We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best choices”
Review of Marica B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marica B&B
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“one of the best choices”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

we stayed at many "pousada"s during our three months trip in brasil and marica's b&b was by far the best deal: clean, neat rooms with silent ac for a very reasonable price! and as an extra the breakfast was delightful. marica helped us with everything (taxi, finding a good dinner place) in her charming and friendly manner. i highly recommend a stay at her place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 04skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    69
    13
    3
    9
See reviews for
62
147
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed with Maria for 3 nights as a family of 4. Our 2 interconnected rooms with private bathroom were perfect for a family and very comfortable. Maria was a wonderful host - she organised a driver to fetch us from the airport at 1.30am and was there to greet us on arrival. She also gave us all the information we needed for getting to the falls and the Argentinian side and even when she was battling a flash flood in the garden cheerfully arranged taxis and hot coffee. Breakfasts were fabulous with a great range of delicious food. There was construction happening while we were there but it did not disturb us as we were out all day and once it is finished it will be even better. It was a wonderful warm introduction to Brazil - thank you Maria

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmm_Where_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I am a long time user of Tripadvisor , and I have to say it is the biggest Flop I had using Tripadvisoe recommendations. I thought we were one pf those cases in which even the best place can have. But No ! As an engineer , I should have suspected reviews which have a distribution of : 98 Excellent VS 10 Poor and Terrible. What makes things even worse is that we travelled with another couple who suffered from my mistake since I was charge of the trip reservations. I decided to check the issue thoroughly when I will get back home. To my great surprize I found that we suffered from the same repeting problems as other reviewers who gave poor marks (please press 'Poor' & 'Terrible' on the reviews distribution bar chart ).
It all started when we arrived to the BB and it was all dark with nobody there. We tried calling the number indicated on the 'Booking.com' vauchure and got no response. The same as another reviewer , after knoking 15 minutes on the doors , we asked the taxi driver (it was 2100 with heavy rain) to try and find us another hotel. It was a holiday in Brasil and after checking about 8 hotels and BBs we were almost desperate. At last one reception staff who were so ashamed of that , made an effort and found Maria's cellular number telling her to return to her BB. We drove back to the BB , and this lady did not make any appology but rather had the guts blaming us for informing late arrival ( which we did) , but appearing earlier than expected..( the flight was changed as often happens). It was 2230 , wet and cold - but of coarse no hot tea or coffee was offered. As written in another review we suffered from construction noises and smells. We got two rooms that were probably good for a family but not for two couples ( they were connected - so if you wanted to go out from your room it was only through the other couple's room..) Taxi drivers issue was also existing as mentioned by other reviewes so I will not repeat it. It seems that The biggest problem is owner character (she repeates with her behavior even after those reviews). Another big problem is that the facilities are left with nobody in charge if Maria is not there. So if you have any problem (and we had some..) - no one can help you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shloime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay with Maria after reading the reviews and looking at the pics on her site.
We were really disappointed on arrival. We arranged for her driver to collect us from the airport when we landed at midnight. Our flight was delayed so he decided to just leave us there to find our own way. as it happened it was cheaper to get a taxi at the airport than use her driver.....
When we finally arrived at the b&b she showed us our room and asked us what time we would like breakfast as we arrived late. We said 9:30.
the next morning we were woken at 8am by drilling behind our head!! We finally got our of bed with head aches and found the whole place to be a building site. the lovely garden and swimming pool was completely out of bounds and half dug up. The builders continued to make loads of noise while we ate our breakfast.
I understand that she is trying to get her building work finished up and she apologised it had over run. However when running a b&b your guest go out all day so at least let them eat in peace and don't let your building fit a kitchen behind their heads at 8 am when they arrived at 2am!!!
the rooms themselves are nice, we had the smallest, some of the others where very big. It was clean and comfortable and everyone staying was very nice.
We used Marias services to get to the argentinian side of the falls which really saved us a lot of hassle.

The b&b is lovely, I can see why there are so many good reviews.
Unfortunately we were very unlucky and would expect to be warned of works such as these going on when you are staying, or at least some kind of discount offer as the facilities advertised were not available to us..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsty_Rutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to visit the Brazilian side of the falls. We got a comfortable room. Nothing special, but a good room compared to the price. The breakfast was wonderful. But the best thing about this B&B is Maria. A friendly woman who will help you with everything. She even organized a taxi for us to visit the Argentinian side off the falls together with another couple. She asked the taxi to stop at our Argentinian hotel for the next night to drop our bags. This saved us a lot of time.

The B&B is located a bit outside the center of the village. But the bus is nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I am writing this review late, but definitely have not forgotten about my stay at Marica B&B. Stayed for 4 days and 3 nights. The rooms were lovely. For 3 nights we were able to stay in the family room with a private bathroom and balcony. The room was absolutely gorgeous, and having a balcony was a plus! Maria’s backyard is beautiful, and has a pool as well so the view from the balcony was gorgeous. The other rooms are beautiful, but the only downside is you have to share a bathroom.

Maria is very welcoming and a great host. I had to work while I visited Foz do Iguacu, and she was kind enough to let me connect my IP phone directly to her internet connection so I could continue to make my business calls on an 8am-5pm work schedule. Since the internet connection is located by the breakfast area (public area), she set up a table just for my telephone, and allowed me to use her breakfast table to work. On top of that, she prepared us Caiprinhas to enjoy with her!

Maria provides a delicious breakfast daily, and I do have to say she makes some of the best coffee I have ever tasted!

The location is spectacular. I had my own car, which she let us park in her garage, so I did not have to worry about arranging transportation through the city, although I know she does offer that service. Marica B&B is close to a shopping mall, and nice local bars in driving distance. It is also not that far from the Iguazu Falls!

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, and would definitely stay there again! Thank you Maria for the wonderful stay! We could not have asked for better! ☺

Room Tip: Try to get the family room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our four nights in Marica B&B were excellent. Maria was very helpful and organised our trip to the Iguacu Falls in Argentina, which saved so much time and hassle crossing the border. Breakfasts were excellent. Bus stop a few minutes walk away takes you to all major sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Iguassu Express Hotel
#39 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
766 reviews
Hotel Villa Canoas
#12 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Bogari Hotel
Bogari Hotel
#3 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,525 reviews
Foz Presidente Comfort
#22 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
455 reviews
Luz Hotel
#27 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marica B&B

Property: Marica B&B
Address: Rua Gregorio Dotto 118, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863-755, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#9 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marica B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maioson Marica B & B is a two-storey villa situated in residential area near a forest reserve near the central city. With independent entrance, you can return at any time of day or night. The house, with separate entrance on the 1st floor is elegantly furnished and equipped with 3 large double rooms with possibility of extra bed. Some rooms have private bathrooms.The ground floor is the garden with swimming pool, TV room, large veranda, barbecue etc.. A space of relaxation, fun and prosperity.There are services in common use for the comfort and guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marica Bed And Breakfast
Marica Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Marica B&B Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing