We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our experience at the Hotel das Cataratas was uniformly excellent. The only downside was that it was rather pricey, but unlike in the rest of Brazil, you get the quality you pay for here. This hotel was truly world class, from the exquisite decor to the delicious cuisine and outstanding service. We received an extremely friendly welcome and orientation from Ricardo at reception before setting off on the walking trails over the falls. Since the hotel is in the park, we had unlimited access to the trails at any time of day and could take our time to wait for the best light and views. After working up an appetite, we enjoyed a delicious a la carte dinner at the Itaipu restaurant before a restful sleep in the sumptuous guest room. The shower was also spa-like and very relaxing. The next day, we went on the Macuco River safari which the hotel concierge arranged for us, and that was a fantastic experience as well. The second night, we ate the buffet dinner at the Ipe restaurant, which was every bit as outstanding. We had a very early flight the next morning, but the hotel had a light breakfast and coffee waiting for us in the lobby and transported us to the airport in the hotel van. At every step, the service was professional, warm, and impeccable... and English-speaking. I actually learned a little Portuguese to get around since I had heard that language can be an issue even in touristy areas, but this was not the case at Hotel das Cataratas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alexikeguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,116
    440
    90
    32
    17
See reviews for
713
2,050
197
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our stay in this hotel has become a memorable one for us because of the natural beauty of the place and this awesome property that is there in the National Park. The hotel provides all kinds of comforts and facilities to make you want to go back over and over again.Our room had a wonderful view of the Iguacu Falls and the surrounding woods. The room was a spacious one with lot of natural light coming in . One should go around the property itself to take in the beauty of the landscaping, the restaurant, patio, pool , the tower and the sitting areas with the bar. Its a completely family hotel . It provides so many ammenities which is much above the usual standard.The staff is helpful and attentive. The fact that the hotel is the only accommodation in the forest with nothing nearby but just the Falls within walking distance makes it all the more attractive. The breakfast spread was sumptuous and the other meals and snacks served were all very good. Thanks to the hotel staff we have really enjoyed our stay in this property.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitulmukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here as part of a self organised world cup tour around Brazil. The hotel was absolutely fantastic and is the ideal location to see the stunning Iguacu Falls. The Falls and the National Park will exceed any expectations you have as they are mind blowing. So much water, such natural power. An absolute must see and do it from the Belmond as it is by far the best location of all the hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AyresKlenczon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

The trip to Iguacu Falls was among the most memorable vacations we have had and the stay at teh hotel was outstanding. The room was comfortable, the proximity to the falls was outstanding, the fireplace, the pool, the patio, the latte's on deck and the comfortable bar. This hotel has so many wonderful ammenities. The trip to the bird sancuary was also very memorable and the short trip across the border to Argentina to pick up some outstanding wine at an excellent price. Great experience all the way around. I stayed here 5 years ago, but that isn't an open in teh when did you travel pull down

Room Tip: Stay when it is cooler like July or August and try to get view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricSmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was nothing short of wonderful. The accommodated our every need. I had informed them that I am a Vegetarian and the Chef had personally come to our table and asked me what I would like to eat. The staff were very attentive. The Igacu Falls are within walking distance in front of the hotel. Basically we had a great time and we hope that we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

How do you match one of the most spectacular places on earth? Add one of the best Hotels! Having enjoyed the mayhem of the World Cup, we had a fantastic 3 day trip to this wonderful hotel. From the minute you arrive you know this is something special, as you get to the end of the park (the hotel is the only hotel located in the actual national park) you had greeted with a magnificent view of the hotel on one side and the truly wonderful view of the falls on the other. The service was excellent from check in, to concierge and the restaurants. They do a wonderful breakfast and South American BBQ in one restaurant and have an excellent a la carte restaurant. Unlike many hotels in Brazil, the staff at this hotel all speak excellent English. Our room was large and well appointed with an excellent shower. Special mention for Claudio in the main restaurant who remembered our names and how we had our tea and coffee etc - just his manner and attention to detail were back. This was on my bucket list, but have added - must go twice before I can tick this off

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 nights stay at the Belmond Hotel during our recent trip to Brazil.

It was almost midnight when we arrived after 40hrs and 4 flights, but our spirits were instantly lifted by the warm welcome and cozy room in the Garden wing that we were allocated to. The facilities and amenities of the room are as expected of a 5 star standard, and we had a good rest in the room every night.

Much has been said of the privileged location of the hotel in the National Park, and therefore you should make full use of it if you are staying here. We went up to the clock tower at sunrise and sunset (magical and different feeling during both periods), and also had a leisurely stroll all the way to Puerto Cano lookout point at dawn. Do keep your eyes peeled for wildlife like the toucans and various wildlife that seem to be present only when there are fewer people around.

We also made use of the pool and restaurant facilities during our stay. The breakfast buffet is a highlight and really worth the $. Generally we had a very heavy breakfast after our morning walk and shared a light lunch of sandwiches or salads. This helped to keep the budget down! We tried the churrascaria buffet one night and found that we were flat-out full after 2 rounds. I think that there was only two beef cuts (picanha and sirloin) the night we were there so that was perhaps the only improvement we would suggest.

All in all, we found ourselves really reluctant to leave the hotel when we checked out. Job well done and we hope that other travellers will be lucky and able to experience the magic of the hotel for themselves!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#19 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing