We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Only Choice for Iguaçu Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our choice of hotel for visiting Iguaçu Falls was Hotel das Cataratas and it was an excellent choice, if for no other reason than we had access to the falls at dawn well before the National Park gates opened. But the hotel itself is excellent in every conceivable way: the food is delicious, the rooms are luxuriously comfortable, the hotel is kept in pristine condition and the staff are unobtrusively attentive and efficient.

While staying there we took time to visit the town of Foz du Iguaçu which was quite disappointing and not really worth doing. Also, we had not realised how many interesting waterfall trails there were on the Argentinean side and wished we had allowed a really early morning start for the day.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank x2_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,986 - 1,992 of 4,013 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staying in the park is a giant win. You can visit the falls when the temperature is a little cooler at each end of the day and most certainly with less crowds, I walked to the falls for sunrise and was the only one there (started to see other guests when I was walking back). The moonlight tour is interesting but could be done on your own once you know where to go and have a torch (plus if you are trying to take long exposure photographs you won't have distracting camera flashes going off).
The downside is that it is the only place open in the park after hours so you are a captive audience. Fortunately the two restaurants are good. Ipe has a Brazilian BBQ which is nice to do once and Itaipu has an a la carte menu. Food at Itaipu was excellent (alligator terrine was very good). It also has a number of wines by the glass.
I wouldn't spend the extra money for a room with a falls view as you need to go outside to get a good view.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank MarkP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

First Impressions : Service is everything, and you get it in bucketfuls here. Warm, friendly, well trained staff that all bend over backwards to assist. ( Please go and train your sister hotel, the Copacabana Palace ) .

We only booked a superior room here....but it's perfectly fine. Right outside our window we have views over the rain forest, and trees that have Tucans in them. Our room - gorgeous wood floors, free Wi Fi, flat screen TV, 2 chairs, a desk, and queen bed. All are of good quality. Had a good nights sleep on a firmish bed, but not rock hard. The bathroom is on the small side, however has a very deep bath which is unusual these days ( although very much appreciated) Bathroom products are made from local supplies, and smell slightly unusual....but we are in a unique place, so kind of goes with that! Air Con in the room hums quietly along and is fully adjustable.

restaurants : so far we have visited the breakfast restaurant which is just lovely, and it's situated by the pool. Breakfast Buffett had so much choice, and all the juices were freshly made. They make omelettes to order, along with all the other choices of hot food. I ordered an omlette, and it was served in under 5 minutes! We also went to the lunch Buffett, and again, so much choice, and all of exceptional high quality.

we also ate at the bar one night...well priced for the location. the bar itself is very olde world, loved it!

If you are coming to Iguacu National Park, you must stay here. Guests at the Cataratas have access to the falls outside of opening hours, and they are the only hotel that can offer that. We spend our evening walking around the falls last night....and we were the only ones! Considering 7000 people visited the park that day, it gives you an idea of how good it is to be staying here.

Facilities : Restaurants, bar and swimming pool are all 10/10. Impressed with the Wi Fi. we are 1000s of miles from anywhere, yet the Wi Fi is really fast. Every staff member we have spoken to has been great, and only to happy to assist. Stay here. It's worth every penny.

Room Tip: We only have the basic room here, and it's fine. I thing based on that all rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Only 30mins after check in we were by the pool and on the phone back to our travel agent trying to extend our stay at this hotel. Just the tonic after time spent trekking through South America. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Best hotel in the area by a long shot. It's not on a par with eg the Orient Express' very top end places like the Splendido or the Cipriani - partly it's too big to feel that exclusive - but then it's a quarter of the price. Beautifully done up; lovely rooms; very professional staff; perfect location on what we felt to be much the better side of the falls; lots of nice luxury touches (refreshing scented flannels to cool you while lying by the pool.) Attractive building too, unlike the carbunkle Sheraton eye-sore across the river. It is pretty pricey - lunch, supper and a pre-supper cocktail may almost double your already expensive room. But that's said its decent value and if you feel like splashing out you won't regret it.

One word of caution - be wary of spending more on the expensive rooms; we were upgraded to "delux" which they said had a "partial falls view" which turned out to be a tiny gap between the trees where you could just make out some water. We wandered into an even more luxury room which wasn't much better. I suspect the really to end ones have proper views but I also suspect they'd cost a small fortune.

Also - and this is more about the place than the hotel - don't expect too much of Iguazu. It's pretty, and certainly in a more scenic location than Niagra, but we felt it was way overhyped ("must see destination, natural wonder of the world etc"). Worth going if you're in eg Rio, BA or Sao Paulo and feel like a change of scene but I wouldn't plan your holiday around what is basically a series of big waterfalls!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked to stay here for 2 nights so that we could do both sides of the Falls. The first afteroon and last morning to see the Brazilian side, and a trip on the second day to see the Argentinian side.

Friendly professional check in. We had only booked a basic room but were delighted with it. Decent size, comfortable bed, lovely bedding, fluffy towels, nice bathroom. (We had just come from the Pantanal so may be we were more enthusiastic than we would normally have been as it was so nice to be in a room without mosquitoes.)

We had the buffet one evening which was good and with a decent choice. Although it was busy it wasn't a scrum as some hotel buffets can be. Breakfast was also excellent with a fabulous choice of fresh fruit; and good service.

As others have said, it is such a bonus to be able to view the Falls in the evening, or early morning, before other visitors arrive.

The pool area is very nice. good pool service. With the benefit of hindsight I wish we had stayed 3 nights here so that we could have "done" the Falls, and then enjoyed one day just relaxing at the hotel and around the pool.

this is a lovely hotel and one I would happily return to - and highly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

When palnning our trip to the falls we decided that it would be worth the money to stay at this hotel. We were drawn to the unlimited access to the park and the convenience of having it as a base for our stay. The hotel itself is beautiful. The standard rooms were a little on the small side but we didnt really spend any time there so no big deal. The bar is very atmospheric - where else can you sip a caiphrinia and gaze through the rain forest to one of the most spectacular sights on the planet? We ate at the hotel both nights both at the poolside bbq and the a la carte restaurant. The bbq restaurant was by far and away the better of the two. We had a bit of a disaster with the other one with undercooked and over cooked food however, we were so caught up with the view and the ambience (and the malbec!) that it didnt really matter. Breakfast was absolutely brilliant - huge selection of hot and cold food and champagne!
The pool is lovely, a perfect place to relax after a day of walking and other activities in the park. The pool staff were excellent and very attentive.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone going to the falls. It is great for couples and families alike. I would go back tomorrow if it werent for the 13hr flight!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,774 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#41 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,698 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $383 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing