We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but beware of cigaret smoke”
Review of Novo Vernon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novo Vernon Hotel
Ranked #68 of 104 Hotels in Curitiba
arapoti
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“good location but beware of cigaret smoke”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here with our family for one night, the hotel has been recently renovated, rooms look nice and clean, ours didn`t have any soap/shampoo apparently forgotten). Streetside rooms are noisy, in our room we woke up because of cigaret smoke from the neighbouring room. When asked at the receptiondesk they said that they did`nt have smokefree rooms but asked guests not to smoke. We weren`t asked anything at check-in neither did we find any no smoking signs anywhere inside. Breakfast was mediocre for brazilian standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marikasalomons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    231
    177
    42
    17
See reviews for
189
121
25
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern Wells
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in March.
The area around this Hotel is not marvellous and there are much nicer parts of Curtiba.
However it is very well placed for transportation.
Our room was a good size, clean and modern although a bit Spartan.
Breakfast was not especially inspiring but adequate
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Not very close to any main restaurants but a local bar 50 metres to the right of the hotel. packed with local people served a great brazilian hot buffet for 10 rials.
This hotel is good value for money and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The staff were friendly. One of them even spoke perfect English and helped me a lot. The room was very basic but that's all I wanted. The bed cover slipped off at night but not a big deal. It could get cold during the winter though. Great location for me near the bus and train station as well as a great market and store. Walking around at night isn't recommended there but I didn't have any problem. What I liked the most were the free breakfast. There's a great variety of excellent foods and I like eating a big breakfast (which the Brazilians apparently do not) so I could fill up at no extra cost and be good until late afternoon. Saved a bundle. Warm water to the top floors was not a problem either. There's a service van from the airport to the city taking about 45-60 minutes and costing about $10, it took me right to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on North side overlook the bus/train station. Close the bathroom window at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Vernon Palace Hotel is a short walk from the Rodoviaria in Curitiba. We were directed to the hotel from another with no vacancies and were pleasantly surprised. It is not easily spotted and except for the fact we took a taxi could have easily missed it. The hotel is a little dated but quite comfortable and clean with friendly staff. Breakfast buffet is included in the price. I stayed twice in July 2011 and both rooms had a small balcony (standing room only) that are perfect for taking photo's. A single room contains a queen bed; a twin room has two single beds. Bathrooms are adequate with large mirror and vanity. The minibar is well-stocked and room service is affordable, fast and tasty. If you're after a room with TV then this probably would not suit - TVs are dated and reception is not good! If you're after a comfortable night's sleep then I would definitely recommend the Vernon Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tili_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Great location for transport links. After travelling Brazil for over a month we were dying for a soak in the bath so took one of the best rooms which had seperate lounge, nice bedroom and large bathroom with jacuzzi bath which was exactly what we wanted though did have to spend more than had anticipated. Staff were friendly and attentive. Be careful though - the confectionary in the room is not free and a large service charge is added to all room service - so don't give cash tip!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbec1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed here for one night. It´s very near the train and bus stations and about a 20 minute walk from the centre of town. On arrival at 8am, we were delighted to find our room was available for us. However, the next day when checking out, they tried to charge us an extra half day charge for checking in early, even though they´d said nothing at the time! I refused to pay it and they backed down.
Our room was fine, if a bit old-fashioned. The service from the front desk was efficient but not very friendly and the cleaning staff ignored our ´do not disturb´ sign on the door. For the price we paid, I was expecting a lot better.
The breakfast was only ok, and while they claim to have a swimming pool, it was the size of a bath-tub.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Curitiba hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We chose this hotel for it's perfect location near the bus and train station, as we were taking the train to Paranagua and Ilha do Mel. The hotel kept our luggage in safe storage overnight for no charge while we stayed on the Ilha. The rooms are a good size and very clean. Bathroom facilities were very good too, it was nice to have a hot tap in the sink as many places only have a cold tap! Breakfast was a very good typical choice, we ate in the restaurant for dinner once but that was just ok. There was more business people than tourists. It's not as central for the shops as some other hotels, but for us the extra walk to the shopping area was very easy and felt safe even at night. The location is slightly noisy as on a busy street, but no more than to be expected for a city hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank True-information
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Curitiba hotels
City Center
Dan Inn Curitiba Hotel
Dan Inn Curitiba Hotel
#61 of 104 in Curitiba
644 reviews
City Center
Ibis Budget Curitiba Centro
Granville Park Hotel
#90 of 104 in Curitiba
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Nikko
#18 of 104 in Curitiba
667 reviews
Ibis Curitiba Shopping
#17 of 104 in Curitiba
2,515 reviews
City Center
Roochelle Corporate Hotel
Roochelle Corporate Hotel
#59 of 104 in Curitiba
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novo Vernon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novo Vernon Hotel

Property: Novo Vernon Hotel
Address: Avenida Presidente Affonso Camargo 455 | Centro, Curitiba, State of Parana 80060-090, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Curitiba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Curitiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novo Vernon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Novo Vernon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novo Vernon Hotel Curitiba, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing