We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect help from Graciela”
Review of Green House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. It was the first time my wife had stayed in a hostel. It was easily arranged be email with all questions answered quickly and well. We had an airport pick up and as we were only there a short time they sorted out the trips to the falls on both sides and return to the airport. Probably the most helpful place I've stayed. Laundry was sorted, breakfast was good, room was good ( slightly noisy plumbing but otherwise spot on!)
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 380 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here in a double room with my boyfriend and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had our own little bathroom. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and speak English as well.

The hostel is really well located - just a 5 minute walk from bus line 120 which will take you directly to the airport and the Brazilian side of the falls. From the same bus stop you can catch a bus to the Puerto Iguazu in Argentina. The hostel is about a five minute walk from a big supermarket and there are two kitchens at the hostel which are reasonably well equipped. They have a laundry service that costs $R8 per kilo which is a little pricey but you get your clothes back within 24 hours.

Breakfast was reasonable and the coffee was good and strong! The only downside was that there wasn't much hot water, but this seems to be pretty common in South America.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Perfect hostel for a trip to Iguacu Falls! A very friendly welcome from the owner who continued to give great help and advice throughout the stay. Easy to find and good location for access to the Brazilian side of the falls. Also have a information desk for tours to the Argentinian side which are very easy to organise and a good way to cross the borders.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

i had really hard time looking for a hostel in Foz Do Iguacu before i arrived. green house hostel is the only one who gave me confidence to stay via email because i always had my questions answered in emails. this's the plus.

customer service here is good. i got my iguazu Argentina tour and paper work arranged right at the hostel.

getting here by bus from the airport should be easy if you follow the instruction from the hostel if you don't miss the stop. the hostel is located in an area with a mix of residential and business properties. not a pleasure place to walk around.

security is another plus here. staffs always check the monitor and see who ring the bell before opening the gate. if you have no Reals handy, you can pay for your stays in US based on the exchange rate of the day. yes, the area overall is clean and tidy. there're things broken and not working. light switch on the hallway is broken. the shower head in one of the sharing bathrooms is splashing water. electrical outlets on the wall are broken. no hand soap liquid, only hand soap bar. no bed covers.

the hostel here is close to the major bus stop going to iguac falls. another proximity here is the supermarket where you can buy your bread, snacks and drinks for your day trips. it also has brazilian buffet for your lunch and dinner. this's a nice place to visit to watch the daily life in town. the drawback here is it's not close to the main street and decent restaurants.

Room Tip: a 8-bed dorm room is the cheaper option here. the area might be too compact if the room is fully occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenHouse41, Gerente at Green House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Dear guest,
Thanks for your comment and confidence. We apologize for the little notes you mentioned and we`d like to say they helped us to improve our place. It`s important to highlight there are a lot of restaurants near the supermarket and we are located one block from the main street and 3 blocks from the supermarket.
Thanks a lot for your visit.
Green House team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great hostel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fast internet, decent breakfast. Close to the bus to the falls and bird park but not a lot around the hostel in the immediate area in terms of restaurants and bars

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Every element of this lovely hostel is fantastic! Clean room with reasonable price, beautiful bathroom, cozy patio and the poolside, beautiful yard with all-you-can-eat herbs, and Grasiela. I regard this hostel as one of my favorite in this world. Will definitely return! Love you Gras!

Room Tip: Try to get private room if traveling in more than 1 person
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hew55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We loved our time at the Green House. The tropical garden and pool are lovely, and the upstairs balcony is great. Our double room was large and comfortable, and the kitchen is well equipped too.

But most importantly, the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. They really helped us plan our time there, and we genuinely enjoyed talking to them. You can tell that Grasiela is an owner who cares about every detail.

We would definitely return to the Green House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamminb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Maria Ricca Palace Hotel
#46 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
433 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,872 reviews
Hotel Villa Canoas
#15 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#40 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,277 reviews
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#17 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,458 reviews
Luz Hotel
#27 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Hostel

Address: Edmundo de Barros Street, 1130 | Downtown, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85852-170, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $14 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Green House is a cozy place to stay, where guests feel like their home, even when they are away from home; It is located close to the bus stop to the Iguassu Falls and all the attractions at the triple border, supermarket, bars and restaurants. We are concerned about the environment therefore we care about green policy, so we have a recycling program, vegetable garden, and we like to spread out the idea of reuse, recycle and thinking green. There are dormitories and private rooms with air-conditioning and bathroom; they are merged with a lovely garden, balcony, pool and other external areas that combine the comfort of a house and nature, in the city center. Hostel Green House offers breakfast, kitchen, wi-fi, TV room, games room with ping-pong and pool table, garage, laundry, daily cleaning, barbecue place, and a bar among the garden where drinks and tasty pizza are served. A perfect choice for your stay in Foz do Iguacu to stroll, relax and have fun after visiting one of the seven wonder of the world, the Iguacu Falls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Green House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hostel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing