We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Second Wind Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We found this lovely B&B by accident and it totally made our weekend! The accommodations were lovely and the home truly welcoming. I was a little leery of staying at a Bed & Breakfast do to a past experience (which I had found a little creepy!), but this experience was just the opposite. The rooms were very clean and well decorated. The food was amazing and I enjoyed the fact you could socialize with the other guests in the Gathering Room if you wanted, or you could have a very private, romantic night with your spouse. I can't wait to go back to this location!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We found this place while looking for a place to stay over the busy Labor Day weekend near Bayfield, WI. This turned out to be a real find. Not only were Kelly and Mark great hosts, but they served such a wonderful breakfast of shirred eggs and raspberry scones. It was the best meal of our whole vacation! The two bedroom loft was more space than we needed, but wow such a well decorated and beautiful place. The view was also amazing - horses and all! They only had one night available, but we wished we could have stayed longer. They even had a little gift shop where we bought a sweatshirt and Kelly's recipes. I hope my children and grandchildren come here sometime. They would love it! BTW don't miss the amazing murals on the buildings in Ashland. A wonderful walking tour of interesting art.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are great here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As everyone else in this forum has commented, the owners (Mark and Kelly) are really nice, down-to-earth people. They made us feel comfortable, and the rural landscape was beautiful. Kelly made some spot-on recommendations for dining in Ashland, and a recommendation for a sweet spot on the lake. Breakfast was very good and in a relaxed atmosphere. The only negative was that I was too late in booking my reservation, and the lofts were all booked (long weekend). So we ended up with a room on the ground floor, and I am very sensitive to noise. The tramping by fellow visitors above us kept me up a while. But, I suppose, that is to be expected on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in the Bear Den on the first floor. It was extremely clean and welcoming and had it's own air conditioning unit. Both of our breakfasts were wonderful especially the scones and I couldn't believe my husband asked for a second helping of the rhino hides! Before we arrived I injured my knee. Kelly had ziploc bags ready without asking and we had a big ice machine to use in the first floor meeting room. We regretted not being able to walk out to see the animals but the donkeys put on a great show for us a few times that we watched from our bedroom windows and all the animals, fields and barns looked very clean. We were happy with the restaurants recommended for dinner in town and the places Mark thought we might enjoy seeing. It was a delight to stay somewhere that wasn't Victorian - not that we don't enjoy that also - but it was a nice break. Mark and Kelly were wonderful and I can't say enough good things about our whole experience there. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraMK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After watching the amazing sunset over Lake Superior, we were greeted by a majestic horse galloping up the driveway of Second Wind, it's beautiful mane flowing. Later, after returning from dinner at a nearby restaurant, we joined the other guests and innkeepers around the firepit and viewed the stars of the Milky Way. Before leaving the next day, we toured the property which included a covered wagon, the rest of the horses and many other farm animals. The entire experience, including a delicious breakfast, was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lemondragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Second Wind was such a peaceful, relaxing B&B that it felt like coming home! Mark and Kelly were friendly and welcoming, and the loft we stayed in was beautiful. We slept well and enjoyed a scrumptious breakfast in the morning -- the scones were especially delicious. We also had lots of fun playing with the animals.
Our whole family loved it there, and we'd have gladly stayed longer! Mark and Kelly have done an excellent job in providing a great place for people to unwind and relax. We're glad we discovered Second Wind, and we look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: The Lumberjack Loft was very comfortable, with a great view of the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was one of the best B and Bs at which our family has stayed. The accommodations were
lovely, the food fantastic and the atmosphere was very friendly. The grandchildren enjoyed the
animals and my wife and I enjoyed the front porch swing and the cat therapy with Peter the
Great.

We highly recommend this place as the scenery is beautiful, the setting is quiet and all this made
for a restful night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twowoodennichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.6 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
181 reviews
5.8 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
457 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
72 reviews
18.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#2 of 16 in Bayfield
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Wind Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Wind Country Inn

Address: 30475 Carlson Rd, Ashland, WI 54806-3661
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range: $124 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Second Wind Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awake to the country, yet so close to town... just minutes from downtown Ashland and Lake Superiour in the beautiful Chequamegon Bay area. On weekends we serve a full breakfast. Our weekday breakfast are lighter and at your leisure in our Gathering Room. Second Wind is host to many cooperate retreats and family reunions with meal plans besides breakfast available. We are able to accommodate up to 20 people in our four suites at the main inn, plus The Homestead has additional sleeping quarters. Second Wind is right on the ATV and snowmobile trails, plus there is opportunity to walk, hike, disc golf, play bocce, cross country ski, and snow shoe here on our property. We also offer farm stays on our small working farm which include campfire breakfast, ranch meals and horse-drawn wagon or sleigh rides. A 50% weekday discount is available to active military staying 2 or more nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Second Wind Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing