We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting, smelly room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lanville Athenee
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Wicklow
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disgusting, smelly room”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Distinct smell of mould upon entering the room. Sheets smelled disgusting. Hole in the wall all around the air conditioner, which let bugs in and we found a huge cockroach in the bath on day two. Dead cockroach outside the room on day three. Hung something out on the balcony to dry and when we returned it was hanging in the wardrobe, which smelled absolutely disgusting.
Staff not at all friendly. Asked them to recommend where we could go for a drink one evening and they suggested we sit in the reception and have a drink. When we said we wanted to go out somewhere, they suggested the supermarket down the road!
The only redeeming thing was the food, which was good enough standard and all you can eat.
Swimming pool was under renovation at the time so we didn't experience that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgergirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthurBorges, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Lanville Athenee, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your comment, it's very good that you express your opinion so we can see what we're going wrong and improve. Hotel Lanville We're already renovating our whole structure so that you have a better stay at our hotel, our employees now are being better trained.
  We apologize for the inconvenience.
Regards Team Hotel Lanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    72
    89
    41
    38
See reviews for
103
82
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We turned up at this place expecting the worse after seeing the other reviews however we were pleasantly suprised at what we found. Here's a quick review to give this hotel a bit of a fair representation.

First off the bad points... this place isnt modern and needs a serious refurb. Its also a bit behind the times when it comes to connectivity (i.e. you have to pay for Wifi and internet terminals).

However, we got rooms on the 7th floor which were spacious, comfortable, quiet and very reasonably priced for Iguacu. It had everything we needed for a 2 night stay whilst exploring the falls including a good breakfast and, most of all, was directly opposite a bus stop for both the Brazilian & Argentinian sides of the falls. It even had a large swimming pool to our suprise. The best thing about this place though was the staff we encountered (Graca & Diana) who did absolutely everything they could to ensure that our stay was a good one (even arranging onward transport after their in-hotel travel rep, Elton, let us down badly by not turning up as arranged).

If your looking for a decent place to lay your head for a couple of nights at a good price and arent bothered that the hotel looks like it is stuck in the 70's then its definitely worth a shot.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl_Munro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArthurBorges, Gerente de relações com clientes at Hotel Lanville Athenee, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your comment.
We are very happy to know that you liked our Hotel!
We hope to see you here soon!
Regards Team Hotel Lanville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This hotel was a very big deception. Nthing to do with do with the photos in internet when we book it. The A/C was obsolet, very old and noisy. The room smelled very bad and the sheets where dirty. We had two rooms for 5 people and the both of us had to ask the reception to change the room. The swiming pool was very dirty, every day with more peaces of hair and another human organic disposals, it was creepy...
The only thing that was not bad (but not even good), I could say acceptable, was the food.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luigimanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Foz do Iguacu hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We arrived on an evening around 8pm and got a room without a double bed, me and my girlfriend had to sleep in separate beds, but the staff was going to give us another room the next day, so they said. The beds had really old and extremely thin mattresses, but if that wasn't enough, the (single glass) windows didn't close properly and since we had a streetside room this meant that we were forced to "enjoy" all the sounds of one of the busiest streets in a big brazilian city. When we demanded a new room the next morning they wouldn't give us one. The attitude the staff displayed was enough to make you go mad of despair, they just didn't give a @#$!
Anyway, when we returned from a lovely day at the waterfalls on the second day we discovered we had some pets, yep cockroaches! 3 big ones...
We went to the reception again, but again a steel face with no emotion, they didn't even bother to come up with us to check the room.
When on the 4th and last day we were also denied to take our bags (containing all our documents) into the restaurant we gave up and decided never to return to this place again and to make sure that nobody else will as well.
Please don't go here!!!! There are so many other much lovelier places in the vicinity. I just wish we knew before we arrived. I hope this will help anyone to make a better choice than we did.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsurfdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Iguacu Plaza Hotel
#74 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
City Center
Villa Iguacu Palace Hotel
Villa Iguacu Palace Hotel
#59 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Samba Foz do Iguassu
#60 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lider Palace Hotel
#56 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Hotel Flor Foz
#24 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Hotel Ambassador
#70 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lanville Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lanville Athenee

Property: Hotel Lanville Athenee
Address: Avenida Jorge Schimmelpfeng 827, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lanville Athenee 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lanville Athenee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lanville Athenee Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing