We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to the great north”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Second Wind Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Grantsburg, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Escape to the great north”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Second Wind Country Inn B & B is a wonderful gem in the great north country. Located just outside of Ashland, WI, I have stayed many times!!! Kelly and Marc provide a warm and cozy bed and breakfast. Truly a great escape. Each time I have stayed (3x) the loft is pristine and inviting. Breakfast is alway spectacular. The scones are heavenly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Wisconsin, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice location a mile or so out of Ashland. Great B&B with some very fine planning... every thing is perfect. We stayed in a room on the main floor, and plenty of room for two people, and two kids if you wanted. We toured the place, and the lofts were big enough for at least two families. The breakfasts are wonderful, and the smoothies are great =) Loved the animals...so sweet!! Even deer came out in the evening. Nice to get away from the hustle and bustle. Got my sleep clock back in sink, which was good. I think Shawnee P needs to chill out...no wonder they could not relax!! Nothing is forced on you...if you don't like it, forget about it any enjoy!! Exploring Ashland was fun...don't miss Trinko's Sausage and Frankies Pizza and the brewing company... good food!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, just depends on how many people you have staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyqtwou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Second Wind. Mark and Kelly were amazingly hospitable. Breakfast was beyond expectations. We stayed in one of their lofts and the space was very clean and cozy. It was very serene and peaceful. My husband and I were so happy to be their guests. Stay here and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but if you wanted to have a larger party either of the lofts can commofortabily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Found this place through a living social special. Did some research on the area and decided to book our getaway. The inn is very comfortable,warm and inviting. The Innkeepers were friendly and made us feel welcome. After a tour of the Inn we did wish we would have booked one of the loft suites, they are amazing (so are the guest rooms). After a recommendation from Kelly we took a drive into Michigan and saw some beautiful sites. Winter on Lake Superior is breathtaking. Breakfast at the in was very good, Kelly is an amazing cook, she also made a decadent cake that was delightful as a late night desert. We really enjoyed our stay it was a super way to reconnect and recharge.

Room Tip: Try one of the loft suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Second Wind has a warm, relaxing atmosphere. The room was very clean and accomodating, decorated to make you feel comfortable. A basket of chocolates was a nice welcome and having coffee available in the meeting room was nice also. The Innkeepers, Mark and Kelly were friendly but not over-bearing. They respected our privacy and desire to relax alone. We thought the breakfast was good and enjoyed meeting the other guests. At first the thought of eating with strangers was weird, but the Illicks totally made all of us feel at ease and kept interesting conversation. The country setting does wonders for destressing and the beauty all around quiets the soul! It was a fun B&B experience!

Room Tip: It would be a fun place to take the family since they have 2 bigger rooms with lofts and there is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bekki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesashlandbandbs, Owner at Second Wind Country Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks Bekki for your kind review. We are so glad you liked Second Wind! We'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This contemporary B&B is amazing in it's size and beauty. We had one of two immense loft suites that occupy the second and third floors of the house. My favorite details of the suite were the numerous oversized chairs, ottomans and sofas, all done in an "up north" theme. There were books and games galore, and wonderful breakfasts.

We stayed in late February and would like to return when the weather warms, and we could visit the animals in the barn and wander the countryside. Though the inn is located on 35 acres of land, it's a short distance to Ashland WI. where we found several good restaurants, the Second Street Bistro and the Deep Water Grille.

Mark and Kelly are wonderful innkeepers, and Kelly works tirelessly to meet all your needs by preparing delicious breakfasts, and providing meticulously clean and beautifully decorated rooms and suites. Mark can tell you about some of the trials encountered while building the inn.

We wholeheartedly recommend a stay at Second Wind Counrty Inn B&B!

Room Tip: We loved the "up north" theme of the Northern Lights Loft. The other loft and two rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrayellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesashlandbandbs, Owner at Second Wind Country Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation. We'd love to have you back this summer! Each season has its own beauty and adventure here in northern Wisconsin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Second Wind was a great find - we were really happy with the awesome, clean, comfortable room that we had, as well as the delicious breakfast. Everything is very updated and in excellent condition. The owners, Mark and Kelly, do a great job of making you feel welcome -- sometimes I've stayed away from B&Bs because it's a weird feeling of staying in some else's home. No so here. In any case, I can't say a bad word about it! Just wish we would have had more time to enjoy their location and visit the farm animals!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsneezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
170 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
62 reviews
18.3 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Wind Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Wind Country Inn

Property: Second Wind Country Inn
Address: 30475 Carlson Rd, Ashland, WI 54806-3661
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come catch your breath at Second Wind, a country inn just 5 minutes from downtown Ashland. On weekends we serve a full complementary breakfast. On weekdays we have lowered our rates and no longer include breakfast, though a breakfast basket with granola,(homemade at Second Wind) yogurt, fresh fruit, juice and coffee are available for a $15 fee per couple. We are located in rural Ashland WI, just minutes from Lake Superior in the beautiful Chequomegon Bay area. Second Wind is host to many cooperate retreats and family reunions with meal plans besides breakfast available. We are able to accommodate up to 20 people in our four suites at the main inn, plus The Homestead has additional sleeping quarters. Second Wind is right on the ATV and snowmobile trails, plus there is opportunity to walk, hike, disc golf, play bocce, cross country ski, and snow shoe here on our property. We also offer farm stays on our small working farm which include campfire breakfast, ranch meals and horse-drawn wagon or sleigh rides. We also offer a 50% weekday discount to active military staying 2 or more nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing