We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely family home!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa do Turista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa do Turista
Ranked #29 of 89 Foz do Iguacu B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely family home!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had such a lovely stay here for 3 nights, which I think is a great amount of time to stay in Foz. The one problem was getting there in the first place - no taxis or bus drivers knew where we were headed. Get them to send you a map or written out directions in Portuguese before you go.

The room was so clean, and lovely - we stayed 4 of us together in one room. Huge TV (not that we turned it on at all :P), lovely A/C, lovely sitting room, amazing breakfast that changed everyday, great pool out back, and the friendliest hosts ever. They helped us organise a few tours and even drove us around themsleves one day! Thanks guys!! :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camotran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

It took us a while to find the place since many taxi drivers did not know where it is located; however, once you get there you feel at home. We like the fact that the area is very quiet and is relatively close to a big mall. The breakfast was fantastic. We were the only people staying at the time, but the whole table was full of great bread, fruits, juices, you name it!. The only thing that we did not like was the mattress. It seems to me that the mattress was a little old, so it was not very confortable. Not big deal though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomada40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Yuri and his family were great hosts. The house was clean and very nice. English was limited (I don't speak any spanish or portugese) but Yuri helped us out a lot. He even drove us to the bus station to buy our onward tickets when leaving. Very friendly atmosphere thanks I had a great time! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowdy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I spent 4 days at Casa do Turista in Dec 2012. Yuri, the owner, was a fantastic host. He is very knowledgeable about the different activities available in the region and was great at recommending options for each day of our time in Foz. He also helped us with booking restaurant reservations and arranging transportation everywhere we wanted to go. The breakfast served each morning was a complete spread with great fresh fruits, breads, cakes, and cured meats. Our room was well cleaned and I'd say the overall service represented amazing value for the price. I'll definitely return to Casa do Turista on my next trip out to Foz.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halaoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We used this hotel as a base for our trips to Iguacu Falls. On the first day we went to the Brazilian side of the falls, and on the second day we went to the Argentinian side of the falls. The falls are absolutely amazing, and we wouldn't have missed going to Foz for the world (quick note; if you've only got one day, go to the Argentinian side, it's miles better!) The family who own the house are very friendly and they organised the trips for us. The house is lovely with rather posh rooms and a swimming pool. We spent new year here and were invited by the family to spend the night celebrating with them - we did, and they served us some fantastic food! There is a supermarket nearby in the large shopping centre, which is quite handy for if you want to buy drinks or some general supplies. Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cellar room - right by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJudeeLevinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menton, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This family really welcomes you into their midst. Nothing is too much trouble and Yuri, the son will act as a taxi service when available. His English is limited but his suggestions and warmth are not!
If you are crossing into Paraguay his offer of driving one across the Friendship Bridge should be taken, this can be a place where belongings go 'missing' The pool was a bonus when the temperatures rose, and Papa makes a mean 'caipirinha' ! their suggestions to visit the Itaipu Dam and the wonderful Iguazu falls from both the Brazilian and Argentinian sides should be heeded.
Breakfast was a feast, lovely unusual fruit juices to us Europeans, followed by so many cakes and cheeses that space does not allow all to be described, so thanks to his mother for all her work.
Possibly the only drawback was the walk into town, but it was straightforward and one can always get a taxi back after dinner.

Grateful thanks to all the family for making our stay such a pleasure.

Room Tip: we had the room downstairs next to the swimming pool. It has its own shower room, very quiet and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peacehorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I spent two nights here, in order to go to Iguacu Falls.
The room was big (there are three beds) clean, and there was a big TV.
Moreover, the shower room was also kept clean.
Furthermore, there was great handmade breakfast!!
The staff here is very FRIENDLY.
Luri replied quickly to my questions over email before arrival, and after arrival helped me out with various things.
He helped me reach the Paraguay border cheaply, and took me to the bus terminal downtown.
Moreover, he helped me reconfirm my flight with the airline.
I can't speak Portuguese.
But his parents spoke to me eagerly in Portuguese, and welcomed me.
I wish I could understand Portuguese.
The hotel is about 30 minutes on foot from downtown.
I think that it is somewhat far.
But even thinking about it, I still recommend this strongly.
I had a really wonderful time and this is a great place.
I hope I can come back here someday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roshico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
UpFront Lodge Iguassu
UpFront Lodge Iguassu
#23 of 89 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Pousada Caroline
#10 of 89 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Pousada Do Alemao
#7 of 89 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Sonho Meu
#3 of 89 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Hotel Sarandi Foz
#37 of 89 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
La Maison Brasiliana Pousada
#27 of 89 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Turista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Turista

Property: Casa do Turista
Address: Rua Gregorio Dotto, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863-755, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa do Turista 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa do Turista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Turista Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing