We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and well located hotel - simple room, nice view”
Review of Tambau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tambau Hotel
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Joao Pessoa
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice and well located hotel - simple room, nice view”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Very nice infra, two pools near the beach. Mid size room low equipped, old tv set, no room sound system. Silent air conditioned.

Ask for a Remodelled room facing the sea. Don't accept old stink ones.

The beach is 20 meters from the hotel door. Its a very calm, no waves beach.

The medium temperature allong the winter is about 28C.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PabloCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    703
    321
    91
    61
See reviews for
749
367
86
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
769 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on several occasions and have given it good to average reviews depending on the room. The hotel is in a good location on the beach at Joao Pessoa near all the restaurants and beach facilities. Unfortunately on this occasion we had a disastrous experience. We were located around rooms 460 as a large family group - we had several rooms. On a Friday night we were kept awake by loud music which echoed round our rooms as if we were in a nightclub. I rang reception and they said it was an event outside of the hotel and they would ask them to turn the music down. The music continued and I called back on several occasions until around 3am when I gave up. The next morning we noticed that our rooms back onto a nightclub which is attached to the hotel and presumably run by the hotel. We were appalled that anyone could be allocated these rooms when the hotel knows that the noise from the nightclub will keep guests awake - especially as the hotel knows that we are regular customers and that we are tired after arriving from the UK. Staff at reception were often unhelpful - the exception was a very nice trainee (Gabriella I think) who was always helpful and friendly. The Wi-Fi is terrible and we spent a lot of time trying to make codes work - these have to be paid for individually - even then it doesn't work well. We were given a refund for the night of the event and we were moved to quieter rooms but this does not compensate us for a sleepless night which affected us for the next couple of days. If you choose to stay in this hotel please check that you are given a renovated a room and that it is a long way from the nightclub.

Room Tip: Avoid any unrenovated room. Avoid any rooms near 460 because of the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very disappointing experience and such a ling walk to get out to the street from your room !! This place was once no doubt The Best Hotel in this City but like many places in Brazil it was not kept up just bled for the dollars !! and now living off it's reputation. Rooms are terribel and so is the conditions of many parts of the hotel.
BEWARE there are much better deals in this City then this hotel Much Much Better Deals for Sure !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

A good hotel for big events, service/apartments are OK too. On the downside: the beach where the hotel is placed is not a good place for swimming/diving, since there is too much sand in the water. Also, the wi-fi is not free, and is not available in the apartments (at least not in the one where I stayed).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
João pessoa, Pb
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel used to be not only a hotel in João Pessoa but a tourist attraction!!My mom´s honeymoon 37 years ago was there. As I had a diary from my hotel club menbership about to expire, I decided to spend a day there although I live in the same city. And it was not nice!!!The room smelled old, noise air-conditioner, and the sheets look bad. The breakfast was good but served in a very warm place. The facilities are reasonable compared to the other hotels in town. Great pools. On Saturday there is a great Feijoada going on at the restaurant and you pay R$35,00 for the all-you-can-eat buffet. The location is the best part. Digged in the beachsand and in front of a clothing fair where craftwork is sold at a good price. There is a great ice cream parlor( named Friberg) in a 3-minute walk. It is worthy. In a nutshell, one night was enough.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are the pick!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarik2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Tropical Tambau Joao Pessoa is a big hotel in a good location, at the beach in Joao Pessoa. The rooms are old fashioned, with old beds and noisy air conditioning. There is a large swimming pool, good even for children and the elderly. Good breakfast, with regional food, juices and fruits. Friendly and efficiente staff. Secure area, with policemen in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms near ocean, east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MHOsanai_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel is located in the best region of the city and it's not far from the best beaches in the states. If you don't like the beach, don't worry! The hotel has the best swimming pool I have ever seen and the hotel offers free hydro gym classes for its guest on a daily basis. It's the perfect hotel for family vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRSN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joao Pessoa hotels
Hardman Praia Hotel
#10 of 42 in Joao Pessoa
899 reviews
Hotel Corais de Tambau
#6 of 42 in Joao Pessoa
648 reviews
Manaira
Verdegreen Hotel
Verdegreen Hotel
#2 of 42 in Joao Pessoa
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Caicara
#16 of 42 in Joao Pessoa
603 reviews
Manaira
Hotel Manaira
Hotel Manaira
#1 of 42 in Joao Pessoa
234 reviews
Nobile Hotel Royal
#23 of 42 in Joao Pessoa
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambau Hotel

Property: Tambau Hotel
Address: Avenida Almirante Tamandare 229 | Praia de Tambaú, Joao Pessoa, State of Paraiba 58039-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Paraiba > Joao Pessoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Joao Pessoa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Joao Pessoa
#10 Family Hotel in Joao Pessoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambau Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Tambau Hotel, beach resort located in Joao Pessoa, Paraiba's state capital city, and 'the second greenest city in the world'. A picture-perfect family beach resort and tropical vacation destination, Tambau Hotel offers 173 guest accommodations, each with a lovely ocean or lush tropical garden view. Since the beach resort is right on the beach, superior rooms with veranda at Tambau Hotel feature unique and magnificent seashore or cruise feel with ocean breezes and smooth waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tambau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Tambau Joao Pessoa
Tambau Hotel Joao Pessoa, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing