We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff, good location, good value”
Review of Del Rey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Del Rey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed in Hotel del Rey for 2 nights. Staff was very very helpful, spoke good English and recommended 2 excellent restaurants (Churrascaria Branco and Chef Jose) nearby (each 1 block away). Close to the bus station, so getting to the falls both on Argentinian and Brazilian side was easy enough. Rooms were clean and spacious. Hot water, small pool and small gym. Complimentary wifi - good connection. Overall excellent value!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivoandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 2,780 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2008

Really Good value for money and really helpful staff who speak very good english.

Much better than the same family owned hotel next door.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mickyt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2007

I chose this hotel based on the reviews of other travelers. I must say that there were quite a few things that were not up to my expectations based on the reviews I've read. For once, I paid about $43 a night, not bad for a hotel in general, but for the hotel class rather expensive in Brazil. We (my girlfriend and I) stayed there for 3 nights. The staff was somewhat helpful but was also very busy trying to push their 'special deals' on you and most questions about local attractions were first answered with: check with our travel agency. Only upon further inquiry did we get some basic answers such as which bus to take and what the opening/show times were for certain attractions. Then they have these ‘coupons’ for the restaurant next door, where you get a $R5 discount per person for a total price of $R70 for two (drinks not included). We didn’t take the offer but found a comparable place (buffet with meat service) a few blocks away where we paid $R25 (yes, total for two, drinks (beer and juice) included). This is generally what you should expect to pay for a reasonably good meal for two in Brazil. Just a tip on the side: on most menus the meal portions are usually sufficient for two (i.e. only order one meal for two). Back to the hotel: yes, the rooms are small, and it’s no big deal when you are out all day anyway. However, it was very hot and humid during our stay which means you’ll be hitting the shower quite often. There was no room service at all on day 2 which meant we had to reuse the wet towels from the previous day (we eventually did ask for more towels at the reception). Don’t bother trying to find soap or shampoo in the bathroom (you do get a tiny soap to wash your hands at the sink). You’ll have to go to the local supermarket to get it. A nuisance and a waste of time as well. Most of the guests at the hotel were foreigners who probably found their way to the hotel like I did, through a review site. That also means that the reviews very often seem to be based on standards applied from the visitor’s home country, which almost certainly would lead to the hotel perceived to be a great bargain. I was not impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TxTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

For the price (~$35 per night), this hotel is an amazing deal. The hotel is located near the bus terminal, in the city. It's a 30 minute cab ride to the Argentinian falls (60 reals), and a 20-30 minute bus ride from the airport to the bus terminal near the hotel. We took the bus (1.90 Real per person) from the airport. When you arrive at the bus terminal (end of the line), as you're getting off the bus, walk left to the end of the terminal, then take a left on the street (it should be Rua Taroba) and walk straight at the first light, and the hotel will be on your left in less than a block.

After we went to the Argentinian Falls, we took the bus back, for less than $1 per person. We took the bus to the station in Argentina, then got on the next bus to Foz do Iguacu in Brazil. The whole trip cost about $5 total for my husband and I and took exactly 1hr and 30min.

The lobby was under construction when we were there, and I was frustrated by the fact that they showed us 4 rooms, before finding us a nonsmoking room with a double bed. The room we stayed in was at the end of the hall on the 3rd floor, had bright fluorescent lighting, and looked like an 80 year old man had lived there. The decor was horrible.

The biggest problem was that it was very loud. I have stayed in MANY cities and never had a problem sleeping. From our room we could hear the people playing foozball in the game room, people on the street shouting, and the banging and construction that started early in the morning at the automotive garage next door, not to mention the construction in the lobby. The previous hotels we had stayed at on this trip were tropical, and there was nothing tropical about this hotel.

We ate at the restaurant recommended by the hotel and it cost 40 real per person! That was the most expensive dinner we ate in all of Brazil! The front desk told us it was only 30 reals. Not true. The discount is 10 reals total, not per person.

Yes, the pool is small, but nice, as is the workout area and game room. The breakfast is huge and very delicious. With that said, we will never stay here again. It is too far from the falls and there's nothing particularly special about the city of Foz. I would probably stay on the Argentinian side if we returned, and stay at a much more tropical hotel for a higher price. If you're on a tight budget, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Emerson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Gerente de relações públicas at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Luis Gustavo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Gerente de relações públicas at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudia_Konze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rey H, Gerente de relações públicas at Del Rey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#12 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
6,181 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#14 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,090 reviews
City Center
Bogari Hotel
Bogari Hotel
#2 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
1,773 reviews
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#6 of 80 in Foz do Iguacu
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Rey Hotel

Address: Rua Taroba 1020, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-220, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#3 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $51 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Del Rey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Del Rey Hotel e um charmoso hotel situado no centro de Foz do Iguacu, sendo um dos únicos hotéis do Brasil a possuir a certificacao 3* estrelas pelo Ministério do Turismo. Convidamos a hospedar-se em modernos apartamentos. Sendo todos os apartamentos equipados com ar condicionado quente/frio, camas Queen size, secadores de cabelos, tomadas 110/220w, TV LCD, apoio de bagagens e acesso gratuito a internet. Oferecemos toda a estrutura para os hospedes com necessidades especiais. Dispomos de internet banda larga e mesa de trabalho, e para a tranquilidade e conforto dispomos de cofre digital e estacionamento coberto sem custo adicional. Nosso delicioso cafe da manha e servido a partir das 03h00 da manha em estilo colonial com mais de 85 itens. E no jantar dispomos de excelentes opções de pratos a la carte. Utilizamos produtos com a mais alta qualidade, preparados e seguindo normas de segurança, higiene e muito sabor. Cuidados são tomados com os principais ingredientes do cardápio: Verduras e legumes cultivados com as melhores praticas agrícolas existentes, com menor impacto ambiental possivel, resultando em produtos saborosos, saudáveis e seguros. Desfrute também de nossa sala de jogos e da piscina no 5.º andar com uma vista belíssima para a cidade. Prezando pelo bom atendimento, estamos comprometidos em sempre aprimorar e capacitar nossos colaboradores. Pois, alem do hotel ser aconchegante e estarmos preocupados com o seu bem - estar, nosso atendimento faz toda a diferença para a sua estadia se tornar ainda mais agradável. Dispomos também de passeios para o Dutty Free e Cassino Iguazu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Del Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing