We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, no nonsense service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Martin Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb location, no nonsense service”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night with one mission...Iguazu Falls. Complimentary airport pick up..though they charge $R20 to the airport which is only 1 mile.

Check-in was straightforward, rooms are smallish though comfortable. Nothing else is nearby so if you are staying longer it might feel secluded. We ate the buffet dinner in the restaurant for $R45. It was ok, not great, not bad...not catered to kids or vegetarians...unless you like lots of dessert. They do serve a la carte though the prices seemed steep for hotel food.

Iguazu park is less than 300meters, literally down the road so easily walkable.

Staff response was hit and miss...no one was rude just some were more cheerful than others. Overall seems good value if your purpose is to visit the park and not hang around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    681
    280
    93
    51
See reviews for
474
640
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located 300 m (a 5-10 minute walk) from the entrance to the Brazilian side of the Iguassu Falls park, from which you can pay the entrance fee and take one of the double-decker buses. The hotel is located on beautiful grounds and makes for pretty photo ops.

THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE HOWEVER IS VERY POOR. First of all they lost my hotels.com reservation. Luckily for me, they had rooms available and offered me one at the same rate as hotels.com.

They also supposedly have a policy where they pay for taxi fares from the airport, however that did not apply to us. We were apparently supposed to have “confirmed our booking” two days in advance. Who the hell does that anymore? With hotels.com and expedia, there is no need for anyone to confirm their bookings. But this is their reason for not paying for our taxi fares.

Their restaurant food was not particularly great, although their buffet breakfast was filling. It made us wonder why their waiters were so snobby. At least they did not automatically deduct a service fee. They made the tip optional, which was good because they did not deserve it. Although the hotel is located near the Falls, it is far from the Foz do Iguassu city so there aren’t many other dining options unless you have a car.

There was actually one night when the electricity went during a storm, and remained off for a few hours. There was obviously no backup generator at this hotel.

The air conditioning unit was not properly positioned in the room, as it was directed straight at the bed. No amount of maneuvering could get the comfort levels what we wanted. It was either too hot or too cold. I also don’t think the AC was properly sized for the room.

The Tour Information desk also gave us incorrect information concerning the Iguassu Falls attractions. We were told there was no place at the park where you could see wild life etc, although there is a wild life observatory at one of the stops. If we had known about this, we could have planned our day a little better.

Overall, it’s a good hotel if you desire to visit Iguassu Falls, and you don’t care for first class treatment. You don’t need a tour, you can walk. Although, there are actually other hotels nearby that are also close to the Falls. However, if customer service is important to you, then this is not your hotel. If you are there and happen to have any customer related concerns, try getting help from anyone other than Marco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcheddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights when we visited the Iguassu Falls. The hotel was in a very big property but our superior room was very small. Despite the fact that I was only 5 feet tall, I also found the bed very short. Upon our arrival in the evening, there was only one guy at the reception and he had to handle 4 parties all arriving by the same plane. Throughout the night, he seemed to be the only receptionist on duty and really pity on him. Guests had to queue up enquiring, requesting for morning calls etc. etc. We requested for the 2nd key and it was shown in the bill that the cost was R$60 which luckily was waived. There was a small pool, a gym, children playground and the hotel offered 2 ecology trail walks per day if guests sign up for that. The WiFi was extremely unstable and was down consecutively for few days which led to many guests complaining. There were two computers in the lobby for guests use but they did not function either when the WiFi crashed. Surprised to find that the IT guys were working hard on restoring the system as it was up again after 1 a.m.

The hotel was around 300 meters across the entrance of the Brazilian side of the Iguassu Falls and 100 meters away from the Bird Park. Other than these 2 sites, it was very far away from downtown. Going to downtown or other areas for dinner meant additional return taxi fare of R$80 (US$42). As a result, many guests stayed in the hotel restaurant which offered buffet dinner at a very reasonable price of R$45 per person. Both the dinner buffet and breakfast did not have too many choices but enough to get us fed.

There was a bus which passed by the hotel, drove through the airport before reaching downtown and it cost only R$2.65. However, the frequency was only every 30 minutes. After reaching the terminal in downtown, walk along Avenue Republic Argentina for about 10 minutes and as soon as you saw a short white building across the street on the left hand side (Avenue Costa e Silva) with many brand names on it, that was where the only shopping mall was. There was a very big supermarket on the ground floor and on the top floor was a food court with menus ranging from R$10-R$24.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel was just ok. Room fairly spacious and spotless but no chair despite their being room for 2 or 3!Beautiful gardens and pool. A short walk to the Brazilian side of Iguazu Falls but an hours taxi from the Argentinian side.Lovely bird park very close by. The Staff were fairly helpful. The dining room was charmless. Breakfast very poor with dilute packet orange juice despite the availability of the squeezed stuff served so willingly at the pool side cafe. The evening menu was so bad we wished we had stayed in Foz do Iguazu itself so we could have some choice. On balance this would have been Ok for one night but not for more.The Hotel was "out on a limb" and quite a way from any alternative dining or entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for part of our Honeymoon during our visit to Iguassu Falls. We picked it for it's location, and we were happy in this respect. It was a 5 minute walk from the Bird Park, and a 10 minute walk from the Brazilian side of the Falls. Great choice location wise. The hotel was clean and our room was clean and modern. The only problem was the bugs... they leave the hallway windows and doors open so at night there are occasional bugs roaming the hallways. I liked the open-air feel of the hotel, but disliked the bugs that roamed into the hallways. The thing I really did not appreciate was the rudeness of the night front desk employee. I do not remember his name, but he was night staff and he started work around 10 or 11pm and was extremely rude. He yelled at me as we were having language barrier difficulty and I was trying to explain to him that the lobby computer was not working and I wished to get a refund for "using the Internet" that I did not use. He was probably the worst hotel employee I have ever had the misfortune of interacting with before - he snapped at me out of nowhere. Clearly unhappy with his job or life or something. Other than that guy, the staff was fine and somewhat helpful. The tour desk lady was fine but to be honest their tour offers are a complete rip-off. We spent FAR LESS money just walking to the bird park and falls by ourselves and truly you do NOT need a tour. We were very happy with our visit to the bird park and falls. Stay at this hotel for the location, not for the friendliness or helpfulness of the staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

You can't really get much closer to the entrance to the park than this hotel and only a few hundred yards to the bird park too. Our room was very nice and the hotel grounds/pool area are also very good. Breakfast was pretty good but the bar area lacks atmosphere as most people tend to go to their rooms early after long excursions during the day.

The hotel is also very close to the airport which is handy if you have an early flight like we did. The restaurant food in the evenings isn't great though which is a shame, particularly as there is no other choice for miles. We took the bus into town one evening but be warned this takes about 50 minutes and the town is nothing special.

The staff often seemed quite grumpy, especially the pool bar man. Overall, I would give this a very good rating though due to the room, hotel grounds and the location which is the main reason for picking the hotel. Just don't expect gourmet food in the restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francophile101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the San Martin for 2 nights while visiting the Igussu falls.

The staff were all very polite and helpful, and the welcome drink also helped after the afternoon spent viewing from the Brazilian side.

The hotel has a nice swimming pool and large recreational area at the rear which includes a woodland walk, childrens play area and football field.

The room we had was in an area of the hotel that has already gone through a refirbishment and smaller work was noticable in other areas of the hotel (nothing that disrupted anything though).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leandro C, Sales Manager at San Martin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2017
The San Martin Resort & Spa appreciate your comments. The same without doubts will help us improve and enhance our services and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#43 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,233 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wish Resort Foz do Iguacu
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,377 reviews
San Juan Eco Hotel
#10 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martin Resort & Spa

Property: San Martin Resort & Spa
Address: Rodovia das Cataratas, Km 21 | Parque Nacional Do Iguacu, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85855-750, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Martin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Martin Hotel and Resort is located just for 400 meters from the main entrance of the National Park, 03 kilometers from Foz do Iguaçu Airport, and 10 kilometers from the downtown. The resort has 135 rooms, divided in 3 categories. The simple one is the standard, the superior is a medium comfort, and superior class the deluxe one, and junior suites. All the rooms have TV, air con, minibar, telephone, wi-fi free of charge, trail inside of the wood for walking, and a beautiful and wonderful pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Martin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Martin Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
San Martin Hotel And Resort
San Martin Resort & Spa Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing