We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, regular hostel”
Review of Supernova Hostel

Supernova Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Supernova Hostel
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed one night in a 12 mixed bed dorm as a solo female traveller.

The hostel is very conveniently located due to the bus line bringing you to/from the Argentine border, to/from the Iguazu waterfalls on the Brazilian side and to/from the airport.

As such the hostel is clean and well mantained. Rooms are o.k. though there are no lockers but at least some stowage. Separate bathrooms for men and women however only one toilet for each. Happy to have been there during low season (only 4/12). Otherwise do not want to imagine chaos...

Beds are rather small and thin mattresses. A/C is working well.

Breakfast (included) is very good and nice.

I did not use pool facilities so cannot comment on this.

Last but not least though I saw a cleaning lady when checking in and understand that we are in a tropical area but I would like to point out that I saw a few ants in the room. Again this may be a coincidence and I'd refer you to other reviews to get a full picture.

Overall it was a fine stay and absolutely ok for one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGirlOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

I've been there for 5 nights during the high season (January). Stayed in a room with 6 beds.

If you are young and on a budget, you probably won't bother, but this hostel didn't particularly satisfy me. It had been recently bought by new owners, so it's likely they have made changes and it could be better by now.

The beds are not very comfortable, but they are enough for a night of sleep. You just won't feel tempted to stay there. The room has a very powerful AC and it made us freeze during the hot summer nights. This wasn't an issue.

The biggest problem was the room's door, which was damaged and needed a punch to open or close. This way, during the night, you would wake up people to get in or be woken up by someone coming in.

The bathroom was inside the room and very spacious, but it wasn't very well kept, there wasn't enough towel hangers on the walls and the shower was electric (suicide shower), which I don't really appreciate. The water pressure wasn't too good either. This particular area seemed like it wasn't very clean, so I didn't feel very comfortable there, but I can cope with almost anything, More demanding guests will DEFINETLY feel discomfort in using these facilities.

The staff is great. Top notch. The receptionist, who shall remain nameless was particularly friendly and welcoming, if you catch my drift.

The area is surrounded by great local restaurants, a McDonalds and a Pizza Hut JUST ACROSS THE STREET! Perfect! There is a bus stop on the same block where you can find transportation to any of the tour sites, even to cross the border to Argentina.

Breakfast was very simple, bread, some jellies, butter, juice, ham and cheese. That's it.

Location, location, location! And staff! These are their greatest atributes.

Make sure this is what you want. I was told by the friendly and welcoming receptionist that it would be better to pay a bit more for a hotel room in one of the cheap local hotels and share the bed with my friend. She said it would be about the same cost.

And the place has a small pool, which is GREAT for you to relax and meet people when you come back from the tours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stuff is really nice and helpful and have lots of patience. Overall the place is clean, though rooms are a bit old. There's also a nice balcony to enjoy a meal and the kitchen is equipepd well.
LOCATION - Great! This is really important cause all the bussed you'll need stop right outside the hostel (buss to the falls, to the dam, to the airport and to the main bus terminal).
Also, there's a Pizza Hut in front of the hostel and huge supermarket one block away.
Considering all of the above, I would recommend this place.
Just to mention - They let us use the shower half a day after we've checked out, without any problem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I really likes the paintings on the walls. The service was quite good. there is a playroom on the basement where you can play pool or listen to the music. at the time i was there the swimming pool wasn't very clean (july), anyway it was raining the half days.. Low price for accommodation. the ws also wasn't as clean as i wanted. nice experience at all1

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I checked in a bit early after San overnight bus trip.' Zainah' at reception was very welcoming gave me all the information I needed. This hostel is ideally located for the airport and the falls (bus120) you don't need a taxi.The hostel is also right next to bus stop for going into Argentina.
The place was clean ,with hot water. There was a homely feeling to the place .However the place needs renovation to wall and ceiling

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madhumbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Supernova hostel has a great location, just next to the bus stop to the waterfalls and the airport, plus there are nice restaurants and supermarkets around.
Rooms were very old, with bad bed linen. I know they're under renewal, so it will probably get better. Overall, the place was very quiet, you can enjoy a restful staying over there.
Breakfast was fine, enough variety, and staff was very kind and with a good level of English.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

After getting off an overnight bus we arrived at the hostel at 11am, check in is later but they didnt mind and led us to our room, a god send! the staff are really helpful! and very friendly! centrally located, and clean! kitchen is big and has everything you need! we were only going to stay 2 nights then cross the border and stay somewhere in argentina, but we loved the place so much we stayed for the duration of our time at both sides of the border at Supernova. :)
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Green House Hostel
Green House Hostel
#4 of 112 in Foz do Iguacu
380 reviews
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
#1 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mabu Thermas Grand Resort
#25 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
3,175 reviews
Maria Ricca Palace Hotel
#46 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
433 reviews
Hostel Paudimar Campestre
#10 of 112 in Foz do Iguacu
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Supernova Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Supernova Hostel

Address: Rua Santos Dumont 350, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Supernova Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Supernova Hostel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing