We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of contrasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Martin Hotel & Resort
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Newark, Notts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A place of contrasts”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and we're expecting a high standard, we were disappointed in some respects, our room was quite lovely, clearly newly refurbished, modern clean and a nice shower room. The setting for the hotel is also lovely, with nice gardens, good walks and a large swimming pool, however the pool was not as clean as it could be, and the area surrounding it was littered with bits of food, cigarette ends etc. I would not go in the pool as a result though others did. It had a lovely spa, and I had a nice massage at a reasonable price. The bar was quite nice but the staff a little quiet and reticent, though we had no complaints about the service. The dining room experience however was farcical...it was presided over by the 'manager' who behaved as if he was controlling a camp, he was the only one who would take orders, and seemed to be in a almighty rush so there was no customer service, we experienced him taking our order whilst talking to two members of staff about other orders, not very professional, there were plenty of staff but he seemed to be the only one who could take orders so the remaining staff stood about waiting to be told what to do by him, so everything was slowed down....the food was ok if uninspiring. Lastly we had to get up to leave at 5 am to catch a flight, we knew that breakfast would not start until later than then so we asked if we could have a packed sandwich to take with us the answer was a clear NO, they didn't do that! very stranger as they did advertise 24 hour room service! If this hotel was better managed it would be lovely.........as it is the only good side was the room as for the rest not impressed at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    659
    272
    91
    50
See reviews for
454
615
69
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We took the package deal that this hotel offers. Highly recommend if you want to see the falls from the brazil side and you MUST visit the bird park and the staff were great and organized for us to take a day trip to the Argentina side of the falls. Also as part of the package breakfasts and dinners were included for duration of our stay. Rooms were beautiful and the hotel grounds in general were fantastic. Had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharsh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights in order to visit the falls. For this purpose, the site was great and we enjoyed the gardens of the hotel. Of course, it is far away from town but it is very close to the rain forest - there is even a jungle trail inside the hotel complex. The room was nice and quiet. Food was a little difficult because there was little choice - either the bar (with a limited offer of dishes) or the dining hall, which gave us a very unpersonal impression. Breakfast was very good, Reception was helpful and the transfer price back to the airport was moderate.
It it important to mention that next to the hotel there is a Bird Park - very nice, more like a medium-sized zoological garden in the rain forest. The flowers are remarkable!
Booking a tour to the falls is really not necessary - they are in walking distance and behind the entrance to the falls there is an internal transport system.
All by all a very good experience - recommended to all lovers of nature.

Room Tip: The internal structure of the hotel complex is complicated - people with walking problems should ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a really nice hotel which was close to both the airport and the falls, which is what we needed as we were only staying for two nights. There was also a pool and spa facility which was nice after a long day walking round the falls. Good breakfast as well - good cake!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We originally picked this hotel based on the great reviews and the close proximity to the Brazilian side of the falls. However, after staying here for a few days, there are good and bad parts that I want to highlight.

The hotel grounds are beautiful and exclusive, with a gated entrance and guards. It is situated near the Brazilian side of the Falls, so we were able to walk there in about 12 minutes. We chose this hotel knowing that we would be a bit far from downtown, but we didn't realize how far and secluded we would be. Being so far away, we were really at the mercy of the hotel - no convenience store, restaurants, ATM machine or other stores nearby. We had to either eat/buy from the hotel or pay the hotel to take us to downtown. (The saving grace however is that the prices that the hotel charged for taxi and bottled water were decent; they didn't overcharge).

We got the standard triple room, which was beautiful, clean, and had adequate space for 3 people. However, we were surprised that there were only 2 power outlets (1 in the bedroom and 1 in the bathroom). We had to unplug the TV to free up a third outlet. Even more bizarre were the dimensions of the beds (1 double and 1 single) -- they were noticeably short compared to US standards. I am 5'10" and I could feel the edge of the bed with my legs. Wifi was generally slow and spotty, which a few disconnections every so often.

Food in the hotel was ok. Not horribly bad but not great. However, because we were far from downtown, we had no choice... unless we took a taxi to downtown.

A few other inconveniences: Hotel had no ATM machine and they told us that there were no ATMs nearby except in downtown, but we discovered that there were quite a number ATMs outside the Brazilian Falls entrance. Hotel front desk also had no cash to break our large bills and suggested we go to the hotel gift shop, which also didn't have enough smaller bills.

In hindsight, the Brazilian falls is relatively small and can be completed in about 2 hours. So if I were to come back again, I would choose a hotel closer to the Argentinian falls or stay at a hotel in downtown where it's easier to catch the bus to the Argentina side. In other words, not much benefit to stay that close to the Brazilian falls.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaxAnderson3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We LOVED this hotel! We stayed here as part of a tour and loved it. It was clean, the room werent huge but enough room , we weren't tripping over each other. The food was good, the grounds immaculate. Pool gorgeous and very relaxing. One of the highlights was the wild toucans that you can spot in the early hours ! If you dont get up early enough to spot a wild one, you can walk next door to the bird park and see heaps! the staff are great here, all of them so friendly and lovely. really enjoyed our time here, would go back for sure!! Thank you san martin!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazvrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at the San Martin Hotel for one night so that I could visit the Brazilian side of the falls, before moving on to a hotel on the Argentina side. Based on the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor my expectations were quite low, and in turn, I was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel offers a free shuttle service at the airport, and they were highly reliable. I was met by a representative of the hotel (who had a card with my name on it) at arrivals. The hotel was less than five minutes from the airport.

The room was good-sized and quite attractive with hard wood floors. It had a modern bathroom with a decent shower. While there was free wi-fi in the room, it was quite slow; it was sufficient for e-mail but not anything else. The hotel served a free breakfast in the morning. I had better breakfasts elsewhere during my stay in South America, but it was more than sufficient.

The staff in the morning was a higher caliber and spoke better English than their night staff and the concierge was quite helpful in planning my day at the falls. The location of the San Martin is top-notch as it is about a four-minute walk to the bird park and a six minute walk to the national park entrance. So I was able to leave my bags at the hotel and visit both attractions. When I came back to the hotel, they called a taxi for me to take me to the Sheraton on the Argentina side. I had worried about the logistics of visiting both sides of the falls, but by staying at the San Martin, it was a non-issue. For that reason alone, I would recommend staying at this hotel for a quick visit to the Brazilian side.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#48 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#44 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
San Juan Eco Hotel
#10 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martin Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martin Hotel & Resort

Property: San Martin Hotel & Resort
Address: Rodovia das Cataratas, Km 21 | Parque Nacional Do Iguacu, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Martin Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Martin Hotel and Resort is located just for 400 meters from the main entrance of the National Park, 03 kilometers from Foz do Iguaçu Airport, and 10 kilometers from the downtown. The resort has 135 rooms, divided in 3 categories. The simple one is the standard, the superior is a medium comfort, and superior class the deluxe one, and junior suites. All the rooms have TV, air con, minibar, telephone, wi-fi free of charge, trail inside of the wood for walking, and a beautiful and wonderful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Martin Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
San Martin Hotel And Resort
San Martin Resort
San Martin Hotel & Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing