We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Nearby Hotels
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Del Rey Hotel(Foz do Iguacu)
$49
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$68
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$61
$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Taroba Hotel(Foz do Iguacu)
$503
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,337)
Filter reviews
4,337 results
Traveler rating
3,671
511
102
34
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,671
511
102
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinside the national parkpark opensfull moonfalls viewworth every pennyipe grillitaipu restaurantexclusive accessfabulous hotelunique locationa la carte restaurantgarden winggeneral publicplace to stayonce in a lifetimecolonial styleiguassu falls
Filter
Updating list...
2,216 - 2,221 of 4,337 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had visited Iguassu 4 years ago but had stayed in Puerto Iguassu which is a bus or taxi ride away from the Argentinian National Park. The falls were so impressive that we promised ourselves we would return some day, and that we would stay inside the National Park so that the falls would be at our doorstep and accessible every day before the parks opened to the public. So when the opportunity arose this year we decided to do that and more, by staying in both the Brazilian and the Argentinian National Parks.
We started with 2 nights in the Hotel das Cataratas on the Brazilian side of the falls. It was a most luxurious experience. Everything about the hotel speaks quality and service -- the beautiful colonial style of the buildings, the landscaped gardens and large pool area, the beautiful furnishings, the very spacious corridors, the log fire in the lounge, the ready availability of umbrellas for walking (when it rains) around the grounds and to/from the dining room, and many more.
The buffet breakfast was excellent in scope and quality. On the 1st morning we sat indoors but on the 2nd day, when the weather had improved somewhat, we enjoyed our breakfast at a pool-side table. We also had a satisfactory buffet-style dinner in the same restaurant on one evening, and had quite an adequate snack from the bar-food menu in the lounge on the other evening.
Our room in the Garden Wing was very spacious and nicely furnished. Bathrobes were provided as standard, as were flip-flop rubber shoes (recommended for the shiny tiled floor of the bathroom). The turndown service included a bottle of water for each guest every night. There was excellent WiFi Internet access available in the room and throughout the hotel at no charge, commendable for a hotel in this price range.
The falls are immediately accessible at the hotel – out the front door, cross the road, and down a few steps and the vista of the falls opens before you. At this point you are actually viewing the falls on the Argentinian side of the river, and they look completely different from this perspective than from the other side. From this starting point that is a good paved path to walk to along for further views and different vistas of the falls across the river. The path then leads to a point where one can take a walkway out for a good up-close, and probably wet, experience of the Brazilian side of the Garganta del Diablo.
We had arranged the centre-point of our visit to Iguassu to coincide with the night-time full-moon as there are organised moon-walks every month on both sides for the two days before and two days after the full-moon date . Unfortunately the weather, being unaware of our carefully planned schedule, did not oblige and the organised moonlight walks were cancelled both nights. However because of the accessibility of the falls’ vistas from this side we were able to walk out a little way ourselves as the clouds did break sufficiently to allow some moonlight through the clouds. (Although we had our own powerful torch, it should be mentioned that the hotel does not recommend such adventures).
On a minor note, one thing I liked about the hotels where we stayed in Brazil is that the room rate was quoted in the local currency and then billed in that currency at exactly the price agreed.
There are a number of options for transfers to and from the hotel. Ordinary taxis cannot drive to the door of the hotel but only to a special park entrance for the hotel. The hotel provides a courtesy service between this entrance and the hotel. This worked very well for us. A more expensive option would be to pre-book the transfer with an approved tour company that is permitted to drive to the hotel door.
After our stay in Hotel das Cataratas in Brazil our next destination was the Sheraton Hotel within the park on the Argentine side of the falls. Again we used the services of a regular taxi, which the Cataratas hotel’s receptionist booked for us, to take us from the park entrance directly across the border (through border control / immigration) to the Sheraton.
We would definitely recommend the Hotel das Cataratas, expensive but worth it for a special treat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnseoAris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on the 8th november in a cataratas deluxe room with view.
Firstly i would say not to bother paying the extra for a view as you cannot see very much and tere is no balcony.
Otherwise the rooms are very tastefully decorated with lovely bathrooms ,but a little small.
The breakfast is very nice with lots of choice and homemade jams which is always a nice touch.
The evening buffet is excellent and i must compliment the chef cooking the barbecued meat as I have never tasted such good meat!!The quality pf the food is fantastic.
The pool is lovely .
The position is fantastic being the hotel in the parc and you are minutes away from the falls.
The service at the reception was not very friendly and i was quite annoyed when i asked if we could be given a snack breakfast to take with us (as we had a very early flight) and was told at first it wasn't possible but after insisting they wanted to charge 20 reals each!Considering we had already paid for a full buffet breakfast and all we wanted was some pastries and fruit in a take away ,that was unacceptable.After protesting they finally gave us a packed breakfast with no extra charge!!

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a room with a view .
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toothlady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location. It is definitely pricier than staying outside the park, nevertheless as you only need 1.5 days there, it is worth it as you get a unique experience compared to staying from a cheaper place outside the park. The park closes around 5-6 pm everyday to the public and the sunsets around 2 hours later so the waterfalls are pretty much for your eyes only. Me and my husband shared romantic and secluded walks to the falls when the park was closed to the public. The falls are a truly stunning sight but somehow the experience is more dramatic when you are on you own. It is definitely better and more accessible to walk very close to falls after public hours on the Brazilian side compared to the Argentinean- which is why I would prefer to stay here than in the Sheraton which is the only hotel in the park on the Argentinean side.

Of course for a complete experience of the falls you need to view them from both the Brazilian and Argentinean sides. On the Brazilian side you get better panoramic views of the falls, but on the Argentinean side you get a better feel of the falls especially the Devil’s Throat- the power of the water gushing over the edge is in a word- awesome. On the Brazilian side you should go on the boat trip- be warned you will be utterly soaked as you go under the falls. The hotel organised a tour for us on the Argentinean side which took just over half a day- our tour guide was Flavio. There is a BIG plus going with a tour guide who is super friendly like Flavio- first of all he tells you things about the flora and fauna which you would not otherwise be aware- e.g. looking out for the world’s smallest orchids, he can also take photos of you which is practically very handy, but MOST usefully you would skip the queues for the train ride from the entrance of the park to the falls. If you will be taking a tour with this hotel, be sure to ask for Flavio- because as tour guides go he is one of the best we have had.

You should also time your stay at Iquazu to coincide with the full moon. The hotel organises lunar rainbow walks where you get to see a lunar rainbow on the falls late at night. It is unbelievably beautiful; to take good shots of the lunar rainbow you really need a tripod.

In terms of the hotel itself, it has been recently renovated so the rooms, breakfast room and pool are all lovely, although practicably if the weather is good you will be spending little time at the hotel and most of it by the falls. There are some rooms with a view of the falls so you should try and book one of them as they are of course limited.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Clovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I am a fan of the Orient Express. I've stayed at their Copacabana location and just booked a trip to Bali. I will be staying at their two locations in Bali as well...

Simply put, the location is amazing... right in the national park. You have private access to the Brazilian side of the Falls before the park opens and after the park closes.

The food at the restaurant is amazing.

The staff are really nice.

Free Havaianias :)

Pool beautiful, although it was too cold to go in. If I ever go back to Foz, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JL1180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Gorgeous location within the confines of the park giving you before and after hours access. Beautifully appointed rooms with magnificent views don't get much better than this. Orient-Express runs a first class operation here with top notch service and delicious food. Our only regret is we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgh60660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews