We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and charming resort in the nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wish Resort Foz do Iguacu
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice and charming resort in the nature”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I was there with my husband for three nights in August. The weather was cold but sunny and we really enjoyed our stay here.The nature is beautiful far away from the bussy road. We had room 511 in the new building house near the central pool. we The room was very clean and brend new with a nice look to the pool and relax zone. The staff in the resort was very polite and they tried to do everything to satisfied us. In the resort lobby there is a CVC travel front office so we booked the tour to Itaipu dam and to Iguacu Falls with a fabolous bird park on the return. Breakfast and dinner at the resort restaurant was good, taste and really enough. Better that one overpriced Churrascaria in the town of Foz where we was on the first evening.
Only bad thing was no heating in the lobby and restaurant when it was cold.

Room Tip: Rooms in the houses near central building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    703
    199
    69
    28
See reviews for
1,071
709
31
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

For a three-star hotel, it's excellent. Nice room, really kind, attentive staff. Delicious breakfast. Chocolates on the beds every night. The grounds are quite lovely and there's lots of things for kids to do--mini-golf, infant pools, geese to look at.

For a hotel aspiring to four stars...it still needs some work. The place is located close to the airport and the Falls, but far from everything else, and they take advantage of their isolation by charging up the butt for food and water. The dinner buffet was 40R and didn't look very appetizing. They provided butter knives to cut their steaks. The dinner menu is limited and expensive.

I caved in and took one of the overpriced bottles of water from the frigobar one night, and I discovered how another guest dealt with the expense--the bottle had already been opened and drunk, then refilled with tap water and tightly closed. I found one more bottle like that and decided to go thirsty that night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen780032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The Iguazu Falls are superb beyond description, but the town, at least on the Brazilian side, is a dump. Among the limited choices of hotels and, even more so, restaurants, Iguassu Resort in Foz Do Iguacu is probably the best choice. We had no intention to throw money by staying at Das Cataratas and locals told us that the luxury hotel is no longer what it used to be. We cannot confirm, having no interest whatsoever in that place,

The reception area is depressing and receptionists, like most other Brazilians, do not speak a word of English - or other international language. They are also not very happy to work in a remote place like that & they'll let you know.

It's critical to ask for the remodeled rooms, which are quite nice. The other ones are simply unacceptable. Of course, nothing is done well from the beginning to end here, so you'll hear every single detail of all of the activities happening in the adjacent bathroom! In addition, the bathroom door knobs kept on falling!

There is no proper restaurant in this hotel. In lieu, there is a huge building that looks better suited for housing boats. Breakfasts are fine, but dinners are a major challenge. In all honesty, I'd be hard pressed to remember having a worse dinner ever in a more depressing environment. The first night we had that interesting experience. We were to trying to understand what got lost in translating "grilled filet mignon"; The thin slice of meat with a finger of fat that was probably cooked in a not so good oven or stove top was surely not what they advertised. The icing on the cake was the temperature in the so-called restaurant; it was so cold at night, that the few cornered tourists were trembling in the thickest clothes they had. Since we failed to find any decent restaurant outside the hotel that actually cooks food rather than offering sketchy buffets (we were not picky, we'd have probably even accepted McDonald's at that point) we ordered in-room dinner at the hotel. Low-level hamburgers on a nice table outdoors surely beat the Iguassu version of grilled filet mignon.

On the plus side, we were fortunate to find the tour operator still open (purely by accident, as the man was delayed by a personal phone call). This way, we were able to secure a taxi trip to the Argentinian side of the Falls, which is much better than the Brazilian side,

To conclude, one only comes here for a full day, which is amply sufficient to experience the magnificence of the falls. So, if one comes mentally prepared, then the experience will be good. Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tastefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights, while in Foz. The grounds of the resort were beautiful, and would be great in the summer I'm sure, but it ends there. The rooms, although recently renovated, are so poorly maintained and already look like they are aging. The cleaning service is terrible, and there are tons of bugs. The breakfast, and food at the restaurant in general, is just terrible. We had to get out of there, and wanted to go to Bufla Branca for dinner one night, however since this place is so out of the way, the restaurant would not pick up at this hotel. The front desk sent us to a different Brazilian steakhouse instead (la Cabana), and it was some of the worst and most expensive food I've had. This hotel is fine if you are staying for just one night, don't stay longer.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is probably obvious, but if you thinking about playing golf here in the Argentinian winter, be prepared for a well-design course in the worst shape you have ever seen. The concierge in the pro-shop mentioned that they re-seed each year and that in the summer, the course is pristine. That remains to be seen, given how bad it actually was, but the layout was challenging and well-designed. I'd definitely play there again (roughly $40 in winter), but during the right time of the year. Bring your own clubs though, unless you like playing ladies flex Cleaveland VAS's...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansbe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed here for two nights, first night getting in at 2am. They checked us in and took us to the condo. It smelled a little musty but was roomy and pretty nice overall. Good spread at breakfast. The falls are close and there is a tour guide company in the main lobby that was very helpful and gave maps disclosing all our options and not just selling his. We spent the rest of the day at the pool which was very nice. Swim up bar!

Pros: close to falls and airport, pool, tour company, breakfast, golf, quiet, good for families, nature
Cons: remote, set far from road,

Would recommended but not if you're looking to party or for much excitement

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I've been in this hotel with my family (wife and 2 children aged 2 to 6 years) for tourism.
The structure of the hotel is very good, because inside is a full golf field. In addition, there are other facilities such as dam with geese and fish for fishing with children, court, pool, play area for children, etc.
The service is good, but restaurants do not please me. So I had to leave the hotel to dine. Luckily, in Iguazu great restaurants have a free transfer. If you have to go to the city by taxi you will have to pay at least $ 50 Brazilian reais.
The cleanliness of the rooms is relatively good and the rest was good because the hotel is not in an urban area, so I could rest in silent nights spent at a reasonable bed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT_sam_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#25 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#20 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wish Resort Foz do Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wish Resort Foz do Iguacu

Property: Wish Resort Foz do Iguacu
Address: Avenida das Cataratas 6845 | Tamanduá, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil (Formerly Iguassu Golf Club & Resort)
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wish Resort Foz do Iguacu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wish Golf Resort is located at Foz do Iguacu, which is at the western region of Parana State, 15 minutes from the international airport and 20 minutes from the Iguassu Falls, laid between the borders of Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina. Accomodation in 215 new apartments, all very cozy and spacious. You can enjoy maximum comfort, surrounded by 555 acres of green area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Wish Resort Foz do Iguacu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguassu Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Bourbon Iguassu Hotel
Wish Resort Foz Do Iguacu Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing