We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, expensive, realmente não valeu o que pagamos.”

Saanga Grill - Iguacu
Ranked #137 of 9,778 Restaurants in Curitiba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Pleasanton, ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service, expensive, realmente não valeu o que pagamos.”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went happy hour to Shopping Estação at Saanga Grill on Monday April 15 at 6:30pm, we were 5 people total, we ordered 4 chopps, buy 1 get 1, we order Aipim com bacon, french fries and carne de onça. Total of R$81,00 super expensive, i guess we paid for their leasing, because nonetheless it is very expensive to be inside a shopping center

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brazil4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    101
    21
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Bad service, expensive and meat is nothing special.”
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

I love meat and I do not care if I need to spend some coins for a good piece of beef.
Now, with an extended pedigree, we arrive to this restaurant that was cold and quite empty (monday).
We arrive by taxi but with a flyier saying that they pick you up end drive you back to your hotel. Because someone drove us there, we just ask for the return drive. They refuse to do it inventing diverse excuses (dependin to who you ask). True is that once there, they do not need to care for you, we were somehow, captivated customers.

Well, we stay anyway.
First thing that looks unusual,mthe price of the meat is by 100 grams. You also can choose between Premium, Super Premium and Kobe qulity.
We went for the Super Premium (which was stated to be, in "average", 400 grams).
The meat was hard, fatty and Not really tasty.

When they bring the bill, they charge the oieces of meat by 500grams each. Come on! This was not a 500 grams piece, sure.

I call the manager to explain all my complaints but, he did not care. He just argued that 400 grams the piece is just an average number. Well, in three pieces you may spect to have on piece closer to 400 grams, isn't? He did not care, we were just tourist that most probably will not back (by sure) so, why to take care for us? Instead, the policy there is just to take from tourist as much as they can.

Caipirinhas were crap as well.

Helpful?
Thank fvargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Excellent meat, horrible service”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've been to Saanga Grill at ' Shopping Estação' (Estacao Mall) and I have to admit the meat is one of the best we tried.
The salad buffet is very simple and if you go after 2pm, forget it. You'll only have some left overs.
The service is horrible. You have to call the waiters all the time otherwise they wont come to you. Last time we went, we sit ourselves and nobody came within 10 minutes so we just left.
Other 3 times we've been there it also took forever to get our drinks.
The meat is delicious, it comes with chimichurri sauce on the side.
Too bad the service makes us not go there ever again. I even sent them an email but no one ever contacted me.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol_Mll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
352 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great steak in a great place”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Saanga Grill is a nice place for beef. Differently from the most of Brazilian grills, this is not a "rodizio" - here you order just single, specific beef cuts, whose portions are generous as are sides that must be ordered separately. To start up I suggest nothing less thana portion of mouth-watering, creamy, fire-grilled pupunha (heart of palm) served with spiced butter. A portion of home-made pork sausage is also a good start. A good, generous and price-friendly option for week-days, Mon thru Fri, is the "executive lunch" - starter and main course for a fixed price. Nice beer and wine list at reasonable prices. Order the good, honest Uruguayan beers, either Patricia and Norteña, as they deserve a sip.
If the weather is fine not better place to sit than at the deck, in the back,, as to enjoy the nice view of an old backyard, from the time the place was just a house. Plenty of tress, birds and some chickens, as well, it surely will send you back in times to your parent's or grandpa's house. Service is courteous and usually prompt. Avoid week-ends, specially Sundays.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabio N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Júnior C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Saanga Grill - Iguacu, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meat.”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great meat, familiar ambient, the dessert Tche de bombachas is excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rafael Augusto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Júnior C, Gerente de relações com clientes at Saanga Grill - Iguacu, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saanga Grill - Iguacu also viewed

 

Been to Saanga Grill - Iguacu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing