We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“apple fest stay”
Review of Super 8 Ashland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Ashland
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“apple fest stay”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

first off the hotel only had stairs and as much as I do not mind stairs we had a stoller and it was very hard to get it upstairs. the pool was Freezing the water was so cold it was hard to enjoy the pool.. then when we were in the room when we open the window what we got to look at a white WALL !!!! the chairs in the room were dirty with stains and didn't even go with the table.. The room was clean ... Price was way to high !!!! sorry to say we will not stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: If you want to pay high price and not have so much this is the place for you !!! I know I will not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassie339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    167
    110
    37
    14
See reviews for
151
136
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I travel nearly every week for business, so I've been in a lot of hotels. This Super 8 is a basic Super 8.

While the rooms haven't been updated in a while, they're always clean. They have a decent cable selection and offer free wi-fi.

It does have a pool and hottub with ample seating. The continental morning breakfast is basic, but always well stocked.

There's usually plenty of parking - but it can get challenging during deer hunting season with a parking lot full of pickup trucks and ATV trailers.

I've stayed here about 10 times and haven't had any issues. The rates typically range from $50 off season to $110 during prime vacation time.

Within a half hour, you can get to the Bad River Casino, Big Top Chautauqua, Bayfield and Madeline Island and the resort areas in Iron River, WI and Delta, WI.

I'll likely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATW-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This motel was a stop along our route. We had travelled across the U.S. from Canada and we were on our way home. Ashland was on our route so we were looking for a motel that was convenient and we didn't have to go far from the highway. The motel was quite and the room was satisfactory. We stayed in several places along our trip so we had others to compare it to. We stopped there July 24th and the hot weather had settled in. The a/c worked but it was either on full blast or not nearly cool enough, there was no happy medium. Access from the parking lot was easy however we were on the second floor so had to carry bags up the stairs. There were several places to eat and shop near the hotel. The remote control for the television stopped working but that was the morning when we were leaving. There is not refrigerator in these rooms and since my wife had medications that needed to be cooled, hat was a problem. We had a Koolatron that plugged into our van to chill them when we drove so it was fortunate I had brought a convertor to use it in our room if need be. The breakfast was… complimentary, meaning not much to choose from however it is not a hotel with a restaurant so that was expected. All told the motel wasn’t the worst we had experienced however it did leave something to be desired. The price was right so we have no big complaints. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very clean and quiet. We were thankful there was a laundry facility just down from our room. We'd stay again if ever passing thru. $79.96 King Room non smoking. Used Entertainment Book wyndam rewards toll free number and saved about $20.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knr5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

At the end of a long day, this was a nice place to rest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank controlfitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Very clean motel. The desk staff and housekeeping staff were very friendly and very helpful. We will definately be staying here again and would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmaD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I truly enjoyed staying here at the Ashland Super 8 Hotel. Shirley and Ken are The Front Desk people, Katrina works the Afternoon Evening Shift. These people were very Nice outgoing, and made me feel at home and were more than willing to give me any information i needed about ashalnd.

I would recommend anyone visiting Ashland to stay at the Super 8 and having professional friendly staff as these people make for a pleasant and nice stay.

Highly recommended. The front Desk people make this hotel a good travel bet or family and friends

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopper900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
169 reviews
3.3 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
62 reviews
16.2 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
446 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ashland

Property: Super 8 Ashland
Address: 1610 Lake Shore Dr W, South Side US Highway 2, Ashland, WI 54806-1146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ashland 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Ashland Hotel Ashland
Super Eight Ashland
Ashland Super Eight
Ashland Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing