We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy 3 but just not quite a 4... good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viale Cataratas Hotel
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Reviewed July 19, 2012

very decent hotel, its pretty big with a modern feel. spacious rooms which were clean and tidy.
its in a good location to visit the falls which is a taxi ride away. not much around apart from other hotels. a good place to stay for a couple of days to see the falls which were amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompkinscop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here last week for 2 nights. It was the most modern hotel I stayed at on my trip to Brazil and the first place I stayed at that offered bacon at breakfast so I knew at that point I was in a more international location. The hotel is a short drive away from the Park entrance for the Falls and not too bad of a ride to the city center to go out for dinner. The hotel was clean although there was one roach in our room when we got there. We were facing the back side of the hotel so there wasn't any noise and the hotel was pretty empty but they did say three times the amount of people were expected for the following week as people down there are on winter vacation. The hotel had a nice small gym and also games like ping pong, pool and foosball that we used since there is no where to go in the area. There is also a communal TV in the lobby with big leather couches that some people congregate at to watch soccer. Everything was reasonably priced for drinks and food as we did go to the bar and ordered room service once. There was also some English channels on the televisions in the rooms. The beds are a bit noisy just by turning over and a bit hard, you also only get 1 pillow. For the cost I would stay here again but if you want luxury I would look elsewhere. The staff was all really nice and helpful with letting us check out a little later. My friends also got their laundry done by them and done in a 12hour turnover. The wifi connection wasn't good from what my friends said but I used the business center that was a lot easier.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time4avacation30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to see the falls. Its a cab ride away from downtown and there isn't anything to do in walking distance. The beds were comfortable but the rooms facing the highway can be noisy all through the night; we had some trouble sleeping through the night with all the traffic. We also noticed alot of sugar ants in the bathroom; they didn't really bother us and they are too small to really bite with effect but still they were there. The restaurant was very good for both lunch and dinner. The breakfast buffet was ok but the cereals were all stale. This hotel was part of a tour package so we didn't have a choice in picking it but even these things wouldn't make me not want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Not so far from the city, on the way to the falls, Rafain churrascaria show is right in front of it and for not much you can go and dine at the superior restaurants of the Argentinian side (Puerto Iguazu). Decent breakfast included. Yeah, Internet connectivity is charged separately but it's ok since you will not need much because you're away most of the time sightseeing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank estusal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Iguassu Falls. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here as the hotel is nice, new and modern. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side but very nice. The TVs could be a bit bigger. The pool area is great and the restaurant is nice.

Complaints we have are the restaurant got our order wrong multiple times (one time my wife even pointed to what she wanted and they still got it wrong, so it wasn't a language/communication issue). I also requested a different room and the woman I spoke to said they didn't have anything available. We then had a different issue with the room so I went down to the front desk 15 minutes later. Miraculously there was a room available. Although the hotel isn't right on the road, it is close enough and the windows aren't sound proofed enough so rooms facing the street are very noisy. I highly recommend requesting a room facing the back of the hotel.

Even though I mentioned the issues we had, most of these are minor and our overall experience was positive.

Room Tip: Although the hotel isn't right on the road, it is close enough and the windows aren't sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Very average hotel. Good at best for a one night stay to visit the falls. Nothing really fancy but clean. Room spacious and clean, but quite plain. Got a food poisoning after eating chicken with cream at the restaurant. Pool seemed dirty. Staff seemed sometimes overwhelmed.

Iguazu falls, one of the best experiences of my life, but there might be better than the Viale Bristo Cataratas to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnZ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We were on an 8-day trip (a tour) to Rio, Iguazu Falls and Buenos Aires... without a doubt, the Viale Hotel at Iguazu was, by far, our best hotel of the trip. We spent two nights at this delightful hotel, which has an amazing included buffet breakfast -- you MUST try a tapicoca crepe; the chocolate and coconut version was amazing -- and a nice outdoor pool. The room was clean and quiet (despite its close proximity to the main road in town) and they chocolate on the bed at night/turndown service, was a nice touch! It's a modern-looking hotel but not in an industrial way and its close proximity to the falls was also great. Would recommend without hesitation!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muszekfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,049 reviews
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#24 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
949 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#16 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
5,798 reviews
Foz Presidente Comfort
#26 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viale Cataratas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viale Cataratas Hotel

Address: Avenida das Cataratas 2420, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#20 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $66 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viale Cataratas Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viale Cataratas has a structure of rooms that makes your eyes sparkle. There are 151 luxury apartments, all equipped with TV LCD 26 inches, digital air conditioner, wireless internet, individual safe-deposit box, and a clean decor throughout the hotel. There is no doubt when it is to visit the natural paradise that is Foz do Iguacu, no doubt either about the best option to stay at the Viale Cataratas Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Viale Cataratas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viale Cataratas Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing