We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park, beautiful falls”

Iguacu National Park
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$48.09*
and up
Full-Day Sightseeing Tour of the Argentinian and Brazilian Sides of Iguassu...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This massive forested park, with rare species of birds, pumas, tapirs, monkeys and other wildlife is best known for housing the world's largest and most extraordinary waterfalls - the Iguacu Falls -that extend for miles.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice park, beautiful falls”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The park is nice and it cost about 20 USD per person. There is a bus system that will take you to all the stops. You can walk the trails and see the falls, you can take a boat ride or do some of the other activities within the park. There is a very nice restaurant in the park and the food is very good. We had lunch there and just enjoyed the view. You can see coatis everywhere. We did not make it to the Argentina side, so I cannot compare their park with Brazil's park.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,528
    1,688
    169
    26
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oz
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Iguaçu National Park - Brazil”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I travelled here from Puerto Iguazu in Argentina by bus - used Crucero del Norte at a cost of pesos 60 return - the bus goes approx every 2 hours to and from Brazil - they give you a timetable when you book so that you know exactly when the bus returns to Argentina. The journey takes approx 30-40 minutes. The driver stops at the border to allow you time to go out and have your passport stamped - and get back to the bus. It is a short (5 minutes or less) operation and provided you have done your homework before leaving home and paid the respective fees or visa costs you will have no problems.

This is well worth doing - this side of the falls gives you a different outlook than that on the Argentinian side. The entry fee is again high - at an increased cost of pesos 175 (R41.60) - included in the cost is the bus which takes you from the visitors' centre.

I alighted at the Cataratas trail and found it to be a really easy walk (though not flat) to the bottom of the waterfall Floriano (Salto Floriano). From there I walked out to the Devil's Throat balcony - for a totally different view of the Throat (this is the biggest waterfall in the park) to the one I had had yesterday on the Argentinian side..

Once again take lots of sunscreen and a hat and sunnies; don’t forget the camera (and extra memory card and battery); take mossie cream or spray; take plenty of water – it is available at several locations throughout the park.

I carried a poncho (there were ponchos on sale for those who did not want to get wet walking out to the Throat viewpoint - I did not use the poncho - I was soaked through - but who cares - it's all part of the experience. I took the 27 m high elevator to go back up to the park area above where drinks and snacks were available.

I spent about 5 hours here and felt that the scenery was awesome - to see all those waterfalls pouring 6,500 cu litres of water over the falls per second was just unreal.

I had consider taking a helicopter ride but for environmental reasons decided against it - I found the drone of the helicopters annoying - and do I need to see all this beauty from above? No!

Highly recommend the Falls from both sides - for a completely different view from each.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travelling4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The park and the falls are certainly something you do not want to miss if you go to South America. Just fabulous.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lhotse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great Setup”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

You can get in amongst everyone or go on trails where you see hardly anyone. Setup almost reminds me of a theme park - fantastic job done by management to organise how they have done. Loads of critters wandering about. Trains fun but when it comes to leaving time for the tour groups (especially the daytrippers from Brazil) leave the train to them cos it gets packed and you have to transfer half way down if you're at the Devil's Throat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
438 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Excellent National Park Areas”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The waterfall area of the National Park is quite breathtaking and the way it has been developed now to protect it for generations to come is admirable. Obviously it is better to do a tour with a guide as they tend to take you to the best parts to visit like ours did with explanations for everything seen

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguacu National Park also viewed

 

Been to Iguacu National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing