We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and Secluded” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Natura

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hostel Natura
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Secluded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hostel Natura is situated some way outside Foz do Iguaçu, but is located close to both the airport and the Brazilian side of the Iguaçu Falls. It is a large property situated in a Brazilian chacara or mini-farmhouse, with a lake and swimming pool. There is also an area set aside for tents. The dorms are standard hostel fare, but are quite clean. Quality of sleep obviously depends on the number of people you happen to be sharing with and their nocturnal habits. The dorm is reasonable value at R$40 per night with WiFi and breakfast included. Dinner on the other hand is quite pricey, with the (very limited) buffet costing R$25. There is a kitchen, though, so this is not a huge problem. There is a little bar with reasonable prices. The inviting living area is large and semi-outdoors, and has a television set and pool and foosball tables. What I liked most about Natura was its very chilled-out atmosphere, especially in the evenings after a long day of sightseeing at the falls. Staff are very friendly and helpful, and can arrange tours of the Argentine side (quite reasonable at R$160 including a boat ride) and Itaipu dam. The surroundings are very serene as the property is situated amidst farms and fields. Definitely an option to consider for budget travelers looking to avoid the rough-and-tumble of more typical hostels.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodiyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    29
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
11
39
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

The hostel is located a little bit off the beaten track, but is still convenient for accessing the falls. The staff (especially Alex) is friendly and provide a lot of useful information for exploring the area.There is a nice common area, but the most attractive feature is the view of the lake and the hammocks for relaxing and watching the amazing sunset. You really do feel like you are in the middle of a natural retreat. There is also a kitchen for self-catering and a laundry area to hand-wash clothes.

The kitchen wasn't serving dinner when we were there and the staff directed us to a nearby pizzeria (within walking distance), which was really good. We had also arranged to have a pick-up from the airport, which never arrived. We ended up taking a taxi, which was actually cheaper than taking hostel transport. Once you know where the hotel is, its fine to take the public transport.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. It doesn't have a lot of frills, but the amazing natural scenery make it a really special place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mina830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is a really nice hostel it's very secluded and beautiful around sunset. It was quite quiet when we went, but would be great with a big group of people or if you want to be away from everything.

It's a bit of a mission to get to from the main bus station in Foz do Igazu, two buses (one is free) and then a ten minute walk but it is worth it when you get there.

Its far from town so you need to buy their drinks and food unless you want to travel for half an hour to the nearest supermarket or an hour into town.

The staff are all very friendly if sometimes a bit slow to respond to requests. The rooms are pretty basic but clean and not noisy.

It's easy to get to the falls, a free bus and then another bus and Argentina and having spent half a day in the Town, you won't regret being far away from it as it's pretty nasty.

Overall it's an incredibly chilled atmosphere, including the staff who float around being smiley.

I would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

This place is located in the countryside between the city of Foz do Iguaçu and the waterfalls close to the airport, away from all the city trouble. We only stayed there for one night, because we had an early flight the next morning. There are no restaurants or shops nearby, if you are dependent on public transportation I would not recommend this place. The staff offered to make us breakfast at 4:30 because we had to leave at 5am, but we overslept, so I can't say if they held their promise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The 3 nights we stayed at Natura were unexpectedly cold (pretty much as cold as it gets in that part of the world) and the afternoon we arrived I did initially have an 'oh no, what have I got us into?' feeling. Coming from US summer it felt freezing with no heating in rooms and relaxation and eating areas open to the elements. This is something to consider if you're thinking of visiting in winter.
However, we got into the spirit of things quite well by having nice hot showers and then putting on most of our clothes- problem solved! The remoteness and outdoorsyness of Natura is definitely part of the charm and we truly started to relax and enjoy as night closed in after a few beers and when presented with a truly delicious Brazlian BBQ.
The breakfast was also very tasty, and the only place on our travels where you could make your own cheese and ham toasties which for some reason is about 10 times nicer than non toasted variants (of which you will eat many in South America!)
The main other comment is to be wary of staying here if saving money is a top priority. The buses to the falls were on strike the day we tried to go, so we had to get a taxi instead and even though it is only a 10 minute ride, they all charge more because of the unsealed road on the way to the hostel. Also, as others have commented, you are a bit of a captive audience for food and drink which was generally very tasty and reasonable value but not super cheap.
Overall I would say it was well worth the experience - we could finally truly relax, surrounded by beautiful countryside - and the hosts appeared to be really doing their best to keep everyone happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGeerdron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Hostel Natura for me is the coolest hostel / campsite in South America. The location is great, with an on site lake and swimming pool. The city of Foz is only a 20 minute, 2 real bus drive away, however there is not much to see in the town itself and the campsite is much closer to the falls.
The campsite owner is a super cool guy, and makes the best Caipirinhas in Brazil! Delicious breakfast, and a weekly rodizio dinner means the food is not too bad either!
Full marks, can;t ask for much more from a campsite / hostel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

I cannot understand the rave reviews here. The hostel was not good in my opinion. Firstly it is expensive. Secondly, we paid for an en-suite but we did not get the chance to use it as the water was turned off. There was no reduction on our bill. Actually we did not even get an apology. Instead we had to take showers in a shower room outside. There is no where near the hostel so you have to depend on the restaurant on site. I would not recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
2.4 mi away
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#47 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ipelandia Park Golf Hostel
Ipelandia Park Golf Hostel
#37 of 108 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pousada Agroecologica Guata Pora
Pousada Agroecologica Guata Pora
#4 of 108 in Foz do Iguacu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pousada Naipi
Pousada Naipi
#31 of 89 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.8 mi away
Iguassu Eco Hostel
Iguassu Eco Hostel
#15 of 108 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Paudimar Campestre
Hostel Paudimar Campestre
#10 of 108 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Natura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Natura

Property: Hostel Natura
Address: Alameda Buri 333 | Remanso Grande, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-845, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Natura 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Natura is located in the country side of Iguassu Falls, and it is only 10 km away from downtown It is situated between the Brazilian/Argentinian border and the national park from the Brazilian side.The hostel is located in an area of preservation, with more than 60.000 mtrs2 rich in trees,fruits, plants, lakes, water springs and a huge variety of birds from the region.Hostel Natura has a special track inside and it also has a privileged view of the sunset due to its location.The staff is fully equipped and prepared to accommodate all their hosts' needs and requests, and they are trained to help their guestsconcerning places to visit, costs and time. While at the hostel, you come in harmony with everyone and into full contactwith nature away from the rush of cities.At our reception area we have several information about the most common destinationsafter Iguassu Falls, such as Rio de Janeiro, Buenos Aires, wetlands Pantanal, Peru, Chile, Bonito, Paraguay, Santa Catarina and Bahia. Details:- Breakfast is served from 8 until 10 am- Lounge area with free wi-fi connection- soccer field, pool table and foosball- Swimming pool- Bar, snack bar, and restaurant- Camping area with showers and electricity- Double rooms (suite), female and male's dormitory (suite), all with airconditioning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Natura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Natura Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing