parks which I recommend the most, don't miss the great hydroelectric power plant! It's the biggest in the Latin america, worth to check it out!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gabasjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It was really impressive - we took the English speaking tour of the inside workings of the dam and it was well worth the wait. It was fully booked for three days when we arrived to Foz so we had to extend our stay here to visit - and like I said, it was worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravelholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Water turned into electricity”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Last february we went visiting Foz do Iguaçu, and managed to book an excursion to the Itaipu Hydroelectric Power Plant. We hired a taxi from our hotel and went to the plant, which took us half a day. The excursions must be booked within schedules. It was an awesome experience. Everything there was mega, great, giant, enormous. And it was built thirty years ago and only recently concluded. It was astonishing to realize the amount of concrete, sand, steel and man-power they had to use to build the plant. And, yet, it supplies just a part of the whole energy we need for our country. Really worth a visit, specially for engineers, but also for public in general.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LBosak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend 2-3 hrs”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If you have some time to spare, it is a nice place to visit. We just went on the tour bus and enjoyed learning about the history of the Power plant and take pictures.

Unfortunately my daughter was not old enough to go to the Dam tour, but probably would be much more enjoyable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyFavoritesPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam also viewed

 

Been to Itaipu Hydroelectric Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing