We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2010

this was my 2nd visit, this time taking my husband,who was blown away by everything about the place-amazing location, fabulous service and although a splurge it was worth every cent!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozrob63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,559 - 2,565 of 4,194 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2010

This is an exquisitely renovated hotel within the National Park at Iguassu Falls, Brazil. An Orient Express hotel, the public areas made me feel as if I had stepped back in time. Absolutely beautiful and tasteful. The room was clean, but a bit on the small side. Comfy bed, and good bathroom. Very quiet. We stayed here for one night in order to explore the falls. Considering the remote location, this is a spectacular hotel. We arrived in time to have a late lunch in the dining room. The food was delicious and the dining room lovely. Unfortunately, since we were there on a Sunday, the dining room was not open for dinner, and the only option was a buffet in the pool house. It was a nice buffet, but I was disappointed that we could not eat in the formal dining room. We had pre-dinner cocktails in the bar, which was a great experience. My main complaint is that the air conditioner in our room was not able to overcome the heat. Feb. is mid-summer in Brazil, and the temperature was in the 90's with high humidity. We had a room which faced the falls, so we were reluctant to give up our view. Plus we had settled in and didn't want to change rooms. When we expressed concern to the desk, they had someone come up and close the curtains to keep the sun out. However, the room never really got cool during our stay. It seems to me that since this hotel was recently renovated, that could have put in adequate a/c. That said, this is a remote location, so to find such an otherwise lovely hotel is pretty amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoisonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

As a solo traveller it hurt to pay US$350 for one night at this hotel. But I'd do it again any time, simply, like so many other travellers, to enjoy the Falls without the crowds. I didn't spend much time inside the hotel, but liked my room and enjoyed the superb breakfast. Dining on my own wasn't such a great experience, as I found the atmosphere too formal. The food was excellent, though. I stayed in August and didn't have the best of weather, it rained most of the time, which, however, I thought made the Falls even more impressive. It also kept other hotel guests away, so that I had the Falls all to myself until the Park opened. I then moved on--via the not-to-be-missed bird park--to the less expensive, but not exactly cheap Boutique Hotel de la Fonte for two nights, spending the day in between on the Argentinian side of the Falls, which I had to share with hundreds, if not thousands of other visitors. Still, the Argentinian side is just as much a must-see as the Brazilian side.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lutzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Not such a great location as the Sheraton but much much nicer hotel with a great pool... 2 nights would be enough.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 900cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

The hotel is expensive, but in my opinion worth every cent. The rooms are glorious with superb attention to detail, the food is excellent, particularly in the al a carte restaurant and the service impeccable.
The rooms are spacious, well designed and beautifully decorated. They are apparently still renovating the hotel, but we didn't notice any noise or building work.
The location is of course unbeatable, it was amazing to wander the tracks early in the morning with no one else around.
This elegant hotel has a very european feel. It was truly a gorgeous and special place to stay.
We also stayed in the Sheraton on the opposite side of the park, what a contrast. It was awful!
By the way, don't miss the Bird Park on the Brazilian side, it's excellent. Having a wild toucan hop up and sit beside you is pretty cool.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydneygirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Initially I thought this hotel was rather expensive; but it is worth every penny. It stands grand in the National Park and the staff are very hospitable and friendly. The romance and splendor is breathtaking. The facilities are 5 star and the quality of the food is impeccable.. Explore the falls at your own pace, then relax by the cool pool before going to dinner at the pool-side restaurant and finishing the day in the piano bar, sipping a caiprinha whilst listening to the gentle tones of the piano. Perfection!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiki1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Walking distance to the falls. As you are already in the Park, you can make an evening or early morning walk without the day tourist crowd.
The Hotel is built in Colonial style and nicely blends in with the environment what, in my opinion, can not be said of the other hotel in the Park.
Excellent designed Superb rooms, good pool, Front Desk very helpful, F&B excellent albeit not cheap, and Staff that give you the feel they are there to please the guests.

Be prepared to get seriously wet but do take a boat trip into the Falls, and also do go to the Argentinean side that offers great views of the Falls as well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v4u474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#3 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,782 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#14 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#41 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,299 reviews
Wish Foz do Iguacu by GJP
#15 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $317 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing