We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reception staff are so rude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taroba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taroba Hotel
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reception staff are so rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently stayed at this Best Western for a 2 night stay to see the falls.

The reception staff at this hotel are just beyond rude and very unhelpful - When you go to ask for help they just stare at you like you are a lunatic, you ask your question and they then turn to there colleagues and start talking and just leave you there standing - This happened on more than one occasion and was just unacceptable, the worst member of staff for this was Leonardo, avoid him at all costs! The only helpful person on reception was Elton so always look out for him if you want somebody friendly and helpful and doesn't make you feel like an idiot!

The travel desk in the hotel that arranges trips to the falls are also just as unhelpful and quite frankly a rip off - They gave us some much duff information - Like that it takes an hour and a half to get to the Argentinian side of the falls and an hour and a half to get over the border - This was nonsense, the whole process to get to the Argentinian falls took less than an hour. They simply want to take your money for over priced trips - Don't go to them - We actually booked our trip with the Katharina Hostel a few doors down - So helpful and reasonable priced.

We wanted to do both the falls in one day (the hotel also told us this was impossible, rubbish!) but we did do it all - I admit it wasn't a leisurely trip round the parks but we knew that would be the case and we had limited time but you can do and its worth going to both!

The rooms at this hotel are very small and the breakfast is really not very pleasant at all. Overall not a good stay here at all and would suggest you look elsewhere as i'm sure there are nicer and more helpful places to stay ... although be warned this place is just very very strange but worht it for the magnificent falls!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauro S, Gerente at Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Ms Laura F,

The staff of the BEST WESTERN Hotel Tarobá Events thanks you for your comments because through them we can enhance the services provided by the hotel. Your comments about our staff were passed to the reception supervisor that has already taken the necessary steps so that this does not happen again.
Regarding the comment made about the agency, we apologize. We really encourage our guests to do only one side of the falls to be able to enjoy the beauty they offer completely. We believe that there has been a misunderstanding regarding the time for crossing the border. We usually inform our guests that the public transportion buses can take over an hour, but if you choose to use the travel agencies transportation that time decreases significantly. In addition, there is often traffic on the bridge, which can increase the crossing time. We are very sorry if that is not what we informed you.
Regarding the comment made about the room, we are very sorry not to have met your expectations, the comments about the breakfast have been passed on to the Manager who will verify the feasibility of making changes.
Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and hope you return to our Hotel so we can change your first impression.
The staff of the BEST WESTERN Taroba Hotel and Events, wishes you and your family all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,509
    1,831
    394
    77
    55
See reviews for
1,984
1,287
272
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Well located for getting buses to the falls, airport and argentina. The staff were very helpful, breakfast buffet good and the room clean. The room was pretty small, but it didn't matter as most of the time is spent out of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauro S, Gerente at Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear JRK25,

It was pleasure to welcome you at BEST WESTERN Hotel Tarobá and Events. We would like to thank you for your willingness to let your testimony on Trip Advisor because through it, we can improve the services provided by the hotel, as we remain in constant pursuit of excellence.
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Despite requesting a room at the point of booking in the new wing (based on other reviews), I was given a room the size of a broom cupboard: literally, the door opened onto a single bed pushed up against the bathroom wall (the room was smaller than a bathroom). I was then given a double in the old wing before finally getting a double in the new wing. As a young, single, female traveller, I was certainly discriminated against.

Reception staff not always the most welcoming. If there was a language issue, staff were just rude and unhelpful.

Great breakfast although extremely busy at times, particularly early morning.

Room Tip: New wing, new wing, new wing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmoneypenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauro S, Gerente at Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear msmoneypenney,

The staff of the BEST WESTERN Hotel Tarobá Events thanks you for your comments because through them we can enhance the services provided by the hotel. Your comments about our staff were passed to the reception supervisor that has already taken the necessary steps so that this does not happen again.
We don't encourage our staff to make any kind of discrimination, so we are very sorry to have made you feel this way.
We apologize for the inconveniences and hope you return to our Hotel to provide a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel has two buildings, connected by the lobby and reception. An old and another completely renovated. I stayed in the new building, in a newly triple room, clean, well decorated and very spacious. The bed is very comfortable. The breakfast is great, good variety and quality.

Room Tip: on booking or at check-in stating that you wish to stay in the renovated building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epifânio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauro S, Gerente at Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Google Translation
Prezado,
Foi um imenso prazer recebê-los no BEST WESTERN Tarobá Hotel e Eventos. Gostaríamos de agradecer a sua disposição ao deixar seu depoimento no Trip Advisor, pois através dele que conseguimos aprimorar os serviços prestados pelo hotel, já que permanecemos em constante busca pela excelência.
Esperamos revê-los em breve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked this hotel for 4 days holiday, no complains at all. It's a typical hotel for holiday makers, around 8AM the lobby is busy with turists heading to the buses. The rooms have been refurbished recently and are spacius for this price category. The staff is helpul and polite.

The hotel is in a central location with plenty of restaurants nearby.

The price of tranfers to the big attractions are a bit expensive in Foz do Iguazu, so we recommend to rent a car, the hotel has a parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sergio, BEST WESTERN Tarobá Hotel e Events time thank you to commend about our hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel has two wings... one older than the other-one; at first we were located in the older-one which had a terrible view and upon request we were changed to the new-one... the room was brand new and excellent... we liked-it very much and the breakfast was a very pleasant surprised as it was very tasty. in Overall we liked our experience here - the only think we didn't like was the surprises on our invoice was we paid all by Expedia and we found that we must pay a "voluntary" tax - not so "voluntary as it is added automatically and additionally a 10% service charge as the front-desk clerk described "for cleaning your room"... I thought if you stay in a hotel they should clean your room at no extra-charge..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montreal-jet-setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear "montreal-jet-setter" thank you to comment about our hotel, we wishes you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

When I chose this hotel I did mainly because of its reviews saying it was close to everything. Right on! The hotel itself is very good, breakfast is really nice with all kinds of fruits, breads, juices, eggs, ham, cheese. I could not say a word about their food. Personnel was fine and polite, front desk, watiers and cleanning lady. Pool upstairs is nice but did not have the chance to try it. The area is safe and calm. The hotel has like two "towers" one is older and other is brand new. I stayed in a room in the old one and the rest of the family in the brand new. Both are fine, of course the brand new has its charm, but I also heard they will remodel the old one. Room is clean and comfortable, with nice bed, tv, plenty of hot water,ac/heater. If you want to go to Ciudad del Este just go to the next street where there is a bus terminal and right in front of it there is a bust stop where you can go there in about 15 min if trafic is fine. I hired a taxi driver from Paraguay and he charged me R$200 (about US$ 100) to pick me up at the hotel take me to Cataratas (Iguazu Falls), wait me there, take me to Puerto Iguazu (Argentina), have lunch, take me Itaipu and drop me off back at the hotel, from 8:30 to 4:30pm. The trip from the airport to the hotel costs R$45 and the way back about the same with the meter on. There is a nice restaurant, churrascaria type, next door which is a buffet with all kinds of meet, where I had lunch and dinner which price is very accessible around R$23. Weather at the time I visited was sunny during the day and kind of cool during the night, I might say very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilberto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauro S, Manager at Taroba Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello " Gilberto40" BEST WESTERN Tarobá Hotel e Events team appreciate the commend. We hope to see soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Viale Tower Hotel
#12 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#8 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taroba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taroba Hotel

Property: Taroba Hotel
Address: Rua Taroba 1048, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-220, Brazil (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tarobá Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taroba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taroba Hotel prioritizes comfort and distinguished service to cope with its charm and design. The Hotel is in a prime location in Downtown area. The main distinguishing features are the comfort necessary for your rest and our commitment to the environment. There are 176 modern and cozy rooms. They are all equipped with box-spring bed, hairdryer, cable TV, digital safe, electronic lock, handrail in the bathroom, electric kettles, telephone with electronic and voice mail, minibar, cool/heat air conditioning and clock radio. Rooms are 100% non-smoking, adapted for people with special needs. The breakfast buffet has FSP (Food Safety Program) seal, which proves that we meet the needs of our guests with quality. Guests may also count on pantry and Business Center with internet and printer at no charge for use, games room, fitness center, open and heated swimming pool overlooking the city and the zoo. In our Hotel Wi-Fi is free as well as parking. In addition to all this, see what Taroba Hotel provides customers with: Rooftop heated pool Massage chair Chapel Games room with video game Fitness Center Playground Breakfast Baby Kitchen ATM Souvenir Shop TV Room Iron / Ironing table Sewing kit Free of charge Business Center with Printer Copier Elevator Scales for Luggage Complimentary Wireless Non-smoking Hotel facilities Baby changing room Special Needs Apartments Free of charge parking lot - subject to availability Downtown location with easy access to restaurants, shops and attractions • Pending Certification: ISO9001, ISO14001 and SA18000 • 3 Stars Certification awarded by the Ministry of Tourism and INMETRO • FSP Certification - Food Safety Program Good cost-effective infrastructure, impeccable cleanliness and excellent services are experienced by our guests, allowing us to be among the best evaluated hotels in Trip Advisor ranking in 2014. Taroba is modern, traditional and economical at the same time, and stands out for its beauty, good service and warm welcome. Enjoy the destination of your dreams at Taroba Hotel and Events and make your trip unforgettable. It is also free shipping for purchases Duty Free from Argentina (must be pre-booked). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Taroba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taroba Express
Taroba Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing