We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and Touristy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loud and Touristy”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spent a night at the hotel in order to visit the falls and Bird Park. The buffet was atrocious in that they served hot dogs in a tomato sauce at both buffets the dinner and breakfast buffets. Unfortunately, the night of our stay was the time of a bank conference making the lobby deafening the whole time of our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    1,004
    365
    119
    50
See reviews for
1,777
307
21
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of Brendan vacations escorted tour, while visiting Iguassu falls. Very nice rooms - clean, comfortable, modern. Beautiful grounds and wonderful pools. Excellent food. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmarcketta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

For the well heeled traveller looking for a one stop resort to relax in or a higher end spot to call home while exploring the south end of Brasil, this is likely one of the best places to start at. I had a spotless, reasonably well appointed room in the new building that was comfortable, if a little sterile. All the normal amenities except, surprisingly, kleenex! No big deal, but surprised. Property has on ground thermal pool at 36C, 4 restaurants and more than one place to quench your thirst. Staff are knowledgeable though English is only certain with the front desk staff - the rest have limited to none and often have to rely on gestures, patience and smiles to get your message across. Food was good - buffet was always well stocked. Resort is some 5 kms out of town so transportation should be kept in mind. Several tourist attractions close by.

Room Tip: Ask for the new building - though in fairness, I did not inspect the older section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and found everything really good. Nice reception area with plenty of seats and friendly, helpful staff at reception. Our room was really bright,large and clean,with
a really large shower and toilet separated from the wash hand basins by a door which gave
privacy. The room was a bit away from reception,out through glass doors along an open walk-way on stilts with a raffia roof which reminded me of our holiday in Fiji. Wow! the heat just hit you
as you left the aircon till you arrived at the annexe. Breakfasts were great,we were with a group,
and our designated seating area was near all the buffets. Good choice,plenty of it,and attractively
set out. Dinner was the same,again great choice,only observation was the food choice seemed to
be the same both nights. Could be monotonous if there for longer maybe. It was good to have a
rest after seeing the Falls so we used the pool and had a light lunch at the pool bar. Girls so
friendly and helpful there, toastie could have been shared as it was so big. Nice shop on site too
with a lovely selection of Brasilian t-shirts and swimwear. Tropical storms both nights late,double
glazing kept the noise of the thunder to a minimum. Very busy hotel,conference members everywhere but didn't hamper the service or the enjoyment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I know why a representative from a travel company with a bit of pampering would think that the Mabu Thernas Resort an ideal location in a tour. It has a large smart reception area with a couple of seating areas, a bar, restaurant areas and an excellent series of naturally heated pools.
When we arrived however the promised welcome drink could not be served as the staff were too busy with delegates from a conference group. Rooms are average sized and the air conditioning only works when the windows are tightly shut. This was not a problem but showed that our window locks did not work. The safe is unusual in that you have to get the key from reception and then carry it around with you. An advantage of this however is that unlike the push button electric combinations, if there is a power outage you can still get to your valuables.
Breakfast demonstrated what the hotel management feels about tourists. The breakfast room accommodates about 800 people on circular tables which are have reserved notices on all of them. You are left to wamder around the large room without any assistance but if you are a tourist the tip is that your table will be with the other tourist groups in the farthest corners of the room.
To get a small cup of coffee you must first find your table, pick up your cup from the table walk back to the other end of the breakfast room to get the coffee and return to your table. If your table is 50 yards from the coffee it means you have to walk 150 yards to get a coffee. Conference members are all placed around the breakfast items. Not that getting a coffee was clear as there are no signs indicating which is the coffee, the hot water or milk. Although breakfast commenced at 6.00am the cooked eggs did not appear until 6.50am on both days we were there.
Although they claim there is a choice of restaurants when a group of us decided not to use the main restaurant but to order light bites from the bar by the pools it became clear that only the one restaurant was staffed. I ordered two sandwiches and it was only after I had complained that I got it 50 minutes later. Others more patient guests had to wait considerably longer. Even after 50 minutes fries served with the sandwich we got were stone cold.
The resort certainly does not have self contained restaurants with a variety of different menu’s posted at their entrance nor does it have grounds that take you more than about ten minutes to walk around. Outside the road is not one you can walk on and unlike other hotel/resort hotels that we passed on the way to the falls small market type stalls have not established themselves near the entrance or on the opposite side of the road. Nowhere obviously sells water in the Hotel and the only shop always seemed to have a ‘Back in 10 Minutes’ sign on it or it was closed. The Hotel likes to say it is half way between the airport and the city. In truth it is just isolated.
The Hotel is clean and the public areas well maintained giving it the potential to be very good, so much so that an individual who was targeted for good service could think this a five star establishment. When your just a guest however your treated as a two star person.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Hotel Mabu is a fine hotel. It is very clean with a good buffet, very modern american and perhaps a little Best Western boring. I stayed there because it was the choice of my Brazillian friends. If I had it to do over again, for comparable money, I would stay in the park at the Hotel das Cataractas. We went inside and it is stately, elegant and inside the park so you can see the falls and enjoy the amenities without the crowds. If you travel this far, I would stay there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Travelled with a tour group party of 30 and stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst visiting local Iguassu waterfalls. Our arrival checkin was dealt with quickly and cases arrived in rooms without much delay. Rooms were satisfactory and very clean. Hotel facilities were considered to be of a good all round standard and pool areas were well kept. Gardens and lake walk were very nice indeed and the free lakeside fishing rods were a nice touch especially if you had kids with you.
Our tables were reserved for our party which was good for us. Buffet food was of a good standard and there seemed plenty of it. Pretty standard really of a quality you would expect in a five star Brazillian rated resort. Found staff generally very pleasant especially the evening waiters although their English was very poor and sign language was the order of the day.Some guests found the lack of language ability a bit off putting. The wine was expensive at £20 a bottle for Brazillian plonk but hey you have to go with the flow.All round we thought the hotel was fine for us and we had no real complaints about anything.

Room Tip: Check out your room first before committing as there are different standards of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,595 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,484 reviews
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabu Thermas Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabu Thermas Grand Resort

Property: Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
Address: Av. das Cataratas, 3175, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#7 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#12 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabu Thermas Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Mabu Thermas Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabu Thermas And Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Mabu Thermas Hotel
Hotel Mabu Thermas
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing