We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better options when staying in Foz do Igauzu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Martin Hotel & Resort
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“There are better options when staying in Foz do Igauzu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very big hotel, only that the superior rooms are extreemly small.
Typical for a hotel which caterers mainly for tours arriving in big busses.

Garden and park superb, very nice to walk and enjoy nature.

Pool little to small for the number of guests.

Breakfast average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maizemiller2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    648
    271
    89
    49
See reviews for
444
603
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

First of all this is nothing close to a 4 star hotel. It is very old and. Horrible service except for Cesar in the front. We get there and went straight to the falls. The only perk. Is the location to the Brazil side of the falls which why I gave it a 2 instead of a1. When we came back for the fall we mt to eat by the pool and were ignored by the pool man waiter. He was rude and did not provide service. We shared our concern and the receptionist was apologetic but nothing was done not even an apology. From reviews below we Are not alone with this concern. The rooms are very small and. Uncomfortable. Our rooms was infested with aunts. We. Told the front and nothing was. Done. The breakfast was included but it was poor quality. The hotel other perk is that it's is
Ess than five minutes away from. The brazil airport and asking distance to Bird park. When I go back I will not stay here for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back with. A balcony. If possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here in Dec '11 so sorry for a late review!

After reading the comments relating to this hotel I was expecting the worst (booked regardless though for location). However it was excellent.

I was 1 day late confirming the flights (there wasn't much email in the amazon) so got a bus to the hotel, really easy and even got on/off the wrong one first and had the right bus pointed out for us. Frequent service and so close to the hotel if your with a light backpack can easily walk. I did however book the free return taxi!

Great location, next to the bird park, walk to falls entrance (although the Arg. side was so much better I'd stay over there next time!!!) and bus stop outside for town (even as a non spanish speaker the drivers/attendants are really helpful)

Back to the hotel, the previous reports of unhelpful staff were non existent, I found them to all be polite and helpful with my questions and requests. There were no unexpected charges, we ate at the bar and found the food tasty and well priced for a hotel in Brazil (tip - go to the Arg. side and have a really good meal for a fraction of the price). The pool staff were efficient and friendly running around the hotel to find an icecream we wanted that they ran out off.

The pool was cold, but that was only really as I had come down from manaus where the pool was 30deg.

Overall, yes its expensive, but it was worth it for the little luxury touches, however next time I'd stay on the Arg side for 1/2 the price and have the day traveling back to the Brazil side instead.

Oh I think the attitude problems are relating to Brazil in general, there is an air of richness in Brazil and it shows, same as say.. london or paris, problem of getting rich to quickly, in contrast Arg. was really smiling and happy to see you and everyone will just chat to you, try the bus that crosses the border, your soon realize what I mean!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Hooded_Claw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

In summary, you pay a huge premium for being close to the falls and for having a nice swimming pool and large grounds. After several bad experiences with staff and then finding a cockroach in our room, we were forced to conclude: there must be better out there.

PROS
1. Pool - dirty, but large.
2. Location - great for the falls, but bad for town. Expensive taxis back and forth for dinner added up.

CONS
1. Service - horrendous. At the pool, at reception and everywhere in between, service was slow and unprofessional. Despite the sheer number of bodies, all people we encountered were completely disinterested in helping us. And, in fact, several staff were outright rude for no good reason.
2. Value - at over £100/night, this place left us feeling somewhat ripped off compared to other places we stayed in Brazil. Fine, it was Christmas. And fine, they've got a great location for sight-seeing (not eating!), but the rooms were small, compact and utterly without character.
3. Restaurant prices - we desperately took a taxi to a supermercado at one point to avoid more rip-offs at the bar and restaurant. As above, your pretty stranded at this hotel. Town is a trek!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night with one mission...Iguazu Falls. Complimentary airport pick up..though they charge $R20 to the airport which is only 1 mile.

Check-in was straightforward, rooms are smallish though comfortable. Nothing else is nearby so if you are staying longer it might feel secluded. We ate the buffet dinner in the restaurant for $R45. It was ok, not great, not bad...not catered to kids or vegetarians...unless you like lots of dessert. They do serve a la carte though the prices seemed steep for hotel food.

Iguazu park is less than 300meters, literally down the road so easily walkable.

Staff response was hit and miss...no one was rude just some were more cheerful than others. Overall seems good value if your purpose is to visit the park and not hang around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located 300 m (a 5-10 minute walk) from the entrance to the Brazilian side of the Iguassu Falls park, from which you can pay the entrance fee and take one of the double-decker buses. The hotel is located on beautiful grounds and makes for pretty photo ops.

THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE HOWEVER IS VERY POOR. First of all they lost my hotels.com reservation. Luckily for me, they had rooms available and offered me one at the same rate as hotels.com.

They also supposedly have a policy where they pay for taxi fares from the airport, however that did not apply to us. We were apparently supposed to have “confirmed our booking” two days in advance. Who the hell does that anymore? With hotels.com and expedia, there is no need for anyone to confirm their bookings. But this is their reason for not paying for our taxi fares.

Their restaurant food was not particularly great, although their buffet breakfast was filling. It made us wonder why their waiters were so snobby. At least they did not automatically deduct a service fee. They made the tip optional, which was good because they did not deserve it. Although the hotel is located near the Falls, it is far from the Foz do Iguassu city so there aren’t many other dining options unless you have a car.

There was actually one night when the electricity went during a storm, and remained off for a few hours. There was obviously no backup generator at this hotel.

The air conditioning unit was not properly positioned in the room, as it was directed straight at the bed. No amount of maneuvering could get the comfort levels what we wanted. It was either too hot or too cold. I also don’t think the AC was properly sized for the room.

The Tour Information desk also gave us incorrect information concerning the Iguassu Falls attractions. We were told there was no place at the park where you could see wild life etc, although there is a wild life observatory at one of the stops. If we had known about this, we could have planned our day a little better.

Overall, it’s a good hotel if you desire to visit Iguassu Falls, and you don’t care for first class treatment. You don’t need a tour, you can walk. Although, there are actually other hotels nearby that are also close to the Falls. However, if customer service is important to you, then this is not your hotel. If you are there and happen to have any customer related concerns, try getting help from anyone other than Marco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcheddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
266 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights when we visited the Iguassu Falls. The hotel was in a very big property but our superior room was very small. Despite the fact that I was only 5 feet tall, I also found the bed very short. Upon our arrival in the evening, there was only one guy at the reception and he had to handle 4 parties all arriving by the same plane. Throughout the night, he seemed to be the only receptionist on duty and really pity on him. Guests had to queue up enquiring, requesting for morning calls etc. etc. We requested for the 2nd key and it was shown in the bill that the cost was R$60 which luckily was waived. There was a small pool, a gym, children playground and the hotel offered 2 ecology trail walks per day if guests sign up for that. The WiFi was extremely unstable and was down consecutively for few days which led to many guests complaining. There were two computers in the lobby for guests use but they did not function either when the WiFi crashed. Surprised to find that the IT guys were working hard on restoring the system as it was up again after 1 a.m.

The hotel was around 300 meters across the entrance of the Brazilian side of the Iguassu Falls and 100 meters away from the Bird Park. Other than these 2 sites, it was very far away from downtown. Going to downtown or other areas for dinner meant additional return taxi fare of R$80 (US$42). As a result, many guests stayed in the hotel restaurant which offered buffet dinner at a very reasonable price of R$45 per person. Both the dinner buffet and breakfast did not have too many choices but enough to get us fed.

There was a bus which passed by the hotel, drove through the airport before reaching downtown and it cost only R$2.65. However, the frequency was only every 30 minutes. After reaching the terminal in downtown, walk along Avenue Republic Argentina for about 10 minutes and as soon as you saw a short white building across the street on the left hand side (Avenue Costa e Silva) with many brand names on it, that was where the only shopping mall was. There was a very big supermarket on the ground floor and on the top floor was a food court with menus ranging from R$10-R$24.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#47 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#45 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
San Juan Eco Hotel
#9 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martin Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martin Hotel & Resort

Property: San Martin Hotel & Resort
Address: Rodovia das Cataratas, Km 21 | Parque Nacional Do Iguacu, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Martin Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Martin Hotel and Resort is located just for 400 meters from the main entrance of the National Park, 03 kilometers from Foz do Iguaçu Airport, and 10 kilometers from the downtown. The resort has 135 rooms, divided in 3 categories. The simple one is the standard, the superior is a medium comfort, and superior class the deluxe one, and junior suites. All the rooms have TV, air con, minibar, telephone, wi-fi free of charge, trail inside of the wood for walking, and a beautiful and wonderful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Martin Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
San Martin Hotel And Resort
San Martin Resort
San Martin Hotel & Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing