We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!”
Review of Crest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crest Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Elk Grove Village, ILlinois, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beware!”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Be careful of this place. Due to a winter storm in April, I had to cancel my weekend trip. When I tried to call, there was no answer on either of their telephone numbers - not even an answering machine or voice mail.

Thank goodness I was calling to cancel a reservation and not report an overflowing toilet, leaky roof, or report a break in! Unable to even leave a message, I sent an email to the hotel to cancel my reservation. They charged my Visa anyway. Despite my plans to stay at a later date, I was unable to get any sort of credit from the manager on duty.

There are plenty of decent places run by honest folks in Ashland. Say 'no' to this dump. Stay at one of the places down the road.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ddh716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibkurtb, Owner at Crest Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
As the owner of the Crest Motel, I would like to note that this reviewer did not actually stay at the Crest Motel which is evident if the review is thoroughly read. Also, the inability to contact us via telephone is a rare occurrence as the phones are by our side from 7am to 10pm daily. Also, a credit card is given to guarantee a room and is necessary if guests arrive past 10pm, and is therefore charged. When this incident was brought to our attention we were happy to refund the money. The review also implies that we have many issues with our motel, which is also not true. If an issue with the property occurs, we attend to it as soon as possible, as we take pride in the up-keep of our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
20
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Stayed here for 2 days. Was charged for 3 days. Told us that "someone" called and told them to hold a room in our name. No one in our group had ever called and no one from the resort ever told us at check in or at check out that someone had called to hold a room. They charged us an extra day for that room. Fought with them for over a month as they said they would not refund us. Finally contact the BBB to get the situation straightened out. Will NEVER stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sconnors98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibkurtb, Owner at Crest Motel, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
As the owner of the Crest Motel, I would like to note that we were never contacted by the BBB and were happy to refund the money for the misunderstanding on our part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ashland hotels

Kenosha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed here Labor day weekend while dropping my son off at college. The rooms were reasonably priced, clean, quiet and comfortable. The TV had HBO and the bathroom was spotless. The park like setting in front of the motel was a great place to have a cup of coffee in the morning and watch a large ship come into the harbor!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAMKenosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed on on our last night of a two-week bicycle ride around Lake Superior. We weren't blown away by this place - the room was a bit cramped (especially with two bikes) but it's hard to complain to loudly given the price. We did take advantage of the sweeping grounds between the motel and the 4-lane that runs between the lake and the property. We watched the sun set on a pleasant evening while we enjoyed a nice glass of wine.

Watch your head as you enter the room - the TV is mounted to the wall, and it's not exactly a flat screen. Manage to avoid knocking yourself unconcious and you'll otherwise be satisfied at the Crest Motel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 26pt2runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My husband is a native of the area, and had stayed at the Crest, when it was under previous management. While there had been some obvious improvements to the property, there were still areas that could have been better, and that did not match with what previous reviewers had indicated.
1) Our room smelled extremely musty. It did improve somewhat with running the A/C and leaving a window open, but it still wasn't great. We were there on a weekend night, and they were booked solid, so there was no possibility of switching rooms. There was so much dampness in the room, that even the bedsheets felt damp to your feet.
We suspect this situation could be improved significantly, simply by placing a dehumidifier in the rooms and running it when the room is being cleaned, or possibly a few hours before someone is arriving to check in. Being an older motel built on a concrete slab, dampness would likely be a problem, and this might be an "inexpensive fix" for the owners.
2) There was some visible mold around the sink grout. It wasn't bad, and with just a bit more attention to detail, would be caught by the cleaning staff. There were a few dark spots (possibly mold/mildew) on the ceiling in the bathroom, and in the back corner of the bedroom. Not a big deal, other than my daughter is somewhat allergic to molds, and found she felt a little congested after the night there. The rest of the bathroom and room were reasonably clean, carpets were worn, but ok, and the sofa was not in very good condition.
3) While clean and adequate, the beds/foundations should be replaced. They squeaked pretty loudly when someone turned over, or moved around in the bed. We did joke that no one should plan to honeymoon there....
4) We were unsuccessful logging onto the internet while there.
5) The refrigerator was in serious need of defrosting. We did not use it, but there was a significant layer of ice (a couple of inches thick) all the way around the freezer.

We chose the Crest over our usual "first choice" motels for Ashland (AmericInn & Lake Superior Lodge), mainly because of reviews here on TripAdvisor. This is not the "discount season" for the region, and our favorites (as well as the other chain motel were hitting around $130-$150) per night, which was not really within the family budget.

We did not have the opportunity to view a room in the "new section", but wonder if all the good reviews here came from people who had stayed in that section. On the positive side, the manager we met on sign in was friendly and personable. The motel was quiet, no "riff-raff" or wild parties going on.

Next time we need a discount room in Ashland, we will likely try River Rock Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godprovides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Good value. Room was clean. Wonderful view of the lake, and stunning sunset. I was on an unstructured road trip with no reservations. My only rule was "no chains". I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We felt as if we were not even in town sitting in the spacious front yard admiring the vastness of the bay. The staff was all so friendly and really made us feel at home. Thanks Crest Motel for your excellent hospitality!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watertours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
62 reviews
16.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Motel

Property: Crest Motel
Address: 115 Sanborn Ave., Ashland, WI 54806-1010
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Crest Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing