We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average”
Review of Hostel Nature

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Nature
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very average”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The hostel is very secluded which would be fine if they took cards but if you dont have cash it costs R$80 to get to and from an ATM in town. They do serve food, as there´s nowhere nearby, and the breakfasts are nice.

The social area is nice as is the night staff. There is a shortage of running water so showers are often not running and neither are the toilets. The first night we stayed was packed and very noisy all night with doors banging at 4am but it quietened down after that so we may have been unlucky.

It is quite expensive so not worth the money so even though we had a good time in iguazu I would not recommend it

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traubs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    30
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
39
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

So on arrival we are told they don't have our reservation despite us having a copy of our e mail exchanges. We are told that the man who was doing reservations was fired because he didn't make any. However we had correspondence from other staff who were still present too.

We were told that the hostel was full and were shown a storage room that had a bunk bed in it which we refused. We asked them to help find another hostel at which point the manager arrived and miraculously he found our reservation (not really) and gave us a room.

Everyone we spoke to had had similar problems and some groups were having to share rooms.

From then on it didn't get much better. The staff seem to just want to set you up for expensive taxi journeys (do not get airport pick up its a rip off).

The rooms were small and grubby and the choice of food small and not great.

The only plus point to this hostel is it is set in nice surroundings with a lake and nice grounds. Other than that very poor experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHamilton19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hostel is optimal located for the national park, Foz do Iguazu, and the airport. Very quiet place where you can enjoy the silence and wonderful surroundings. Severel hammocks are available and a small pool. They offer a kitchen for the travellers and they serve from a menu too. The bar offers severel drinks and of course Caipirinha.

Check-in: I booked the room 3 months before and I brought the last 3 emails just in case to confirm the contact. There was no booking in my name, but fortunately the hostel was almost empty, so we got a room. I was asked, in the emails, to give them my credit card infos to confirm the booking - but was surprised that they didn't accept credit cards as payment ! No info in the mail about paying in cash. We payed and got the room.

Room: We booked a room with 4 beds, as we were 3, and we got a room that looked a bit worn out and very small. When he saw the face of my wife, he quickly offered a similar room on the other side of the hall way. It was more spacy and much nicer. Later in the evening when we returned to the room we wanted to turn on the AC but it didn't work. The guy in charge had no clue, so he had to call someone. Forgot it and we had to go ask again ! Finally no solution, so we were send back to the original room.

Outside: Very nice setting for a relaxed stay - absolutely great. The land is very big and there is a nice lake where you can rest in hammocks. All is green and wonderful.

Food: We didn't bring anything, and hoped to be able to buy something light. We were able but the prices were insane. 7,5 USD for a small portion of french fries, etc. All the other dishes were quite expensive too - and you were not allowed to bring drinks to the facility.

All in all a nice place - but too many things that was a unpleasent surprise and experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vennekilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hostel Natura is situated some way outside Foz do Iguaçu, but is located close to both the airport and the Brazilian side of the Iguaçu Falls. It is a large property situated in a Brazilian chacara or mini-farmhouse, with a lake and swimming pool. There is also an area set aside for tents. The dorms are standard hostel fare, but are quite clean. Quality of sleep obviously depends on the number of people you happen to be sharing with and their nocturnal habits. The dorm is reasonable value at R$40 per night with WiFi and breakfast included. Dinner on the other hand is quite pricey, with the (very limited) buffet costing R$25. There is a kitchen, though, so this is not a huge problem. There is a little bar with reasonable prices. The inviting living area is large and semi-outdoors, and has a television set and pool and foosball tables. What I liked most about Natura was its very chilled-out atmosphere, especially in the evenings after a long day of sightseeing at the falls. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and can arrange tours of the Argentine side (quite reasonable at R$160 including a boat ride) and Itaipu dam. The surroundings are very serene as the property is situated amidst farms and fields. Definitely an option to consider for budget travelers looking to avoid the rough-and-tumble of more typical hostels.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodiyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The hostel is located a little bit off the beaten track, but is still convenient for accessing the falls. The staff (especially Alex) is friendly and provide a lot of useful information for exploring the area.There is a nice common area, but the most attractive feature is the view of the lake and the hammocks for relaxing and watching the amazing sunset. You really do feel like you are in the middle of a natural retreat. There is also a kitchen for self-catering and a laundry area to hand-wash clothes.

The kitchen wasn't serving dinner when we were there and the staff directed us to a nearby pizzeria (within walking distance), which was really good. We had also arranged to have a pick-up from the airport, which never arrived. We ended up taking a taxi, which was actually cheaper than taking hostel transport. Once you know where the hotel is, its fine to take the public transport.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. It doesn't have a lot of frills, but the amazing natural scenery make it a really special place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is a really nice hostel it's very secluded and beautiful around sunset. It was quite quiet when we went, but would be great with a big group of people or if you want to be away from everything.

It's a bit of a mission to get to from the main bus station in Foz do Igazu, two buses (one is free) and then a ten minute walk but it is worth it when you get there.

Its far from town so you need to buy their drinks and food unless you want to travel for half an hour to the nearest supermarket or an hour into town.

The staff are all very friendly if sometimes a bit slow to respond to requests. The rooms are pretty basic but clean and not noisy.

It's easy to get to the falls, a free bus and then another bus and Argentina and having spent half a day in the Town, you won't regret being far away from it as it's pretty nasty.

Overall it's an incredibly chilled atmosphere, including the staff who float around being smiley.

I would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This place is located in the countryside between the city of Foz do Iguaçu and the waterfalls close to the airport, away from all the city trouble. We only stayed there for one night, because we had an early flight the next morning. There are no restaurants or shops nearby, if you are dependent on public transportation I would not recommend this place. The staff offered to make us breakfast at 4:30 because we had to leave at 5am, but we overslept, so I can't say if they held their promise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
0.0 mi away
Ipelandia Park Golf Hostel
Ipelandia Park Golf Hostel
#36 of 105 in Foz do Iguacu
14 reviews
2.8 mi away
Iguassu Eco Hostel
Iguassu Eco Hostel
#13 of 105 in Foz do Iguacu
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Naipi
Pousada Naipi
#27 of 89 in Foz do Iguacu
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Atalaia Adventure Hostel
Atalaia Adventure Hostel
#38 of 89 in Foz do Iguacu
13 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hostel Poesia
Hostel Poesia
#11 of 105 in Foz do Iguacu
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Paudimar Campestre
Hostel Paudimar Campestre
#9 of 105 in Foz do Iguacu
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Nature? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Nature

Property: Hostel Nature
Address: Alameda Buri 333 | Remanso Grande, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-845, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Nature 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Natura is located in the country side of Iguassu Falls, and it is only 10 km away from downtown It is situated between the Brazilian/Argentinian border and the national park from the Brazilian side.The hostel is located in an area of preservation, with more than 60.000 mtrs2 rich in trees,fruits, plants, lakes, water springs and a huge variety of birds from the region.Hostel Natura has a special track inside and it also has a privileged view of the sunset due to its location.The staff is fully equipped and prepared to accommodate all their hosts' needs and requests, and they are trained to help their guestsconcerning places to visit, costs and time. While at the hostel, you come in harmony with everyone and into full contactwith nature away from the rush of cities.At our reception area we have several information about the most common destinationsafter Iguassu Falls, such as Rio de Janeiro, Buenos Aires, wetlands Pantanal, Peru, Chile, Bonito, Paraguay, Santa Catarina and Bahia. Details:- Breakfast is served from 8 until 10 am- Lounge area with free wi-fi connection- soccer field, pool table and foosball- Swimming pool- Bar, snack bar, and restaurant- Camping area with showers and electricity- Double rooms (suite), female and male's dormitory (suite), all with airconditioning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Nature reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Nature Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing