We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no doubt!!!!!!green”
Review of Green House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Goa, India
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“no doubt!!!!!!green”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

No doubt ...Green
we had a lovely 03 night stay in this place, we were picked up ar 1.30 am from the airport without any problems.A very homely place, the owners as well as the staff made you feel at home, not a hotel but a hostel. We were made to feel quite comfortable, and also given good guidance on how we could do the tours.
Good breakfast with lovely guava jam, juice , great local bread even fruit included,freshly made cake was just out of the world..the location is central too, very close to a supermarket which has a great restaurant , open buffet where you pay by what you eat , i mean by weight.
The Hostel is 100mts away from the bus stop , you take this bus and it takes you straight to the Brazil side of the waterfall area,next is the Bird park too.
One big draw back is that the room which should be for four pax with one bunk and 02 singles , is for 06 pax 02 bunks and 02 singles, which is so crowded , we were 04 pax in this room with no space for bags, neither a table nor a chair, nor space to even hang towels leave aside clothes, the two single beds were more like a double, touching each other, but the bathroom was spacious and clean and a lot of space for toiletteries.
We could not imagine the state if all six beds had to be occupied in this room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    67
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
28
51
112
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed one night at this hostel, we had not booked but the welcome was warm and helpful. Once in our room we had to ask for the key and toilet roll and there was no remote for the air conditioning so we had to stand on a stool to operate it. The breakfast was very poor most of it gone when we reached the kitchen. The staff were friendly and very helpful, it was clean but too many rules and regulations on the walls. Almost there but not quite,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenHouse41, Gerente at Green House Hostel, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
Dear guest,
we appreciate your comment. We want everybody has a very nice stay here. We apologize for the little incoveniences you had and your comment helped us to improve our service.
Green House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a lovely little place to stay: clean and cosy, comfortable beds and several sitting areas. It's close to a big cheap supermarket. Buses to all directions are nearby.
Grasiela the owner, had promptly answered several questions before we arrived. She was very welcoming and also provided local information when we got there.
On our first night, it was bucketing with rain but it didn't matter - we sat at the big wooden table in the under cover BBQ area sipping wine and sharing stories and food with people of all ages from around the world.

Room Tip: The double room outside the main house, near the BBQ area is cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerriK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Grasiela, the owner is super nice and helpful! The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. The house has many areas to sit, upstairs patio, poolside, lobby area with huge flat screen and lots of movies. Grocery store, restaurants, and bus stop all in a short walking distance. With Grasiela's help we were able to see all the attractions via local buses, very inexpensive and super convenient. Excellent breakfast every morning with fresh baked cakes. I can only compare it to the previous 200 hostels I have stayed at in the last year I that I have traveled and for me it rates with the best of them. The location was in a neighborhood, but in 4 days of experiencing Foz, I really did not see a 'central type' of location that would have been better. If you can get a room here, it is where you want to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Manzo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

An excellent hostel. The place has numerous places to hang out and chill. It is kept very clean. The owner Grasiela is very friendly and helpful with providing information on things to do. It is right around the corner from a supermarket, atm and nightlife. There was even a garage to park my motorcycle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troyfromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were there with my family for three days, it was a great stay. Graciela is gracious and helpful. It was our first time in a hostel as a family and I enjoy the atmosphere, the garden and the company of the other guests. We also a great laundry service that Graciela arranged for us (even if you can do your own laundry on the premises), and a great cab driver that took us around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeroTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I arrived around 2AM of the 13th August 2012 (which was still considered as part of the 12th August), didnt book in advance for that date. I only booked for the 13th. Anyway, rather confusing but when I arrived unexpectedly, I was welcomed and was accommodated right away. I stayed in the same room with Grasiela. The next night I was supposed to move to the 4 bed dorm but Grasiela told me to stay in the same room as it was a hassle to move back and fourth, which I thought was very nice of her. She was very kind and AMAZING! Everyone was nice actually and were all very welcoming! Felt just like home really.

The hostel is walking distance to the bus stop, which takes you to the falls (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay). I would recommend this hostel for tourists travelling to Brazil for the Falls! Don't think twice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine_McAlpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,564 reviews
Maria Ricca Palace Hotel
#44 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#15 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,306 reviews
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,399 reviews
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#8 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Hostel

Property: Green House Hostel
Address: Edmundo de Barros Street, 1130 | Downtown, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85852-170, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Green House is a cozy place to stay, where guests feel like their home, even when they are away from home; It is located close to the bus stop to the Iguassu Falls and all the attractions at the triple border, supermarket, bars and restaurants. We are concerned about the environment therefore we care about green policy, so we have a recycling program, vegetable garden, and we like to spread out the idea of reuse, recycle and thinking green. There are dormitories and private rooms with air-conditioning and bathroom; they are merged with a lovely garden, balcony, pool and other external areas that combine the comfort of a house and nature, in the city center. Hostel Green House offers breakfast, kitchen, wi-fi, TV room, games room with ping-pong and pool table, garage, laundry, daily cleaning, barbecue place, and a bar among the garden where drinks and tasty pizza are served. A perfect choice for your stay in Foz do Iguacu to stroll, relax and have fun after visiting one of the seven wonder of the world, the Iguacu Falls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Green House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hostel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing