We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing and Tranquil”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Second Wind Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Ashland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Menomonie, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Refreshing and Tranquil”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We ended our camping trip in Washburn with a stay at the Second Wind B&B in Ashland WI. It wasn't planned, but as we drove up the driveway to the Inn, Mark greeted us along with his two little donkey companions. My first impression of this wonderful place was priceless! The entire inn has a cozy log cabin feel along with all of the pampering amenities. The food was wonderful and the beds were very comfortable too. We even got to enjoy an amazing sunset on one of the front porch swings. The view from each window is beautiful as well. Mark and Kelly made us feel so at home here and the conversation with them was easy and comfortable. If privacy is something you are looking for, then you'd have it here as well. The animals on their property were adorable and we could tell they get a lot of love and attention as they were so happy to see us. If you want to get away from things and rejuvenate yourself, you will walk away from this peaceful place with a renewed energy and calmness. I would highly recommend staying at the Second Wind B&B. Thank you Mark and Kelly for making us feel so at home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
38
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a five days with Kelly an Marc at their bed and Breakfast and had a great experience. This large and well laid out chalet type structure is a great destination for families or couples looking for a base camp to see the north woods and south lake superior basin. We got a good breakfast and had a solid quiet nights sleep each day of our activity filled visit. day 1 was a 6 hour kayak trip in the calm Bay area of chequamegon(spelling?)bay area where we paddled from Bono creek to washburn marina and back again. we saw bald eagles and sand caves which were the high light of the day and returned to a peacefull farm setting and a great nights sleep. day 2 we traveled to Amniccon falls and hiked the trails then swam in the pool below the falls,it was 100 degrees out but it only made the falls that much more enjoyable.
day 3 we ran a 5k in mellen just south of ashland for their annual library fundraiser,great town and good people.day 4 we toured Copper falls state park which was a day of rest and strolling through the woods in the shade. day 5 we window shopped in ashland and combed the beach nearby for driftwood . this was a great trip and a great bed and breakfast. every morning there was a different and hot meal ready to go and all the information we needed for the day was their for the asking from Marc and kelly who are from the area and know the sites well.
thanks guys we will be back next year.

Room Tip: Tell Kelly how many and how long so she can fit you in the best spot. the upstairs rooms are larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

After returning this year once again for Ashland's Whistlestop Marathon, we are convinced that Second Wind is our favorite Inn of them all. It is cozy, comfortable and has all of the amenities only available in a home built to be a B&B like this one recently was! Great soaking tubs, nice teas, cozy chairs and sofas to sink into. The food is also grand, but what makes this inn the best is Mark and Kelly's gracious hospitality. If a quiet country inn is what you're looking for, this is a great option!

Room Tip: We have enjoyed the Bear Den both stays. This room is accessible (as are the kitchen and gathering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We finally got away from those traffic jams in NJ to visit our Nephew, Niece and their family in quiet Ashland. #1 Niece suggests Second Wind Country B&B instead of a hard couch and cot.... a Gold Star suggestion! What a delight! We spent six wonderful, relaxing days in both the Northern Lights Loft and the Bear's Den. Each day was a new surprise down at the country breakfast table with one of Kelly's wonderful breakfasts along with Mark's easy going conversations about country life. These two know how to charm their guests with the beautiful views and wildlife that make this a wonderful retreat. We are looking forward to returning to visit with our extended family and at the same time, beginning and ending more wonderful days at Second Wind Country B&B.

Room Tip: The Northern Lights Loft and Great Room provide beautiful views, for the countryside during days and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I am a local resident of Ashland, Wisconsin and it was a treat for me to spend a weekend at Second Wind. You will enjoy the scenic drive to the inn and as you arrive, you'll take in a breathtaking view of the Chequamegon Bay area. All the rooms have a Northwoods theme and each room is comfortable and immaculately clean. When you wake up in the morning, you will be treated to a gourmet breakfast prepared and served by Kelly. We had the pleasure of having both Mark and Kelly join us for breakfast conversation. If you want a wonderful, relaxing, and quiet get-away, this is the place for you. You will have an enjoyable stay and you'll be counting the days until you return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was my 2nd time staying at a B&B, the experience was awesome! I stayed 2 nights in the Northern Lights Loft with 4 other girls, there was plenty of room for all of us & all of our stuff. Kelly was great & her breakfasts were phenomenal. The rustic atmosphere was so inviting & super clean. This B&B comes highly recommened from me & the other 4 girls I stayed with. We are already planning to make this an annual trip because we enjoyed it so much!

Room Tip: If you have any questions about where or what, just ask Kelly or Mark. They responded to my emails s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tottenham, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2011

On September 16/11 my wife & I set out on a two week adventure that took us through Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Ontario & Manitoba.
Our first stay was at Second Wind Country Inn B&B.
Kelly & Mark run a fablous establishment in Ashland, there love of life and nature are very strong attributes they should be very proud of.
At the breakfast table it was great to here about there family of five and share are own son's stories.
The variety of breakfasts over three days was superb and we look forward to what Kelly was going to prepare the next day.
Also they very helpful with advice to a couple that has strong dreams of opening there own B&B in Eastern Ontario.
Our room the Bears Den was beautiful and comfortable, and waking to the sounds of nature was a treat.
I recall one morning lying in bed and hearing a odd sound, I replied to my wife Lorraine what was that and she said that was the donkeys.
It was refreshing compared to the sounds of the city of Toronto and this is what holidays are all about.
There is no doubt that in future travels I would stay at Second Wind.
Thank you Kelly & Mark.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
5.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
580 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
385 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
55 reviews
18.3 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Wind Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Wind Country Inn

Property: Second Wind Country Inn
Address: 30475 Carlson Rd, Ashland, WI 54806-3661
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come catch your breath at Second Wind, a country inn just 5 minutes from downtown Ashland. On weekends we serve a full complementary breakfast. On weekdays we have lowered our rates and no longer include breakfast, though a breakfast basket with granola,(homemade at Second Wind) yogurt, fresh fruit, juice and coffee are available for a $15 fee per couple. We are located in rural Ashland WI, just minutes from Lake Superior in the beautiful Chequomegon Bay area. Second Wind is host to many cooperate retreats and family reunions with meal plans besides breakfast available. We are able to accommodate up to 20 people in our four suites at the main inn, plus The Homestead has additional sleeping quarters. Second Wind is right on the ATV and snowmobile trails, plus there is opportunity to walk, hike, disc golf, play bocce, cross country ski, and snow shoe here on our property. We also offer farm stays on our small working farm which include campfire breakfast, ranch meals and horse-drawn wagon or sleigh rides. We also offer a 50% weekday discount to active military staying 2 or more nights. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashland Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing