We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here, many reasons...”
Review of Green House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We probably had a terrible luck, but I have to say Evade this place.
They had no internet or wifi, so they didn't had our booking. Apparently they don't have internet at home or on the phones or internet cafes. The receptionist didn't share Any information about the hostel or town. We stayed in a double room, next door. We access trough a little door on the backyard. The Room was just ok. Noisy A/C, few bugs, they forget toilet paper & one sheet from our bed. It was a shame that it was next to the parking area so we hear cars often & there where workers on our Roof everyday starting at 7AM! so we had really early mornings. You have to rent towels just 3Reals but we get old see-through towel! Breakfast was quite poor for brazil & one day was nothing at 9:30am (30' before it finish). The house was big & green, with a big swiming pool, it's a shame that the water was quite dirty. But all this can be not really important if the place had a nice staff. well, they don't. The morning receptionist aparently had a bad day everyday. Didn't help with any information & coz it was no internet she recommend google stuff at the internet cafe (10blocks). it was also a internet games place. Her most common answer was "I don't have that information" (!)
the location on some internet booking sites was wrong, we just realize once there, too bad.
The owner was smiling & happy but when you know that all the bad sides are her fault... well, it feels all fake...
It is a shame because the city is great, the hostel is a bit far from everything (except a big supermarket) & the house is big & cozy.
we where not happy at all & hope our experience help some further travelers to choose better.

Room Tip: be sure you are Not staying on the next door place. IT's terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vrinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenHouse41, Proprietário at Green House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenient you related during you stay. We have discussed all the points you mentioned on the review with all the staff members, especially with the morning receptionist, which is in charge for the breakfast and the morning shift.
We are improving our service day by day. We care very much about guests’ comfort, quality, cleaning, organization, details in general and good quality sleep. We are going to be more carefully about little things. Regarding the swimming pool it is treated every day and cleaned every other day.
The location announced in the websites is from Google website.
I would like to invite you back to the Hostel Green House in order to revert this bad impression you had during your stay.
Sincerely,
Grasiela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 378 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

No doubt ...Green
we had a lovely 03 night stay in this place, we were picked up ar 1.30 am from the airport without any problems.A very homely place, the owners as well as the staff made you feel at home, not a hotel but a hostel. We were made to feel quite comfortable, and also given good guidance on how we could do the tours.
Good breakfast with lovely guava jam, juice , great local bread even fruit included,freshly made cake was just out of the world..the location is central too, very close to a supermarket which has a great restaurant , open buffet where you pay by what you eat , i mean by weight.
The Hostel is 100mts away from the bus stop , you take this bus and it takes you straight to the Brazil side of the waterfall area,next is the Bird park too.
One big draw back is that the room which should be for four pax with one bunk and 02 singles , is for 06 pax 02 bunks and 02 singles, which is so crowded , we were 04 pax in this room with no space for bags, neither a table nor a chair, nor space to even hang towels leave aside clothes, the two single beds were more like a double, touching each other, but the bathroom was spacious and clean and a lot of space for toiletteries.
We could not imagine the state if all six beds had to be occupied in this room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed one night at this hostel, we had not booked but the welcome was warm and helpful. Once in our room we had to ask for the key and toilet roll and there was no remote for the air conditioning so we had to stand on a stool to operate it. The breakfast was very poor most of it gone when we reached the kitchen. The staff were friendly and very helpful, it was clean but too many rules and regulations on the walls. Almost there but not quite,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenHouse41, Gerente at Green House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2015

Dear guest,
we appreciate your comment. We want everybody has a very nice stay here. We apologize for the little incoveniences you had and your comment helped us to improve our service.
Green House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a lovely little place to stay: clean and cosy, comfortable beds and several sitting areas. It's close to a big cheap supermarket. Buses to all directions are nearby.
Grasiela the owner, had promptly answered several questions before we arrived. She was very welcoming and also provided local information when we got there.
On our first night, it was bucketing with rain but it didn't matter - we sat at the big wooden table in the under cover BBQ area sipping wine and sharing stories and food with people of all ages from around the world.

Room Tip: The double room outside the main house, near the BBQ area is cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerriK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Grasiela, the owner is super nice and helpful! The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. The house has many areas to sit, upstairs patio, poolside, lobby area with huge flat screen and lots of movies. Grocery store, restaurants, and bus stop all in a short walking distance. With Grasiela's help we were able to see all the attractions via local buses, very inexpensive and super convenient. Excellent breakfast every morning with fresh baked cakes. I can only compare it to the previous 200 hostels I have stayed at in the last year I that I have traveled and for me it rates with the best of them. The location was in a neighborhood, but in 4 days of experiencing Foz, I really did not see a 'central type' of location that would have been better. If you can get a room here, it is where you want to stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Manzo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

An excellent hostel. The place has numerous places to hang out and chill. It is kept very clean. The owner Grasiela is very friendly and helpful with providing information on things to do. It is right around the corner from a supermarket, atm and nightlife. There was even a garage to park my motorcycle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troyfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were there with my family for three days, it was a great stay. Graciela is gracious and helpful. It was our first time in a hostel as a family and I enjoy the atmosphere, the garden and the company of the other guests. We also a great laundry service that Graciela arranged for us (even if you can do your own laundry on the premises), and a great cab driver that took us around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeroTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Maria Ricca Palace Hotel
#46 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
433 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,774 reviews
Hotel Villa Canoas
#15 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#17 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,451 reviews
Hotel Colonial Iguacu
#41 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,267 reviews
San Rafael Hotel
#22 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Hostel

Address: Edmundo de Barros Street, 1130 | Downtown, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85852-170, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $13 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Green House is a cozy place to stay, where guests feel like their home, even when they are away from home; It is located close to the bus stop to the Iguassu Falls and all the attractions at the triple border, supermarket, bars and restaurants. We are concerned about the environment therefore we care about green policy, so we have a recycling program, vegetable garden, and we like to spread out the idea of reuse, recycle and thinking green. There are dormitories and private rooms with air-conditioning and bathroom; they are merged with a lovely garden, balcony, pool and other external areas that combine the comfort of a house and nature, in the city center. Hostel Green House offers breakfast, kitchen, wi-fi, TV room, games room with ping-pong and pool table, garage, laundry, daily cleaning, barbecue place, and a bar among the garden where drinks and tasty pizza are served. A perfect choice for your stay in Foz do Iguacu to stroll, relax and have fun after visiting one of the seven wonder of the world, the Iguacu Falls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Green House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hostel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing