We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

Rafting in the River Iguacu
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The trip takes around 35 minutes. The Speedboat carriea you against the pretty strong stream right to the falls and you will takes a showever underneath one of them which is a great experience. You can store you valuables and clothes in lockers or opt to wear a wet poncho. YOU WILL GET SOAKED, wear swimshorts / bikini instead!

The jungle tour was nice even though we did not understand so many of the explanations, since the tour guide did not speak any English (I guess we were unlucky)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    45
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We got drenched so take a rain coat and a water proof camera as this is such an amazing experience. They take you through the rivers where the water falls and it truley is incredible!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank v_patel_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wet is an understatement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were so glad we had ample warning about how wet we would get on this little ride. We wore swimsuits and swimming trunks under quick drying clothing and sturdy open toed sandals. If anyone has ever been on the Maid of the Mist ride in Niagara Falls, this is SOOO much better because you don't get wet from the "mist" of the falls, you actually get drenched because they drive the inflatable speed boat directly under the falls. The water was so warm and it was exhilarating. The ride from the dock to the falls was also a wonderful experience since you are going so fast up the river and can see all the cranes and birds standing on both banks of the river. It's highly recommended that you stow your belongings in their lockers for a very small fee R$5 (which is like US $2.50) because those passengers who thought they could just shove their stuff in a backpack or a plastic bag and take it on the ride found out the hard way why that was a bad idea. You're practically bailing water out of the boat when you're done so there really is no place on the boat to stow your belongings and keep it dry. The crew take pictures with their cameras so you don't even have to bring yours. They sell a picture CD for like US $20 afterwards. There are several steep and slippery stairs with rough rocks to and from the dock so wear sturdy sandals. Some folks were crazy and attempted to navigate these steps barefoot. If you don't have water resistant footwear, just wear them all the way down to the dock and then take them off and leave them at the dock so you have them to climb back up afterwards. Again, another amazing experience in Iguazu that must be tried.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BBoopL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like taking a warm bath!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The tour ticket included a truck ride through the park and the speed boat ride up to the falls. We didn't really need this, so if you are watching the cost then just go for the short trip.
There are some really steep steps back up when everyone is wet and slippery, so take your time.
It was great fun, and you will get wetter the farthest forward you sit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsMC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best of Iguazu!! And, yes you will get soaked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

This is a highlight of Iguazu. A little pricey, $R140 on top of the main ticket, but you will love it! The adventure is catered to any age...a few steep steps to climb down to the raft. I was hoping to see a little more wildlife on the trail, we barely caught a glimpse of some monkeys.

So, will you get wet? Er...absolutely...to the bone. The raft crawls up just close enough to the smaller falls without sitting under it...several times. Wear your swim suits and enjoy.

There are lockers to put in your valuables just before you get on the raft. It only costs $R5. I took my iPhone and there are moments as you are starting out to get some good pics. I then put it in a plastic bag, then in a thick beach plastic bag, rolled that up and kept it snug under my leg - it survived.

The boat crew take pics and videos though they didn't seem that different.

Overall it was a superb adventure, a very good laugh.

Helpful?
Thank Ralcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting in the River Iguacu also viewed

 

Been to Rafting in the River Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing