We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hostel, comfy and great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iguassu Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iguassu Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Belo Horizonte, MG
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hostel, comfy and great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Overall excellent hostel, Renata, Bianca and Everton are very attentive and experienced, I felt at home. Guest house staff, they treat us like family!
Breakfast, showers, cleaning, all class. Iguassu guest house is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaicoFilgueiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    84
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
69
92
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hostel has everything you could want - first, a security gate, next extremely helpful desk staff. The rooms are very clean and give you a great sense of privacy for a hostel. There is a bar area with a pool table, darts and games if you wish, or a pool to relax by. It is a 3 block walk to the bus station and amazing restaurants.

The only caution (and it's no knock on the hostel) is that the town itself is not a particularly touristy area - if you want that, stay on the Argentinia side of the border...

I would recommend this to anyone who wants a santuary during their trip to Iguassu Falls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladibug4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Found this hostel excellent overall, Renata is really helpful and knowledgeable. Really appreciated being allowed to check out a little late after we got soaked in the rain. Breakfast, showers, cleanliness, all top class. Well done to these guys for running a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrazyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Room was excellent, lovely shower, clean linen, clean towels, fridge, and plenty of charging points, Bar area is cool, with dart board and pool table. Little pool area, nice when the weather is nice.

Staff are great for information about tours to the falls and the dam, and helpful with whatever else you ask.

Overall 5 stars

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublinadam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a great location to explore the falls and get around the city. The hosts are very knowledgeable and will help you understand the bus routes you need to get anywhere you are headed. Not to mention the bus station is only a block and a half away! They organize a bus to the Argentina side that is cheap and extremely effective. Boarder crossing, ticket purchase, tour, and transport.

We stayed in a double private and it was pretty nice. T.V., space, and very clean. The bar runs out back, but they didn't have any problems with us drinking our own booze in the hostel, which very cool and rare.

Breakfast is pretty good. However, we like eggs and ended up cooking them every morning to go with their spread. They had no problem with us cooking them up and we actually had to fight to was our own dishes (pan).

Headed to Rio?

It is no secret that Rio is a longass bus ride from Iguacu. I personally suggest breaking up the trip by stopping in Curitiba. It is about the halfway point and is a big city with plenty to do. Go to the Motter Home! If you like Iguassu Guest House, you will LOVE Motter Home. They even helped my wife and I get flights for the second part of the trip for only $10 more then what a bus would take.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
449 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I probably would have easily given this place 5 dots had we not had such horrendous luck. The power had continuously gone out during our one night stay, it would be off for about 30 minutes, during which time a horrible alarm would sound and get more insistent. Then the power would come back on for about 30 minutes. I had to do something very unusual for me and yelled at the guy at the 'front desk' when he wasn't really doing anything about it (he was at the desk which is actually downstairs in the rear, where apparently the power situation was perfectly fine, as the problem was on the first floor.) The guy seemed to understand that something of a permanent fix was required and after that the power did not go out again for several hours. There was also not very much hot water in the shower and none in the sink.
The management was apologetic the next morning, but offered me only a measly 12% discount on the cost of our room. I am learning that as I get older, I am far less tolerant of the little issues with a hostel. I also agree with another traveler that a curfew might be nice, with the wooden floors and doors of this small hostel I heard conversations and was awoken by walking and slamming doors all night. I would not stay at this hostel again if it was free, but I am trying to give them a fair review. That said, we met a couple from New Zealand who had stayed there on the downstairs floor and thought it to be a fine place, as they did not have the power issues or possibly the noisy neighbors that we dealt with. The room we stayed in was spare but clean. The common room is large and has a full kitchen. The place was close to a supermarket as well as the local bus stop, but do not be fooled by the 'not to scale' map that you may be given, the bus out of Foz (to Sampa or Rio) is quite far away and not really within walking distance as it appears. (we almost missed our bus.)

Room Tip: Maybe try the downstairs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primerstar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I'm a fussy traveller and don't care how basic accommodation is as long as it's clean. This place is super clean - stayed in Argentina room - great service - friendly staff - good breakfast - close walking distance to bus station! Thanks for a great 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emilyabbeysalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#18 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Hotel Villa Canoas
#11 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Hostel Paudimar Campestre
#10 of 108 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguassu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguassu Guest House

Property: Iguassu Guest House
Address: Rua Naipi 1019, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-230, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Iguassu Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Iguassu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguassu Guest House Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing