We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of AmericInn Ashland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Ashland
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Big rooms, fantastic view, extras you typically only see at resorts make this a great place to stay. From s'mores to a boat dock, outside patio along the lake, games for the kids...couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a lakeside room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestUSA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear MidwestUSA62,

Thanks so much for your great review of our hotel. We want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us and are always pleased to get positive feedback like yours. I hope you will let us serve you here again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Ashland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 617 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed at this Americinn several times and have always appreciated the accommodating staff and the clean,quiet rooms. The whirlpool suite with the lake view is a perfect way to relax.I will be back.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room on the north side for the best lake views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Jean M,

Thank you very much for your many visits and for taking the time to write and post your review. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay with great service, and a terrific view of Lake Superior! We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you again on your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We travel quite often in the midwest and look for Country Inn & Suites by Carlson as a first choice and AmericInn as a second choice---we've stayed in many AmericInns in Wisconsin, Minnesota, South Dakota and Iowa. We stayed at this AmericInn for three evenings and it is far from what we expect of an AmericInn.

For some time this hotel has been the best alternative in Ashland, but it has clearly deteriorated in recent years. Examples of the issues we encountered:

-stained and sticky spots in carpet in room
-lots of mildew in shower
-ants in shower area
-daily housekeeping poor; killed several of the ants in the shower and they remained there for 2 more days
-daily housekeeping not done until nearly 4pm each day due to "new check-ins being the priority"
-tv not working properly; night mgr solution "smack the back of the set--it works"
-cheap, soft mattresses
-no newspapers

Perhaps the worst issue is the breakfast area. The carpeted area was disgustingly filthy and badly stained. One of the mornings the door to the food prep area was open and the tile floor in that area was no different. The waste basket was caked with dried food from folks emptying their plates into it---clearly hadn't been wiped down for a long time. Sausage and eggs in the serving dish were not just lukewarm but cold.

At $100 weekdays and $135 weekends its also an expensive AmericInn

From my experience I can't possibly understand how some folks have rated this hotel either 4 or 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubaytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear dubaytom,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to the AmericInn family of hotels, and for staying with us in Ashland. I am truly sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction and offer my sincere apologies. The conditions you describe are certainly not up to our usual high standards, and I am glad you took the time to let us know. I hope you will contact me directly via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com, so we can discuss this further. We appreciate your business and value your input. I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I have been staying here for our anniversary for the past 4 years. We had had a few rough patches in our Ashland stays. We have only had one issue at the Americinn and that was last year. We placed a reservation online drove up and found out that we did not have a room. The online system allowed a room under construction to be booked resulting in us driving 5.5 hrs and not having a hotel. The desk lady did help us find a different room and we stayed there for the night and on the way back to the Americinn we got a flat tire and had to walk in the rain the rest of the way. We spoke with Venice who is the most AWESOME person they have at the Service Desk. She fixed everything and has the best recommendations of what is going on in the area. The rooms are clean and nice and we have not had issues in that area ever. You can go down to the lake, they have an area you can have a fire by the lake and make smores, rent a paddle-boat, fish (they will supply rods and bait!), or just stroll the beach-line. This is the only hotel I would stay at when I am in the area. If available do a lakeside room!

Room Tip: Book as far in advance as possible and do a lakeside room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The room we were in was quite and comfortable, we were overnighting on our way to Lake of the Woods, Ontario. We left very early the next morning, so didn't have enough time to see the hotel in total. The only problem was that there wasn't a restaurant on site or close enough to walk to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downriverbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We always stay in this hotel when we come to Ashland! Great views, nice beach area to walk down and lots for the whole family to do. Breakfast is a nice bonus also and the staff have always been very welcoming and helpful. The rooms with the balconies have gorgeous sunset views and last time we stayed we even watched a storm out on the lake. Very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syringh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There was a teenage kid manning the room Labor Day weekend. The room was an absolute mess; food spilled all over countertops/floor, sticky tables, garbage overflowing, empty food bins, and no silverware and plates kept full in dispensers. Someone should seriously think about retraining this kid and also checking up on the room regularly.

Disgusting and totally unacceptable!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 35805Patsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ashland, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear DonaldLisaFromUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. The only way we can get better is to get honest and timely feedback from valued guests like you. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards during your visit and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our team and will make the necessary changes and improvements so this does not continue or recur. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com, and we will do what we can to make this right for you. I hope you will give us another chance to gain your trust on a future visit to Ashland.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
2.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
178 reviews
3.3 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
71 reviews
14.0 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#2 of 16 in Bayfield
462 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Ashland

Address: 3009 Lake Shore Dr E, Ashland, WI 54806-2520
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range: $110 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn of Ashland, Wisconsin, is more than just it's great location (a spectacular setting and great views). From the moment you walk into the AmericInn's warm and homey lobby, you'll know why it's a VacationLand favorite. Everything is right for a memorable stay: surprising luxury, comfort and quality, plus a friendly, helpful staff who, like friends, look forward to welcoming you back time after time. Come enjoy a Superior vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AmericInn Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Ashland Hotel Ashland
Americinn Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing