We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Example of an architectural lesson”

Museu Oscar Niemeyer
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
Curitiba Tour by Night with Dinner
Ranked #2 of 289 things to do in Curitiba
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Islamabad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Example of an architectural lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Like all other constuctions built from Oscar Niemeyer, the best known brazilian architect, it is a worth seeing building. Because the admission fee is very low you should go inside. Even you are not interested in art, the visitation will be worthwhile for you. I cannot predict what kind of art you will be awaited from, because there are frequently new exhibitions. The most exiting feature of the museum ist he tower where the „eye“ is resting. You will find it going through a tunnel of light. After having visited the museum you should not miss to go to the „pope forest“, which you arrive only a few meters away.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,813
    2,970
    633
    56
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Três Barras, Santa Catarina, Brazil
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice museum with changing modern art exhibits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was on the tourist bus stops. It also has some information on Oscar Niemeyer who designed Brasillia.

Helpful?
Thank lupinelady135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
203 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A fantastic architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hard to describe. It’s really impressive the effect that "the eye" causes those who do not know it. The museum's permanent collection is downright good. I was lucky enough to see a temporary exhibition of Modigliani which was great. I had lunch in the cafeteria of the Museum, which was very nice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luiz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“#1 cultural experience in Brazil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have travelled a great deal in Brazil and I have spent extended periods of time in 9 of its cities over a 5 year period. My visit to this museum was by far the most interesting day I have ever spent in Brazil. The museum is beautiful, fascinating and the stories it tells are amazing. Do not miss this experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrailingTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Visita ao Museu Oscar Niemeyer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

It is an amazing museum! It is great to start the visit around 3pm, walk inside the museum, take pictures and see many exhibitions extremely beautiful and incredible! The museum closes at 6pm, so it is nice to go out and wath it from outside. The lights and the sky is something that will amke you lay down on the grass and appreciate!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thales S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu Oscar Niemeyer also viewed

 

Been to Museu Oscar Niemeyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing