We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total surprise”

Museu Oscar Niemeyer
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Curitiba Tour by Night with Dinner
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Half Day Curitiba Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$72.00*
and up
Curitiba City Tour
Ranked #2 of 296 things to do in Curitiba
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Total surprise”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I guess it depends what art you like but from the building to the displays this was a total surprise and we really enjoyed our time. I would propose there is something for everyone. A good way to spend 1-2 hours and there is always a nice cafe there and you can enjoy the architecture if art is not your thing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank neil l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,201
    3,110
    670
    61
    16
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice architecture.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful architecture. Unfortunatly there aren't too many "really" important exibitions. It depends a lot of the time and period of year. The price is very good. There is a small store where you can purchase some books, a coffee shop and 2 or 3 pubs/restaurants around.

Helpful?
Thank SeuJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The building itself is an Oscar Niemayer's”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although it looks like it has been modified from it's original plan, it is still very impressive.
The best part of it: one can step in the lawn, walk around the building and explore.
BUT, there is garbage everywhere!! And youngsters drinking and smoking pot in dalight.
I didn't feel safe at all!!
And the gardens around the museum were in very bad condition... It felt like the gardeners haven't shown up for ages! Everything green was just left to grow as it wished to...
Inside the museum, some interesting brazilian artists exibitions.
Most of the time, the air conditioning systm was SO noisy we could barely understand what others were saying.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_World2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely a must see!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I usually don't like visiting museums but I must say that this place was the most amazing museum/gallery I've ever been to. We ended up here on a Sunday and were just in awe with the expositions/architecture/classical music quintet etc.

First Sunday of every month is free. R$4 every other day. Best thing going on in Curitiba.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank shinrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A must when visiting Curitiba”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Amazing design by Oscar Niemeyer, museum nicknamed The Eye (shape of de building). Exhibitions interesting. To learn Oscar Niemeyer better you should watch the video documentary in the basement. Museum has a cafe-restaurant, serves great coffee and a good lunch. The museum is a must when visiting Curitiba.Take the Linho Tourismo for a bustour around town. The bus stops at the museum and the botanic garden, also worth considering.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pluskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu Oscar Niemeyer also viewed

 

Been to Museu Oscar Niemeyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing