We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the extra money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the extra money”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you want to see the falls with style, stay here. Although the superior room is rather small, the overall experience is worth the extra money. We did like the breakfast (great fruit and yougurt, make sure you get a table poolside), the service, the overall atmosphere of the hotel, sipping cocktails on the poolside in the afternoon, the tropical garden, going to see the falls before the crowds arrive, etc.
Some additional tips:
Once you land in Foz, to get to hotel das cataratas you can get a bus to the national park (2.75 reais, you pay inside the bus). However, the bus leaves you at the national park official entrance. To get to the private hotel das cataratas entrance, where the private transfer will come to pick you up, you need to walk approx 300 meters from the national park official entrance. So, if you do not want to walk with your luggage these 300 meters, consider getting there by taxi. The price from the airport to the private entrance is 20 reais
Do not waste time and money into the macuco safari. The only goal of these people is to make sure that you get wet.
If you can, do go to Argentina to see the falls, and possibly also have lunch in Puerto Iguassu. We had lunch in Aqua and were very happy with that.
If you go to Argentina, you will need cash (170 pesos per person) to enter the park. Do not change your money in argentina, try to get your pesos in Brasil, the rate is much better.
Do go to see the bird park. You will need 1 hour and 30 minutes. It is 200 meters away from the cataratas private entrance, and well worth the time and money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SigfridItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other readers.

We are most pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you got the chance to explore the area quite extensively.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,222
    458
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
741
2,122
202
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

All front and without the falls nothing to write home about. Got stuck in the "gardening wing" as I called it. Dark, gloomy and chilly. Food - do not expect many vegetables! Room above was not sound proof and thuds and loud music was heard well into the night.

The one benefit was that we had private time at the falls as the hotel is situated in the park and nothing can be taken away from nature's creation!

Room Tip: Avoid the Garden Wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your impressions with us and other readers.

Our main aim at the Hotel das Cataratas is to provide our guests with the highest level of service, comfort and gastronomic experience.

I am deeply sorry to hear that you did felt let down by us.

I would be most interested in discussing the points you have raised personally with you.

Should you share this wish, please forward me you contact details and I will reach out to you.

My e-mail is: Stephan.ferreira@hoteldascataratas.com

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

First off, the location is just breathtaking. Visiting the falls is best being done on both the Argentine and Brazilian side. However, in my opinion Brazil and therefore this hotel have the most unique views. Also giving you private access once the Nt park is closed to the public.
As it is the case in some hotels where location is king, we we nervous about this one.
The Hotel das Cataratas stands on his own in quality of service, food, and beauty.
Every experience was impeccable, and we can not wait to go back again to stay longer this time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djinnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

Our entire team is very pleased to hear that you did enjoy your tiem with us and our services. On of our main concerns is to live up to the excellence of the location trough our services, and your feedback made us feel we are on the right track to achieve that.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part if our honeymoon. Expensive but absolutely worth it. The hotel is beautiful with huge grounds, free shuttle bus from the park entrance, 2 restaurants, bar and spa. The staff service was perfect and they were extremely helpful arranging transfers etc. we were upgraded on arrival and our room was fantastic with old wooden furniture and a queen bed. The food is excellent with a huge variety. The best thing is the location to the falls which are spitting distance from the front of the hotel. It's worth going to the top of the hotel tower for a higher view too. It was pretty cold when we were there, but the rooms were heated and they even had a room with a log fire.
I would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operatinos Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Hotel das Cataratas.

We are most pleased to learn that you did enjoy your stay and our services.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcome you back to celebrate you Wedding Anniversary next time.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for three nights, and I cannot think of a better place to stay. Yes the rooms are expensive. But you are IN the National Park, you are NEXT to the waterfalls and you get a SUPERB service, and 'free' Havaiana flip-flops. Breakfast and dinner were also very good: buffets with a lot of choices and a Brazilian BBQ at dinner. And for the lonely traveller they provide a condensed version of the New York Times and many staffers come to your table for a small chat. The travel desk (Iguazzu Experiences) is very convenient and will help you out in booking various tours and excursions. I booked a private tour to the Argentinian side and thanks to Evandro, the excellent driver and guide, this was a great trip! Visiting the bird park at the entrance of the Natironal Park is also highly recommended, just take the free hotel shuttle (every 20 min) to the entrance and walk the last few meters. The Macuco Safari (drive through the forest in an electric vehicle, short walk and boat trip to, no under the waterfalls), was spectacular for the boat trip. Do not expect anything from the drive and walk. But the greatest premium of this location is the possibility to wander around in the park on your own, even before and after the opening hours. So and excellent chance to see wildlife, sunrise, sunset and rainbows over the falls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

I am most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and around the falls.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked three rooms and were pleasantly surprised when we were given room upgrades on our arrival. These rooms had views of the falls and one had a balcony. Spectacular view. The rooms were tastefully decorated and came with free wifi. Slippers and bath robes were provided. Getting the right size slippers was easily arranged. We were told that the slippers were ours to keep. The breakfast buffet was lavish with much variety. We were able to make our own champagne mimosas. I loved the many tropical fruits available especially the sweet sugar apple, which went very quickly. The bar service at the pool was very good. The nuts, olives and fruits on skewers were much appreciated.
The arrangement of the tours was expertly done. We did the Argentinean side, the Macuco Safari tour, the Bird park and the City tour. There was no fee for the drying of our clothes after the safari tour. I must mention that the safari tour is one not to be missed.
Overall the staff was very friendly and many spoke English- a big plus for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryanne19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

By far one the best hotels we stayed at for our honeymoon. The hotel was beautiful with a location like no other. The restaurant had amazing food for both breakfast and dinner, the pool was huge and animals around the hotel were so cute. It was worth every dollar. The only questionable thing was 2 single beds for a honeymoon although this was rectified when advised.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the falls. You won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxibonsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foz do Iguacu
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,540 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,201 reviews
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,085 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#20 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing