We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a magical location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a magical location”
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed with my husband for several nights. What a magical place. The hotel itself is gorgeous. Everywhere your eyes fall is a different beautiful hardwood, a beautiful plant, a brightly plumed bird, or an interesting specimen of wildlife. Our room was on the small side but well furnished. Its window faced the Falls - amazing. Only complaint about the room: one night we left our light on when we left the room. When we returned rhere were so many bugs! That night we slept wearing DEET.
The pool area was beautiful and poolside service attentive. Hotel food was quite good, albeit expensive. (And since you are quite a ride from "civilization" you are somewhat limited in choices). We used room service once and it was fine (a good alternative to the buffet dinner or the somewhat limited menu in the main dining room). A small problem is that the hotel shopping area is very small with no decent sundries store. And, though there was a spa, there was (oddly) no fitness center.
But what overwhelms everything else, positive and negative: location. The hotel is within the National Park. As a guest you have access to the Falls 24x7. This means that you will be able to hike down to the Falls before and after the park opens - in relative solitude. The Falls themselves are magical. It is possible to have little cavils with the hotel, but overall - a beautiful hotel in a magical location - what could be better?

Room Tip: Ask for a room faving the Falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitsafghans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for writing your reviw on the Hotel das Cataratas. I was very pleased to hear that the hotel, decoration and services meet your expectations.

There is just one thing I would like to add to one of your comments, the hotel does offer a fitness room. This should have been told to you at your check-in. I will be double checking with our front office why this information was not provided. I would like to apologise for this lack of information.

My team and I remain at your entire disposal and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,237
    458
    91
    33
    18
See reviews for
743
2,129
203
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Very nicely renovated 5 stars hotel, the hotel is in the Iguazu park, very convenient to see the falls from the Brazilian side.

The rooms are large and well equiped.

The pool is very large with good service.

Nice piano bar in the evening to relax after dinner

The buffet restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genious44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to post a comment on our property. Your feedback is of great value, and we are all very happy to see that your stay with us was satisfactory.

All of us at the Hotel das Cataratas are loking forward for the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights as a family of five and could not fault the hotel. From the simple issues of anticipating bedding needs, lunch requirements etc to the more unusual - locating my missing pair of eyeglasses left on my flight from Miami, nothing was too hard. The best showers anywhere we have travelled in South America, a well stocked bar, a delightful open fire and above all a beautiful building in a great location. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfox309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CataratasManagement, Rooms Division Manager at Belmond Hotel das Cataratas, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Mr./Mrs.,


Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. All of us at Hotel das Cataratas are most pleased to hear that you did enjoy you time with us.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Stephan Hauser Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Wonderful hotel but bring water and dine out to avoid expense.

We spent three nights of our honeymoon at the Hotel das Cataratas (not to be confused with the much inferior Hotel Cataratas on the Argentinian side of the falls) in the Brazilian National Park at Iguacu and were extremely impressed. They knew it was our honeymoon and had given us an upgrade to a deluxe room. On check in, the clerk, who spoke perfect English, personally showed us to our room while telling us about the hotel. The room was big, with enough storage space for our two big suitcases and more while the bathroom had his and hers sinks and the TV was modern and big. There is good wireless all around the hotel and it is free. There is a fantastic view of the waterfalls just a 20 second walk from the hotel lobby. The place has an old colonial feel to it with lots of wood, big lounges where guests can read a book or simply relax, smartly uniformed porters and waiters and a nice veranda outside. The outdoor pool is beautiful but could be a little warmer and there is also a tennis court.

This was one of the nicest hotels in which I have ever stayed, and I would stay nowhere else if ever lucky enough to be visiting Iguacu again, but it should be noted that the downside of staying within the national park is that there are no nearby shops or restaurants and the prices in the hotel are very high. The prices in the a la carte restaurant would be prohibitive for anyone on a budget and even the buffet dinner is overpriced - they don't tell you but no drinks of any kind are included - a hotel of this calibre should be more upfront with their customers and provide a drinks menu so that the prices are transparent. The dinner buffet was nothing spectacular and, as it was not that busy, the waiters were intent on collecting our plates once we had finished instead of just waiting until we went to get our next plate. To put the cost in context, it is cheaper to do the Rafain Dinner Show in Foz do Iguacu including transfers, a better buffet and a dance/music show, than to have the buffet dinner in the hotel. Drinking water is not freely available except at breakfast and in a jug next to reception so definitely bring a few litres of drinking water with you - a hotel of this calibre should offer free drinking water to its guests at every meal and on demand.

Definitely do the Rafain Dinner Show and The Macuci Boat Safari. You can make a booking for the Rafain Dinner Show simply by sending them an email. The Macuci Boat Safari starts 3km from the hotel which is one stop on the free bus which runs about every 10 min from outside the hotel - it is expensive but great fun - you will get soaked on the boat even if you wear the rain coats so just do without and bring a change of clothes - there is a changing room available after you have finished next to the ticket desk. It is worth visiting the Argentinian side of the falls as there are several trails and you get closer to more of the waterfalls than on the Brazilian side.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eiresteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel is the best I have ever stayed at, the service is in creditable, but very pricey to be having dinner there

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwboy330ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Nice rooms, not large, but you dont spend muc time there. Inclusive breakfast was excellent.
The buffet dinner although expensive also very nice. Pool area looked nice but due to cold weather didnt use it. Bar is warm and friendly and slection of cachasa was good. Great location to see the Brazilian side of the falls.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBN18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Best place to be if you prefer being in the brazilian side of the falls.Big rooms very clean and well kept.Wonderful park around the hotel, being inside of the natural reserve you can be among the first visitors cause you are allow to go to the falls before the opening hour.
Outstanding breakfast and good "churrasco " restaurant.
Very bad internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila_poli_peer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,564 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#15 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,307 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel das Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel das Cataratas

Property: Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Address: Rodovia Br 469 Km 32 | Iguacu National Park, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel das Cataratas 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the spectacular Iguacu Falls in Iguacu National Park, the 5-star Belmond Hotel das Cataratas provides free Wi-Fi internet access. Guests can enjoy a cocktail by the swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the provided court. The falls can be experienced by speed boat, rafting or by a helicopter flyover. For excitement and adventure, guests can enjoy abseiling, rock climbing and canopy walks. Walking tours allow for the surrounding lush rain forest to be explored. Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers traditional Portuguese styled rooms with a flat screen TV, dark wood furniture and warm natural tones. Some rooms provide a balcony and seating area. The two restaurants on-site provide views of the falls and of the hotel's pool. They serve a selection of international and local Brazilian cuisine. In the evening live music can be enjoyed in the downstairs bar. The Iguacu Falls lie between the Brazilian state of Parana and Argentina. The Brazilian side offers postcard panoramic views, while the Argentinian side provides varied, up-close views. The hotel is located in a privileged position, alongside the Iguassu Falls. It is in fact the only hotel situated in the Iguassu National Park. Because of its prime location, the Belmond Hotel das Cataratas offers its guests a unique experience - taking walks along the trails by the falls which may be done at any time during the day, with the added advantage that from 7 a.M to 9 a.M, the trails are for guests of the hotel exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Hotel das Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Cataratas Hotel
Tropical Das Cataratas
Hotel Das Cataratas
Hotel Tropical Das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel Das Cataratas Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing