We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok. Not helped by Marica being away”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Marica B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marica B&B
Ranked #37 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok. Not helped by Marica being away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked this B&B hoping to benefit from the local knowledge and hospitality of staying in a smaller place. We arrived to find Marica away (not her fault as she was visiting family), however, we did struggle to communicate with our host, Tatiane. Tatiane was lovely, but we were very dependant on Google Translate to converse.

The B&B is a little walk away from the town centre, in a very nice, safe neighborhood. However, not having basic things like drinking water available is a definite negative. After travelling for several hours to get here, we had to go straight back out to find some water etc. A friend of Tatiane's very kindly drove us to the shopping centre.

The much documented Roberto did a great job of taking us to and from the falls each day, however, on our first day he just assumed we'd want to join up with another group to visit the Brazil side (which we didn't) meaning we arrived quite late to the Argentina side. Perhaps if Marica had been here the communication would have been better. It also feels like there are limited other options than Roberto for transport.

The B&B is very clean and basic, and the bathrooms are shared. Breakfast was very average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    67
    13
    3
    9
See reviews for
58
144
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I chose Marica B&B based on the precious reviews. My experience in this early September was perfect. The hostel was clean; the host Tatiane (Marica was traveling when I visit in this early September) was very friendly though we need to communicate via Google Translate. The communication worked well. The breakfast was super good. Tatiane was always smiling and trying her best to welcome me and host me. The bed was so comfortable and clean that I slept like a baby.

Furthermore, I had a tight schedule, arrving at noon and leaving next afternoon. Just one night stay in Iguacu. So Marica referred Roberto to me to be my travel guide and driver. Roberto was great and professional. He arranged my schedules perfectly, afternoon trip to Iguacu Falls (boat trip and bus trip), great dinner at Bufalo Brango( a barbecue house), the next morning to Itaipu Dam and Bird park. In this short time, I experienced the essence of Iguacu. I also got to know more about Iguacu's history, economic development and culture with the communication with Roberto. He was also always smiling and helpful.

in a word, I definitely will recommend Marica B&B and Roberto to my friends and family members.
Iguacu is also a good place to visit again. Actually i met several Brazilians from Rio to visit Iguacu Falls second time during my trip.

Room Tip: I like my room--Ocean very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WonderingN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Had just one day to spend at the falls and needed a place to stay for the night. Marica's worked out perfectly. The room was very clean and comfortable and the hospitality and morning breakfast were great. Maria arranged a driver for us (Ricardo) who I would highly recommend to anyone going to the falls. Great trip for us overall... Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joejoe07828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Marica B&B in August 2011 for three nights as part of our fortnight in Brazil. We all stayed in one room with en-suite, my husband, teenage daughter & I, and we enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable with plenty of room for three and the bathroom was nice.

We spent two days seeing the Falls on both the Brazilian & Argentinean side courtesy of Maria’s friend Roberto, and yes, it is expensive but useful & convenient if you don’t speak much Portuguese & want to get around quickly & easily. Also he got us through the border checkpoints quickly & without fuss.
Some reviewers on this site have complained that Maria has an arrangement with Roberto that costs more than other taxis: I don’t know about that, but Roberto is trustworthy, safe & punctual and Maria is running a business not a charity. It’s quite usual for big hotels to have tame taxi drivers too.

Roberto took us to the Bird Park & the Brazilian Falls on the first day and to the Argentinean side the second. Iguaçu Falls is the most breathtaking & beautiful place I’ve ever been to. The Falls were in spate while we were there & the sheer volume of water running over the Falls every moment was spectacular. You have to see the Falls from both sides: you see more of them from Brazil but get closer to them in Argentina, and they're stunning!

On our third day we decided to explore the town by ourselves; there’s a bus stop about 5mins away. Buses are very cheap & excellent value, also easy to find the one you want to get around the town & various attractions. Although we don’t speak Portuguese, it’s quite empowering to find your own way around in a foreign country & it’s not so scary once you try. We took a bus back to the Falls to take a helicopter ride (expensive but a must) and on the last morning, we made our own way to the airport by bus, easy even with all our luggage.

Maria’s B&B is quite hard to find, fortunately our taxi driver from the coach station spoke Spanish & a little German (my daughter speaks a little Spanish & my husband & I speak a little French & German) and we were able to get Maria on the phone to direct him in. Checking in & out were at convenient times, and communications via email with Maria before the holiday, & arranging payment, were both friendly & easy.

We had one minor problem during our stay when we managed to lock our valuables inside a bedroom cupboard that had the wrong key, but Maria was able to call a local man to get the lock off & repair the lock afterwards, and although she was obviously upset & worried about her cupboard, she was always polite.

Breakfasts were good & there was plenty of food available, cakes, juices & tea/coffee. Two evenings we walked down to the local shopping centre to eat out (we found a marvellous place where you load your plate from the buffet & pay according to the weight of the plate). There are also some good shops there so you can stock up on things like toiletries, snacks, power adapters, corkscrews etc. I did wonder about the safety of walking down there after dark, but in fact many families seem to walk out at that time, perhaps to take the air, and some people even use the public exercise machines that line part of the route on one side of the wide road. We didn’t meet with any trouble.
On the third night Maria kindly phoned a local pizza place & we had pizzas delivered to eat in.

We had a wonderful time in Foz and are hoping to go back in 2013 or the year after, and we’ll certainly consider staying with Maria again.

Room Tip: Our oom had plenty of room for three & an en-suite bathroom, other rooms have to share a bathrro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Thank you to the very professional and welcoming host Maria who made our three day stay very pleasant and enjoying. We stayed in a bedroom facing the street, which was very quiet. Our room had A/C, very comfy bed and pillows and a flat screen TV. Though we did have to share bathroom with another couple, the amenities were always clean. Don't hesitate to ask for information about places to visit or how to get there. Maria did provide all information and more. She asked her neighbor to drive us to Itaipu and the Brazilian side of the falls all at 1/4 of the price that the tours charge. The B&B is located not far from a shopping mall where we ate dinner and even did some grocery shopping. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms are good sleep wise. But if I had to do it again, probably would select the room with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed with Maria two nights. The room (Lavender) was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with fruits, toast cereal and coffee was perfect. All around service top class. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Maria is very nice and our room was very clean. However, it was incredibly noisy and we were on the second floor! An issue we had was a tour Maria recommended. We joined a group arranged by her to the Argentina side of the falls, and the price they charged us was different than what she told us. She apologized for the error but we were still forced to fork over the extra r$40!!!

Breakfast was decent, but location is isolated.... The only way to get to and from anywhere is an overpriced taxi or walking which is dangerous after 9 pm.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aog5003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Hotel Rouver
#36 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Luz Hotel
#27 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
City Center
Bogari Hotel
Bogari Hotel
#3 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Juan Tour
#22 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Cataratas Park Hotel
#51 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marica B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marica B&B

Property: Marica B&B
Address: Rua Gregorio Dotto 118, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85863-755, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#9 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marica B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maioson Marica B & B is a two-storey villa situated in residential area near a forest reserve near the central city. With independent entrance, you can return at any time of day or night. The house, with separate entrance on the 1st floor is elegantly furnished and equipped with 3 large double rooms with possibility of extra bed. Some rooms have private bathrooms.The ground floor is the garden with swimming pool, TV room, large veranda, barbecue etc.. A space of relaxation, fun and prosperity.There are services in common use for the comfort and guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marica B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marica Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Marica Bed And Breakfast
Marica B&B Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing