We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,505)
Filter reviews
4,505 results
Traveler rating
3,826
521
103
34
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,826
521
103
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinside the national parkpark opensfull moonorient expressfalls viewitaipu restaurantipe grillworth every pennyfabulous hotelgarden wingexclusive accessunique locationa la carte restaurantplace to staycolonial styleonce in a lifetimeiguassu falls
Filter
Updating list...
2,562 - 2,567 of 4,505 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Hotel das Cataratas Iguassu Falls. The property and service are fantastic. The rooms and common areas are elegantly decorated and very comfortable...typical Orient-Express style. The pool and fitness center are chic. As for the service, the staff is clearly well trained and it shows. The Falls are within view of the hotel and the scenic paths are just feet away. Another night would have allowed us to enjoy all of the hotel's amenities. The hotel is pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for. The only grumble I have is the checkout time of 11AM. It's too early, especially when checkin is at 2pm. We asked for a late checkout, but they were inflexible.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmleon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We arrived here after a morning spent travellingfrom mid Argentina and the afternoon in the Argentine side of the park. Exhausted,we were still blown away by the location, the atmosphere -charming colonial in jungle teeming with exotic life - and the service. One of the dozen or so choices of caiparinha on the verandah overlooking sunset on the falls was followed by a pleasant but not spectacular dinner. The restaurant is caught out a bit by the fact that it serves a buffet for all meals, and though the spread is vry very good, and there is an a la carte menue which we ate from, itstil gives the place a bit of a different feel than the rest of the hotel which is classic and old world charm throughout. If you sit inside this is made worse by the bright lights so make sure you book a table outside bythe pool early to enjoy the better atmosphere, sounds of the falls and jungle ad stars overhead.
The staff are very professional, speak perfect english, and looked after us very well.
We had to leave early the next morning but would have loved to have stayed another night.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomandNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to write a review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

Your comments on our services and products are of great importance to us and we have discussed all the issues you raised with our management team.

Listening to our customers is the best way to know how to improve, and to provide our guest wit a better experience.

I do sincerely hope that you did enjoy your stay with us, and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, and that time for longer.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

It is really hard to beat this location at Iguazu Falls, Brazil. In the usual grand style of an Orient Express hotel, this hotel doesn't disappoint. Spread out over several acres it has the feel of a hacienda. Beautiful flora and fauna, riotous squawking birds and fluttering butterflies seem like they follow you around. The rooms are classically furnished and well appointed, although a bit on the small side. Rooms vary even in the same category. Great breakfast and BBQ buffet. Drinks in the lounge are extremely expensive. Like $15-20 USD each. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiggingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind rview on our property. Your comments have been forwarded to all of our staff members and we are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience whilst staying with us. In deed, nature around the falls is very exuberant, and the gardens of the hotel, are lively occupied by visitors form the surounding forest.

Regarding your comments on our prices, it is truth that the Real is currently very strong in face of the Dolar, which might have given you the feeling that the prices are too expensive. Our main sellers at the Tarobá Bar are at a average price of 14USD.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel das Cataratas in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here for three nights at the end of October and enjoyed every minute. The hotel itself is beautiful, the facilities excellent and the rooms comfortable, clean and luxurious. The breakfasts were very good and we were entertained each morning by a toucan visiting the beautiful gardens. Some evenings we ate in the a la carte restaurant and sometimes had bar snacks. All the food was delicious and the staff could not have been nicer.
The Iguacu Falls were awe inspiring and we loved being able to cross the road and have them to ourselves each morning and evening.
It was difficult to leave this perfect place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmh515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

I am so pleased to read that you very lucky enough to see the toucans early in the morning. And agree with you when you say that the Falls are awe inspiring.

Even though I work here, and get to see them every day, I still share the same feeling. And having them just for yourself in the morning or in the evening, is realy priceless.

I can only say that we are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel das Cataratas.

If I can give you a suggestion; for your next stay, try to plan your booking with us during the full moon period. The moonlight over the falls creates an amazing rainbow in silver and gray colors. Just amazing. Our reservation department can help you plan your stay during that period.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This old gem was built in the 1950's but in the old Portuguese style of the early part of the century. It was recently remodeled by the Orient Express hotel chain who operates the resort right next to the falls, inside the national park. We were fortunate to have the two bedroom suite facing the falls, although the view from the room is not all that great and likely not worth the extra money. Both of the bedrooms are quite large and well appointed. One has a King size bed and the other two twin beds. The is a sitting room outside of the King bedroom and adjoins the two bedrooms. The staff at check-in were superb. Patrick took us to our room and gave us a full explanation of the hotel and its facilities and amenities. Food in the fine dining restaurant was quite good but not excellent. If you are in Brazil and interested in seeing the falls, spend two nights at this gem of a hotel and pamper yourself while enjoying one of the world's natural wonders.

Room Tip: Probably not worth the extra money for a 'falls facing' room as they do hot have great views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on the Hotel das Cataratas.

Reading your lines I was very pleased to learn that you did enjoy your time with us. All of our staff members are committed to provide the best experience to our guests, and to give them something more than just a great service. We believe that staying in a hotel, can be more then staying in a hotel, and try our best to make our guest feel at home whilst with us.

I have personally forwarded you comment on Patrick to him, and he was very pleased to see that he left a good impression.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews