We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location a few steps from the national park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Martin Hotel & Resort
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice location a few steps from the national park”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel caters to individuals as well as to tours. Nice premises with large pool area, quite nice rooms as well. Location a few hundred metres from park entrance, Parque de Aves & Heliport. Food/restaurants OK but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoliSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    680
    280
    93
    51
See reviews for
473
639
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Location: The hotel is not in downtown, but very close to the fall. I found it very convenience. I felt save and enjoy my 2 nights stay here. I like that the hotel has big garden, so I can walk and relax. I think that it's not convenience going here and there, cause it's a bit far from downtown, but taxi can solve this problem. However, that did nott bother me, cause I tried to avoid the chaos in downtown. Also prices of food and beverage in San Martin are affordable.

Room & Service: Rooms look a bit modern and clean. Swimming poolis big enough that you can really swim, unlike other hotels.

Wifi: In room is slow. Wifi at swimming pool is faster than my room. The best spot to use is lobby.

Food & breakfast: Breakfast is ok. Dinner here's acceptable for both quality and price. If you don't want to have heavy dinner buffet, you can order a la carte, but they will not serve until certain time mentioned in the menu. I mean I was so hungry getting in to dining room asking for a drink and steak, but they said no.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chintana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The positive: The rooms are ok (though rather small considering the huge premisis of the hotel) and the swimming pool is nice, and the location for the falls is great. The park and bird park are walking distance. The service in the bar and at the swimming pool are good and the barfood is reasonable, though the menu is limited.

The negative: the management seems to invest more time and money in the building than in the staff, food and customers. One is a customer here, not a guest. The restaurant is depressing and the food seems to be aimed at low-cost busloads of tourists. None of the staff looks very motivated to work there. The reception is even worse. We checked in early (according to the website they will then try to give you a room as soon as available) but had to wait 3 hours before the bellboy (!) came to warn us that guests were coming in and were given a room. They had forgotten about us and the superior room which we had booked was not available anymore so they booked us in a standard room. Only after we started making trouble they upgraded us, to a room which was exactly the same but with a better view and two pictures on the wall. When checking out the reception, though clearly not being busy with anything, could not be bothered to call a taxi for us. We were given a number so we could call ourselves (portugese only!), or wait in line at the very busy concierce. The worst thing as that the bellboy told us that the management just didn't care about the guests. Obviously. I ad in another review that the start rating should be reconsidered and agree completely!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DelhiDutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The entrance and grounds are an oasis of tranquility and the grounds are maintained impeccably. The rooms are clean and modern, but that is about where all the good stuff ends. The check-in clerks are incompetent at best, with bureaucracy designed to make the process idiot-proof at the expense of the hotel guests' patience. The receptionist could not find any of our three rooms despite them clearly being on her printout. The multiple data forms to fill out were highly irritating, despite a highly efficient intenet booking process where they could have captured all this data from. The rooms were functional, however, the mattresses are atrocious. I was in a single and I am short, however, the bed was too short for me. Pity my tall friends. The food was horrifying to say the least. Thought we would go out to dinner but nothing close by was interesting and all were tourist traps, so we decided to stay in as we were exhausted. The salad bar, other than lettuce, was all pre-fabricated and colorless. The green beans were devoid of green, the potato salad was laced with mayonnaise to be rendered a big blob of cream, the olives and pickled onions were straight out of a can and devoid of flavor, and the deli meats were downright depressing. The hot buffet was even more depressing as I have had school canteen meals of better quality, all high volume spaghetti bolognese, cafeteria style beef in gravy and some inedible fish. The red wine we ordered was chilled more than the white and completely undrinkable, guaranteed to give you a migraine. The breakfast buffet the next morning was even more depressing for my celiac diet. The fruits were passable, however, everything else was just awful. Even the cheapest pousadas in Brazil serve fresh juices, but this hotel served only pasteurized diluted concentrate juices, the scrambled eggs were hideous, and the service was downright incompetent. Even if I ate bread, I wouldn't touch any of the ones they had as it all looked dry as a bone. Wouldn't frequent this hotel again.

Room Tip: Mattresses are very uncomfortable, TVs have only one channel so load up entertainment on the iPad as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MADHUR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying in this rather nice property. The reason we chose this hotel is of course for its proximity to the Brazilian side of Iguazu Falls. Rooms are good & functional. There is a Safe, minibar, some unstable wifi.. no kettle though. Nice shower, bathrobes, flip flops and comfy beds. Complimentary pick up from the airport which I did not expect at all.

Breakfast and dinner buffet are really nice and fresh. There is a tour agent desk located in front of the Reception which is handy for making last minute bookings to Argentinian side.

There is one thing which lacks behind... A service and food in their bar... Proper shambles ... I strongly suggest to avoid it ...

Otherwise a very good property indeed

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

People only stay here because of its location - being quite close to the entrance to Iguazu (the Brazilian side). In fact, you cannot walk to Iguazu as it is too far - you have to drive quite a way from the main gates to the trains that take you around the falls. The hotel presents very well from the outside - lovely gardens and a large pond, beautiful flowers, etc. However, inside it is like a prison or mental hospital - it is drab, drab, drab! I have never been anywhere which sucked the joy of living out of you like walking down the San Martin's corridors - an awful experience. Then the rooms are just so bad - small, cramped boxes with no character at all. The fixtures & fittings appear to be of the cheap & nasty end of the DIY spectrum. We changed rooms because we were so close to the perimeter path thru the gardens (grounds) and had people staring in at us as there were no net curtains - just a blind that if pulled down meant you had no light and could not see out! We pointed this out to reception who were very unhelpful, difficult and aggressive. The 2nd room was no better so we were shown another - it was smaller (!) but looked in to the interior garden area where no-one went so therefore more private.

Breakfast (buffet) was not bad at all but the staff were mostly surly apart from a couple of people. We tried dinner (also buffet) once but it was not great - not that bad, just average really.

The free wifi was very weak and was only possible (just) in the lobby. There were 2 laptops available in the lobby but there was a high charge if you wished to access the internet (but they were providing free wifi in the lobby so how/what/why??)

We had snacks in the bar more than once and not only were the bar staff friendly but the food and drinks (cocktails and coffees/teas) were excellent - this was the best part of the hotel by a long way - especially in terms of staff attitude.

The other oasis of warmth & light was the shop (run independently) where the owner and her assistant were lovely and chatty!

Final recommendation: choose another hotel and don't be swayed by the San Martin's proximity to Iguazu Falls and the bird park next door.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have any "good" rooms (or suites) but some are even worse than others! A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very big hotel, only that the superior rooms are extreemly small.
Typical for a hotel which caterers mainly for tours arriving in big busses.

Garden and park superb, very nice to walk and enjoy nature.

Pool little to small for the number of guests.

Breakfast average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maizemiller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,233 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wish Resort Foz do Iguacu
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,373 reviews
San Juan Eco Hotel
#10 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martin Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martin Hotel & Resort

Property: San Martin Hotel & Resort
Address: Rodovia das Cataratas, Km 21 | Parque Nacional Do Iguacu, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Martin Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Martin Hotel and Resort is located just for 400 meters from the main entrance of the National Park, 03 kilometers from Foz do Iguaçu Airport, and 10 kilometers from the downtown. The resort has 135 rooms, divided in 3 categories. The simple one is the standard, the superior is a medium comfort, and superior class the deluxe one, and junior suites. All the rooms have TV, air con, minibar, telephone, wi-fi free of charge, trail inside of the wood for walking, and a beautiful and wonderful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Martin Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
San Martin Hotel And Resort
San Martin Resort
San Martin Hotel & Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing