We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and location for those who want to enjoy the Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel das Cataratas was a great experience for my 3rd anniversary. It was pricey though (almost USD600/night). My room with view to the falls (#1103) was beautiful, quiet and comfortable, the bathroom is not huge, but it is clean and elegant. Nice surroundings with local animals, spa and pool area. The Iguazu falls is just a few steps from the hotel so it is very easy to walk in the area and take lovely pictures, specially because guests have access to the park when it is closed to other tourists (early in the morning and after 6PM). Everything was pleasant, but I have one minor complaint: since my flight was at night and check-out is at 11AM I asked the reception to stay for a little longer. The answer was that I couldn't because the next guest would arrive early and was willing to pay for the early check-in. I believe that they can not guarantee this to a client while the room is not yet available. I also think that the receptionist should have offered me a late check-out (and I could have payed for it too, why not?). A negative point about my stay was the fact that cars are not allowed into the park (hotel is inside the park, approx 15 min ride). In this sense, everytime we wanted to go outside the park for a tour, for lunch/dinner, for Argentina/Paraguay or whatever, we had to wait for a van to make this transportation. It was free but it was every 20mins during the day and every 30mins at night. One night when I came back from dinner to the hotel at 10:30PM I had to wait at the entrance of the park (small waiting room) for half an hour until the next van came. Ok, it doesn't seem much, but when you are tired and just want to reach your hotel room you get a little disappointed, because this is not expected from a "luxury and comfortable hotel". Besides that, we had a great time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brazilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,060 - 2,066 of 4,071 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very professional service, good restaurant and buffet. Our room was obviously made for a short stay, with little place in the wardrobes and not much space in the room itself. The people working at the hotel travel agency are very competent and friendly, providing us with the best service possible. We had an excellent driver/guide during3 days, with an italian surname. He will eventually recognize himself!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dommeldange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here on our 30th anniversary in a room overlooking the falls.
It really doesn't get any better than that. Excellent Hotel and service exemplorary but
it's all about the location! We have been lucky enough to see the Canyon, Yosemite, Cape Town,
The Pyramids, Rome, Sydney,New York , Hong Kong etc but the falls here blow them all away.
No superlatives to describe it but I'll try, Spiritual, Majestic, Powerful etc etc, Hotel was great
in organising trips and you must see the falls from both sides.
If you only have one more space on the bucket list then put this at number one !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have spent four times over the past year at the Hotel das Cataratas in Foz do Iguacu. It is a welcome break from busy Sao Paulo and much quieter than the beaches between Sao Paulo and Rio de Janeiro.

Since having been taken over by Orient Express, the hotel has undergone a major renovation which included everything from the reception to the rooms to the restaurants, from the pool to the spa. The rooms are in a colonial style, with dark wooden floors, large in size and very cosy. Bathrooms are in colonial style, but modern and kept clean at all the times. Our favourite restarant was the Ipe churrasco restaurant at night, offering various meats and numerous side dishes and salads. We preferred sitting outside by the pool. We also went to the fine dining Itaipu restaurant, wonderful menu with locally influenced fare. Very nice also the original dark wooden bar.

Remarkable the service by front desk manager Fabio and restaurant manager Miguel, very personal attention to every detail.

Having travelled extensively in Latin America as well as in Brazil, I can safely say that this is probably the best hotel in Brazil. In terms of service, cleanliness, luxurious atmosphere and end to end perfection there are few hotels in Brazil even getting close to this.

We travelled with two children (9 & 5 years) as well as our grandma. We have been there during various seasons (December, February, April and September), and found the spring periods (September and December) to be the most interesting for watching birds, butterflies and other animals.

Room Tip: We stayed at the larger Deluxe rooms in the Garden Wing on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziegenhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had the most amazing stay here at the hotel. The staff were amazing and the hotel was perfect. We spent a day on the Argentinian side in monsoon rain and thunder and lightening. We were soaking wet, however we had checked out of our room ready for our flight to Rio. The hotel kindly opened up their spa where we were able to have hot showers and dry off before our flight.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Isabella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel could have very easily been a dump. The management could have decided that they had the hotel in the right place, so why bother trying when people will pay anything just for the location? Thankfully, this is not that type of hotel. It's actually one of the best hotels I've been to and if you want to visit the falls without throngs of people, a room here is worth every penny.

The basics: Huge campus with outdoor pool that is open 24 hours. Spa and the all the usual luxuries. A pair of havaianas flip flops are waiting for you when you get there and they got the foot sizes right on for three of the four people in our party. Good restaurant that is worth the buffet price for dinner (Endless South American steak? Yes please.) and provides a good breakfast buffet as well (which is included in the price). The rooms are all hardwood everything and super comfortable. I wanted to stay another day (and we honestly considered canceling our other accommodation and spending the extra for another night).

The falls are about 15-20 minutes walk from the hotel, and there is a trick here: When you get up, head straight to the falls. Do not pass go. Do not collect $200. Do not be tempted by breakfast. When you get there, most people will be at the buffet leaving you with unfettered access to the falls and everything they are. Once you are done there and headed back, you will be properly hungry and back in time for a sold 45 minutes of champagne breakfast.

Overall, great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattleFlyerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The extreme beauty of Foz do Iguacu is one of the wonders of the world. This is well-known, but the point of this review is to thank the staff at Hotel das Cataratas for sincere, kind and gracious service that goes beyond the call of duty. This is my last night at the hotel and I want to express my pleasure at being treated so very well by all the staff I encountered at the hotel: house-keepers, maintenance, doormen, front desk staff, dining room workers, the pianist, travel office...everyone I encountered was kind, considerate and efficient. In particular I would like to thank the assistant food and beverage manager Joaquim and kitchen manager and chef extraordinaire Fabio (the flutist) who went way out of their ways to make me feel at home, including teaching me some very important Portuguese expression. Muito obrigado!

Room Tip: I stayed in the garden wing which was fine. Beautiful room! Didn´t need a view of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justfiddling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
2,723 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#40 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,277 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $331 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing