We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but plenty of attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel itself is beautiful - reminiscent of an old colonial home. We booked the premier room, which was very nice. The hotel is divided into lots of quaint little bungalows, with a few rooms in each, and a pool for eacch bungalow - if the weatehr had been better this would have been very nice! The rooms itself was clean and lovely, with a nice balcony and amazing shower (which is very important!). The only downside was thet the electricity fuse box by the door made a stupidly loud buzzing noise which drilled into your head (and the fuse box itself looked a little dodgy), and the bar fridge made a high pitched buzz also.
The staff at the hotel are quite cold and impersonal. The check in was conducted efficiently but without warmth or welcome, and the waiter at the restaurant (and later at the bar) had so much attitude it made us laugh. The food at the italian restaurant is nice enough, but don't go to the buffet - we made the mistake on the second night and it's pretty bad food and still around US$22 per person for food only.
All in all a very nice hotel with comfortable rooms and a good location, but don't expect a warm welcome and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 2,471 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

The people who wite about this hotel being inside the park or hearing the noise of he waterfalls are writing about a different hotel. Thjis one is outside the park, but still very close. I stayed here for just one night in May 2012. It was perfectly fine for my very rushed overnight visit to the Falls. Staff were all very good and spoke English, or enough to get by. The bedroom and common areas are clean and modern. The Italian restaurant is mediocre, but reasonably priced. The hotel is enormous, with a cavernous breakfast room that must seat a few hundred. Because of the size, and the fact that it was off-season, the hotel seemed very bland and soulless. For one night, it was fine, but I prefer a hotel with more character.

Room Tip: Some rooms are beside a pen with roosters that crow very early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apaddyintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Location next to the falls. Spendid breakfast buffet. The falls make a lot of water-noise of course also during the night. So, if you don't like this, ask for a room at the backside and close your window.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the falls are super !!!!!!! But be aware of the noise of the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank els v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasHartmann, Public Relations Manager at Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Hello els v, how are you?

We thank you for submitting your review at TripAdvisor. We are very glad that you liked our hotel and we would like to receive you again in Iguassu Resort or another hotel of GJP Hotéis & Resorts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

At cut price while the golf course underwent renovation, we had a quiet off-season stay.

The hotel was comfortable, with good amenities. Fortunately we spoke Portuguese - many of the staff spoke only Spanish or Portuguese.

Restaurant options: a small quirky Italian, a Japanese that smells a bit too fishy, and sandwich lunches at the bar. Decent enough but would expect more from a hotel of this type.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lelionrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasHartmann, Public Relations Manager at Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Hello Navajo_Hugo, how are you?

We thank you for submitting your review at TripAdvisor. We are very glad that you liked our hotel and we would like to receive you again in Iguassu Resort or another hotel of GJP Hotéis & Resorts.

We are sending your comments about food options and english speaking to our general manager. We are very confident that he will solve those troubles soon and we thank you for showing it.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Outside the town, but near to everything (Falls, Argentina, Paraguay and airport)! Great individual pools (each bedroom has one beside), big main pool with bar, lots of trees and birds... very new!
Cons: no wi-fi in the bedroom!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We spent three nights at the Iguassu Resort and it exceeded my expectations. Everything was bright and clean and the grounds are impressive. You are essentially staying on a golf course. We were in the second cabana behind the main pool. Each cabana has two floors with 4 rooms on each floor - with an adjacent small pool and jacuzzi for each cabana. Our room was in the back and faced the jungle. It was very quiet.

The staff did their best to help us, although few of them speak any English. That can be a challenge at times, but you have to remember that you are in a non-English speaking country so bring a Portuguese-English dictionary.

We were impressed with the security at this property. It is a gated property and the guards at the main gate near the road have night-sticks and wear pistols. After you go through the gate it is still about a half-mile to the hotel buildings and the golf course.

There is a taxi stand right outside the main gate, so getting a taxi is no problem. The main desk will call and they will be there in 5 minutes. We took taxis everywhere. Some sample fares: 30 Reais each way to airport; 30 Reais each way to Brazilian park entrance; 10 Reais each way to nearby souveneir store; 70 Reais to Argentinian park entrance (and 80 Reais to get back because we couldn't find a Brazilian cab and took an Argentinian cab). By the way, the cab drivers took care of all the border crossing paperwork on both the Brazil and Argentine side and we didn't have to get out of the cab (on the Brazil side they had to go into a building to get passports stamped).

There are three restaurants in the main building and they all seemed a little over-priced to me. But on the other hand, most tourist restaurants in Brazil seemed over-priced so this was no different. The buffet breakfast included with the room was excellent.

So if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, safe, affordable place to stay while you check out the falls, then Iguassu Resort will fit the bill.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Upon first walking into this place, it looks amazing. A lot of money has clearly been thrown at the reception building, which has marble floors, large comfy sofas, vases filled with huge apples for guests to help themselves to, a nice bar area, computers with free internet access, an outside veranda with huge sofas to sit on, and an outdoor pool. Unfortunately, all was not as perfect as it seemed.

Firstly, few of the staff here speak any English at all. Secondly, as it’s a resort, the rooms are housed in villas separate to the reception so you may have to walk 10 minutes to get to your room (as we did). When you first arrive, this isn’t a problem as the bell-boy takes you and your cases in a minivan. Thereafter, every time you need to go to reception for the computers or breakfast etc, you have that walk. Of course, you can ring and ask for the bell boy to collect you, but firstly, if you’re speaking in English, you’ll be lucky if you’re understood, secondly, if you are understood, you may have to wait the 10 minutes it would have taken you to walk for the bell boy to arrive. It’s the same to get out of the resort – the exit is 20 minutes’ walk, so when we wanted to get the bus into the ‘city’ to explore, it was a pain (and also not worth it as the city is one of the most depressing places I’ve seen. One street going up and down a hill, full of run-down shoe and clothes shops). Our room wasn’t bad though – spacious and clean with a fridge, cable TV and nice chocolates left for us every afternoon.

We probably found the staff’s lack of English the biggest problem in this place. Our saving grace was one lovely gentleman, who appeared to be the catering manager, who spoke great English and went out of his way to help us, asking us if we were okay and if we needed anything every time we saw him. The rest of the staff though struggled and the hotel’s tour agency were a little dishonest promising us an English-speaking tour guide when we booked a trip to the Falls. It transpired our guide spoke no more than five words of English at best.

As it’s in a resort with limited means of getting out without transport, unless you are visiting the Falls for the day, staying on the resort can be restricting. There’s not all that much to do, the city isn’t great and it’s not easy to get out and about. The hotel’s buffet restaurant was overpriced and under quality (though breakfast wasn’t bad) and the upstairs area it is located in feels like a cheap canteen in the evenings. If you’re going to stay here, my advice would be, don’t spend more than a couple of days (to see both sides of the Falls) and if you’re going to be there longer, take a swimming costume and books to occupy yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cakeexpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,774 reviews
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#23 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu

Address: Avenida das Cataratas 6845 | Tamanduá, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil (Formerly Iguassu Golf Club & Resort)
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $136 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wish Golf Resort is located at Foz do Iguacu, which is at the western region of Parana State, 15 minutes from the international airport and 20 minutes from the Iguassu Falls, laid between the borders of Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina. Accomodation in 215 new apartments, all very cozy and spacious. You can enjoy maximum comfort, surrounded by 555 acres of green area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz do Iguacu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguassu Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Bourbon Iguassu Hotel
Wish Resort Golf Convention Foz Do Iguacu Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing