We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at iguassu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Luxury at iguassu”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I can only repeat what others have said about this hotel - beautiful hotel with very friendly helpful and efficient staff. We ate dinner in the bar - bar food but good and well presented - nice atmosphere with pianist. Breakfast was super - wide choice of lovely food. Good, free wifi. We had a forest room on 3rd floor with a window looking on to trees - bit of a hike to reception. Hotel is right beside the trails to see the falls and you do get 'out of hours' access but when we were there it was not busy in the day and, to be honest, you have seen all the views in under 45 mins anyway. For quality of stay in a hotel, das cataratas is lovely but for the falls stuff (view from bedroom/access to trails early etc) I personally think the sheraton (less lux hotel, I accept) is a better choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeepot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas with us and other Trip Advisor users.

We are all very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and the hotel's unique location.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,239
    458
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
743
2,131
203
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Hotel,good service and good food.With a superb view of Iguacu Falls worth the money.As the Park opens only 9:00AM to the public the hotel guests have an exclusive access.Good wifi.Try the Macuco tour with a speedboat within the falls it is really fun.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alex z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

It is great to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and yes, the Macuco boat tour is really great fun! Glad that you had the time to do it.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has rooms with the most stunning views right over the falls on the Brazilian side. The grounds are lovely as is the pool area. Great place to see wildlife from Tucans to deer all seen on site. Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Discerning441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Our entire team is very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and the services we provide.

Truly, wildlife is all over Iguassu and the Hotel!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Yes, I agree with other reviewers that the location is excellent but then so it should be considering the room rates. The view from our room was very ordinary with just a 'view' of some trees right outside out window. Also the room size and decor were just average.

Breakfast was satisfactory however other meals and drinks were poor value and it seemed that guests were being taken advantage of by having no other choice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor users.

As hoteliers we do give great value and importance to the feedback of our guests. You review has received our full attention.

In deed, in order to have a room with a complete falls view, this has to be requested at the time of booking. There is a special room category, which is called Deluxe Falls View which has a full view to the falls.

I have taken your remarks on our Food & Beverage Manager, as to our Chef de Cuisine, and all the given attention is being given to them.

Our main aim at the Belmond Hotel das Catarata is to provide our guest with a unique experience and the highest service level. If we have failed you in any of this, please take my sincere apologies for it.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back and to have the opportunity to revert any negative image you might have left us with.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is a fabulous hotel. It is located right inside the Iguassu Falls Park so you have 24 hour access to seeing the falls and hiking the trails. The hotel offers many amenities such as reasonably priced restaurants, spa, swimming, complimentary buffet breakfast, shuttle service to other areas of the park and wonderful staff service. The grounds are impeccable, and the Falls can bee seen from the Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the ones on the right side facing the property have views of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleosalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are all very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your time with us and the service provided by our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
689 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a stunning location metres from the Falls.The hotel itself is world class in beautiful decor,excellent public areas,superb food in the IPE Grill where one has breakfast and at dinner the bbq buffet is great.House keeping is wonderful, slipping in to your room when you leave to service the room so you are not disturbed.
All over a high class hotel .....but
Our booking was made through Virtuoso and as a VIP guest one is usually given an up grade, subject to availability and other benefits.
Alas, we were shown a room which was at the furthest location in the premises.What had we done to deserve this treatment? They claimed the hotel was full...it was not which was confirmed by several staff.After we complained we were shown another room which was in the old part of the hotel and was obviously a better.Why weren't we offered this room in the first place.So do I now advise Virtuoso that as a member at this hotel you receive no benefits what so ever !
We are still in the hotel and hope the rest of our stay is enjoyable as the check in was not.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Truly, Virtuoso bookings do have amenities included in the booking. Upgrade however is subject to availability of the property at the moment of check-in. I am sorry to hear that the first room assigned to you was not your complete satisfaction. I am glad however that our Front Office team did find a solution which live up to your expectations.

I hope you did enjoy the rest of your stay and I hope to have the chance to welcome you back at the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

Kindest Regards,


Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The service in this Hotel is excellent - check in was superb, and all the staff were a real credit to the brand. The pool is lovely and the grounds are very picturesque plus the buffet breakfast and dinner were excellent. For a Hotel of this class the only comment would be the room was quite small,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-P_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas.

We are all very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay with us and the services provided by our team.

As the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas is a historic building, dated from 1958, some of our rooms are truly a bit smaller if compared to more modern hotels.

The hotel has however, recently undergone a complete refurbishment. All public areas, restaurants, pool and rooms have been updated to a level of comfort which combines the the charm of bygone era with the lush of modern hotels.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,



Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,565 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#15 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,324 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing