We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, little pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 2nd Street Bistro

2nd Street Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
2nd Street Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 44 Restaurants in Ashland
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The food is great, been there a few times, always order the steak sandwich, and it is always great! Menu is small, but what they have is high quality. Little pricey, but worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    7
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glad we discovered 2nd Street Bistro! Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed all aspects of our meal. Started out with a side
salad and the house dressing. It was perfect! A variety of fresh delicious greens, slivers of red onion, red pepper, and whole heirloom cherry tomatoes. Drizzled with a wonderful rice wine dressing. We followed the salad with a sandwich. One had a burger, one the chicken sandwich and one the whitefish. My son and I had the hand cut fries and my husband had the broccoli salad. All were fresh and yummy. I especially enjoyed the whitefish, lightly breaded and perfectly cooked. The waiter was spectacular as he serviced every table in the place in a friendly well versed manner. No lag in service despite being the only waiter. We topped off our meal with a blueberry tort with a scoop of ice cream. As far as I could tell, ingredients were extremely fresh and local. I can't wait to get back to Ashland for another meal at this great little restaurant. Keep up the fine work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EWNLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, live music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

They have a limited menu, but the food is great. Enjoyed the sweet potato fries. The veggie wrap was loaded with veggies in Indian naan bread. We did not have any dessert but the menu was distinct and looked good. They could do with outdoor seating especially on the 2nd street side, that will look over Lake Superior. The ambiance with the live music was awesome for a Friday night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVeggieSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Our go-to place whenever we are in Ashland.,,by far the best food in the City.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've been going to the 2nd St. Bistro whenever in Ashland since it opened. The food is consistently outstanding, the owner/waiter is always friendly and knowledgeable, and the place is sparkling clean (including the bathrooms). Although we especially enjoy the soups, crab cakes and sandwiches, everything we've tried has been excellent. The space itself has understated décor that only makes everyone feel welcome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aging1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped here because of other tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. An interesting menu featuring fresh and local ingredients presented by a helpful and well-informed server. Dinner for two was worth every penny of the $50 price tag (without alcohol).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RocketMcAgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2nd Street Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 2nd Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing