We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charmer next to the stunning falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
berlin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Old world charmer next to the stunning falls”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Hotel das Cataratas:
As the only hotel located in the middle of Iguassu National Park the Hotel das Cataratas not only offers stunning views of this wonder of nature but also exclusive access in the early morning and late evening before and after the regular opening hours of the National Park. Orient-Express Hotels did a fabulous job in restoring the more than fifty year old property with its pale pink façade. This hotel still oozes history, style and luxury with wooden floors, nice antiques, historic furniture and fireplaces in the public spaces. The lush gardens full of butterflies and singing birds and the very generous swimming pool are a perfect place for a relaxing afternoon. The outdoor veranda is inviting for taking tea and – when the sun goes down – take a cocktail with you and climb the stairs of the “Tower”. You will never forget the view when the sun is vanishing behind the majestic falls.

The Service:
Professional, quick and friendly check-in. Service during my whole stay was very good – attentive and courteous. Twice daily maid-service. The smiling people who work here are proud of this hotel and it really shows! Free shuttle-service (three times per hour) to the entrance-gate of the National Park (but I think, that you stay at this hotel to have the privilege to be inside the park…).

The Room:
I stayed in a spacious (about 450 square feet) Deluxe Room (2202 in the Garden Wing) with a lovely view of the gardens in front of the hotel. The hotel has been completely renovated two years ago and the rooms offer any luxury and comfort without losing their “colonial style” (furniture, wooden floors). Generous bathroom with large bathtub and fabulous amenities. The nice, blue flip-flops (havaianas in Brazil) are a great souvenir for the guests.

The Food:
Dinner at Ipe Grill Restaurant was expensive but convinced with good quality. You can choose between buffet-style or ”a la carte”. If you prefer to eat next to the illuminated pool, you should make a reservation. The buffet-style breakfast at the Ipe Grill Restaurant overlooking the pool and the gardens offered a very comprehensive selection with tasty Bircher Muesli, wonderful French Toast, a great fruit selection, homemade mango jam and other delights. Try to get an outdoor table! The Itaipu Restaurant was closed during my visit.

Things you have to see and to do:
Located in the lobby is an independent travel agency where you can book every kind of excursion around the falls and also cabs to the airports. Whether you want to make a helicopter ride over the falls, a trip to the Argentinian side or a boat tour – they offer something for every taste. The hotel is also offering guided walks through the rainforest.

All in all:
The Iguassu Falls are one of the very few real “wonders of the world” every traveller is dreaming to visit. You can see as many pictures and videos before, but if you are really standing in front of this spectacle you will become speechless. How big is nature, how small are the human beings. The Hotel das Cataratas is a wonderful place to stay – charming and luxurious, absolutely nothing to fault. Of course there are many cheaper options but they are all located outside of the National Park. The possibility to enjoy the falls “in private” in the early morning or also in the evening and during the night (great when the moon is shining) more than compensate the high price tag.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,217
    457
    91
    33
    17
See reviews for
739
2,118
202
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in this Orient Express property and couldn't be any happier about the choice, despite the cost.

1. Great staff all around, exceptionally efficient and friendly front desk, staff at the SPA were amazingly friendly and helpful, which was all one needs after a 36 journey from the other end of the world.
2. Food: buffet dinner and lunch were both good choice, we also had a dinner a la carte one of the evenings, but frankly the buffet was more fun and probably better value. Breakfast buffet has everything one could wish for, fresh juices, fruit and good coffee included.
3. Activities: a concierge desk, which is on sight, but a separate entity to the hotel was extremely efficient and spot on with the recommendations on what to do. Happy with the service. Recommend the helicopter tour (10 mins) and the water safari, the birds park is also worth a visit, just cross the road from the helipad and buy a ticket. Because the hotel is within the park, one can walk on the paths to the fall all you want, day and night (staff at the hotel told us of a recent sighting of a jaguar, which kept us off the roads after dusk), no bus transfers required. Complimentary shuttle and pick ups are organised by the hotel to all the other sites.
4. The falls, the falls: walk out the hotel and roll onto the steps of the falls, it's that simple. Couldn't wish for more at such a location.
5. Getting there and away: we booked hotel transfers at 90 reals ($45) each way, in reality a taxi from the airport would do just as well at a third of the cost.

Orient Express properties are special, this hotel is no exception. The room rates come with the territory, but if you could afford it, it's money we'll spent. Enjoy!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpivanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The view from the hotel is superb, no one can argue that. And, the hotel rooms are nicely maintained -- good linens, nice pillows, quality bath products. However, the public areas are rather dilapidated, probably because the humidity of the rainforest takes its toll, and because thousands of tourists trample through the hotel daily. Additionally, we had three very nice meals at the hotel, managing to eat in all three of the hotel's facilities, and everything was quite good. Still, there were defects with the hotel, not the least of which was the fact that my parents' shower did not work at all. Plus, the rooms are no bigger than postage stamps, barely large enough for our bags and ourselves. At $500 per night plus tax, that's pretty egregious. But, you're really stuck with this or not staying in the park at all, unless you're into roughing it, because the Sheraton across the way is rather rustic.

Regardless of the discomfort we experienced, we would all opt to stay here again if we came to the falls, but I can see no reason to spend any considerable length of time here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjgjess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Operations Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your taking your time ro review the Hotel das Cataratas.

I am very sorry to hear that you left us unsatisfied. Our main aim is to deliver the highest level of service and experience to our guests.

Should you wish to discuss the items you mentioned on your review personally, please feel free to e-mail me at stephan.ferreira@hoteldascatartas.com

Kind Regards,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Hotel das Cataratas is world class. This hotel is located inside the Iguacu National Park and hotel guests have access to the park after hours, which is great for pictures and a more insightful look into the waterfalls.

1) Location Location Location- beautiful location, steps from a great view of part of the falls.
2) Service- Excellent customer service, especially the restaurant staff, very friendly and accomodating.
3) Cleanliness, look, etc- for a hotel in the middle of a waterfall park, this hotel is AMAZING! The common areas are very clean, appealing, well kept, and the rooms are impecable, room service also amazing.
4) Food- GREAT breakfast and dinner buffet, def worth the $100 Reais they charge for dinner. Lunch menu a little weak.

The only reason i did not give this hotel a 5 rating was because we spend almost a whole night without A/C. The power went out, and although the hotel has a generator, the A/C and internet were impacted for about 10 hours... out of their control, but still was an incovenience.

DEF. worth the extra $$$ to stay here

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This might be the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Upon arrival we were informed that we had been "upgraded" and from there the stay got better. The staff could not do enough to help us (Fabio & Ligia get a special mention) and the location cannot be faulted. Having the ability to wander through the National Park in the evening when the crowds had gone was fantastic. We even saw monkeys in the trees. The food in the restaurant was brilliant and the wait staff excellent. My only regret was not staying longer. Internet was not very good in our room but apart from that the hotel was flawless. Anyone going to Iguacu Falls must consider this as the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Whilst the location is the major attraction of this hotel, and so it should be, this is also a very, very nice 5 star hotel. Everything about this hotel eludes class and quality. You are transported from the gate of the hotel by shuttle to hotel entrance. Whilst I appreciate it is a national park the fact no taxi's can even take you to reception I do find a little a little strange. That said it is a pleasant 20 minute ride to the reception area.

In terms of decor the reception is beautiful as are the bar area and the general decor and cleanliness of the hotel. The pool area is lovely and the restaurants are also top notch. In terms of the rooms they are very nice although the shower over bath is not perhaps what you may expect in a hotel of this calibre.

In terms of food what we had was very, very good. We chose the hotel BBQ where you choose what you like. All the meat was of top quality and the selection of everything else was very good. In the morning the breakfast buffet was top notch.

What really seals it for this hotel is that the park itself is only available to hotel guests between 6pm and 9am. This means you have the beautiful views of the Brazilian side of the falls all to yourself. Well worth getting up early for.

All in all a must stay hotel if you are coming to Iguacu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our choice of hotel for visiting Iguaçu Falls was Hotel das Cataratas and it was an excellent choice, if for no other reason than we had access to the falls at dawn well before the National Park gates opened. But the hotel itself is excellent in every conceivable way: the food is delicious, the rooms are luxuriously comfortable, the hotel is kept in pristine condition and the staff are unobtrusively attentive and efficient.

While staying there we took time to visit the town of Foz du Iguaçu which was quite disappointing and not really worth doing. Also, we had not realised how many interesting waterfall trails there were on the Argentinean side and wished we had allowed a really early morning start for the day.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank x2_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foz do Iguacu
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,527 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,170 reviews
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,077 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#20 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing