We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We recently (2/1/14) stayed overnight at this hotel. We were part of a large group staying there. It was clean, very friendly staff, but there were a few things we noticed that could use improvement: The eating area around the pool (we didn't want to eat indoors as they didn't open up for dinner until LATE) was completely understaffed and overpriced. The food was only fair, it was way overpriced, and the atmosphere was chaotic. There were no instructions on the phone in the room as to how to get a hold of the front desk, how to call room-to-room, etc. But back to the positives, it is a really nice, large hotel. The rooms were clean and large. Private bathroom with hairdryers, amenities, etc. The breakfast was ideal. Lots of tasty food, fresh fruit, etc. Good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnePediRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear OnePediRN,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.
It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    1,004
    365
    119
    50
See reviews for
1,777
307
21
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at this hotel which was good value for monies. Whilst the poolside areas smacked of a cheap holiday resort, the rest of the hotel communal areas were good - our room was luxurious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful.
On the day of our departure, we had to get a flight from Iguacu to Buenos Aires - unfortunately, we did not realise there are two airports in the area (one in Brazil and the other in Argentina) - we went to wrong one but were fortunate that the time difference between Brazil and Argentina meant that we did not miss our flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Mamccabe,

Thank you for your review and your avaiability to rate us at Trip Advisor. In our continuous search to remain as reference in Resorts in Brazil, we look forward to critic reviews to maintain or aperfection the standards in quality and guest atendance.
It would be a pleasure to have you again at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Sincerely,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viby, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Fair sized room -478 . Nice and clean . Nice breakfast with among other things lots of fruit and bread.
Poor wifi-connection - unable to send an email with photo even in downscaled size.
The location and concept of the hotel is primarily suitable for families with children who want ' all-inclusive ' . Less suitable for adult couples who want to explore the city.
Far from everything. Everything you need - for example bottled water for brushing teeth - must be purchased in one of the resort's 5 restaurants to restaurant-prices, as there is no opportunity to shop locally within about 5 miles.
A very poor service : My wife got ill - heatstroke - on an excursion to the waterfall, and dared only eat fruit and bread for dinner. I turned to all the restaurants in the hotel to buy fresh fruit and bread (which was plentiful at breakfast), but no one wanted to grant my prayer – everyone told me to buy a dish from the menu.
As the hotel is placed ‘in the middle of no-where ' - no ATM nearby, and we had just arrived from Argentina , carrying only Argentine peso and U.S. $ , I went to the frontdesk to ask if I on my Mastercard or my Visa card could receive some local currency , in order to take a taxi downtown to shop necessities for my wife. My prayer was flatly refused stating that the hotel (which is located on the border between Brazil / Argentina / Paraguay and allegedly primarily feed on tourists, who comes to watch the magnificant nearby waterfall) can not withdraw local currency for the visitors. Inside the resort, you can do all your purchases by showing your room card!
When I went out on the square in front of the hotel I was approached by a friendly man José Antonio Arruda (josearruda31@hotmail.com ), who asked if I was looking for something. I explained to him the situation, that I was only in possession of foreign currency , and that I needed to find a supermarket with an ATM so I could buy dinner for his wife . He stated that he was taxi-driver, that he wanted to drive me to a supermarket with ATM, and that he also accepted to be paid in foreign currency.
Upon arrival at the supermarket, he would not hear of payment for this trip, but insisted on waiting at the exit for my moneyexchange and purchasing . After my shopping , José drove me the about 5 miles back to the hotel. The price José asked for, driving me downtown , waiting for my purchase and driving me back to the hotel was rediculous 35 Rias. Five Stars Plus to José Arruda , but Two Stars Minus for the Service provided to Mabu

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asjdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0teisMabu, Gerente geral at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Asjdk,

We would like to thank you your avaiability on avaluating us on Trip Advisor, we would like to inform you that all sectors mentioned on your review were contacted and asked for better improvements on the problems mentioned, aperfectioning our services in vision for exellence guest treatment.

It will be a pleasure to have you here at Mabu Thermas Grand Resort.

Regards,

Mario Dias
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at the resort for three nights while visiting the waterfalls. The rooms was absolutely great, tastefully decorated and it felt almost new. Nice beds and cleaning was good. Free wifi in the room and around the hotel, but you can only log in with one device, so choose wisely - maybe the tablet or computer is a better choice than your mobile phone.

The hotel had a system where you used your room key card to pay for drinks and food. You ordered, the staff scanned you key card and when you checked out you payed the bill everything you consumed during the stay.

The staff working in the front desk and tour desk speak good English, while other staff aren't as good. Some patience and a smile always helps.

The breakfast buffet was crowded and some thing run out quickly without being replaced, that is the only negative thing we experienced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Nicce, recently renovated rooms. However, they lack balconies giving a motel-feel. Wi-fi (free) with strong signal.
Excellent hot breakfast buffet and very good quality of food served during lunch and dinner.
Four pools with natural, but quite hot water.
10 minutes/20 reias by taxi from downtown. Nice garden area.
On the negative side, for adult travelers the place is often noisy as it serves school children.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a trip organised by Trailfinders so do not know the cost of the room.

First thing to say about Iguacu is that the falls are stunning. In terms of hotels when visiting the falls you need to decide whether you are prepared to pay a premium to be within the park and be able to see the falls from your hotel. In all honesty I don't think that it is totally necessary - after all you spend the whole day looking at them from better vantage points.

Mabu Thermas is a big hotel seemingly catering in particular for Brazilian families and conferences. The grounds are nice; the pool area a bit like a mid range European all inclusive hotel with animation staff. Room was not immediately available and getting our luggage required me to push it on a trolley before anybody helped.Room allocated was conveniently close to reception and of good quality.

There are a number of Restaurants on site. The main one is cavernous - buffet costs around £20 a head and includes soft drinks. This is not intimate/sophisticated dining but if you are selective you can have a perfectly adequate meal. We also ate in the Italian restaurant - menu looks limited but we enjoyed our meal. The wine is expensive. Town is not far away and it is worth considering eating there particularly at a traditional Brazilian meat restaurant.

There was an issue with our bill when I checked it the night before leaving. This however had been sorted out by the next day.

Breakfast was OK but coffee poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Checking in here kick started my vacation. Very accommodating staff. Complete with things to do. Alcohol is pricey but everything else is worthy. Made the iguaçu visit from good to great. Really worth coming back to whenever I plan to have another glimpse of the wonderful falls

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jommarcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,595 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,479 reviews
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabu Thermas Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabu Thermas Grand Resort

Property: Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Address: Av. das Cataratas, 3175, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#12 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabu Thermas Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Mabu Thermas Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabu Thermas And Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Mabu Thermas Hotel
Hotel Mabu Thermas
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing