We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ashland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center is a four-season facility, capturing the unique qualities of this multi-state region. An intriguing objects theater, engaging exhibits and special programs are designed to tell the stories of the region's cultural and natural history. Comprehensive visitor information services and a friendly hospitality staff will help guide you on your journey. Open Daily from 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m. Free
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This FREE visitor's center has a wealth of information on many subjects and the history of the northern Wisconsin area. A self-guided tour walks you through the history from ancient times up to present day.There is a theater on-site to view films on subjects regarding history & such. The gift shop is cute & reasonably priced. There is a DNR personnel on site along with staff to answer questions & direct you to information you seek.
3 levels are part of this building. The top level gives a spectacular view of the area. This is also a naturalist area with interpretive trails, amphitheater & birding.
I would recommend walking shoes & appropriate dress according to the seasonal weather to enjoy the trails, along with a camera to get photos of the great views.

1  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Public Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Dear Veronica S,
Thank you for visiting our center! We are glad you had such a great experience here. It sounds like you got to see a lot of what we have to offer, from trails, films, our exhibit hall, our observation hall, and gift shop. We hope you get a chance to visit us again, thank you for rating us with five stars on Trip Advisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

It held the interest of everyone in our group. Wish we would have had time to take one of the trails.

Thank Finns2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you Finns2164 for the nice review! We are so happy you stopped in and we hope that you’ll have time to check out the trail system next time. The board walk is located behind the Visitor Center and only takes about 20 minutes. If you have a bit more time, the Aldo Leopold Stewardship trail is just across Cty G and has a nice view of Fish Creek. Näkemiin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nice stop to learn about the area, very informative and interactive displays. There is a beautiful viewing area and lookout tower. The staff is very helpful and has plenty of information for the area There is also a nice gift shop.

Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center and the kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from the tower and the gift shop. We hope that you will be able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a quick visit stop to see what was new. We didn't like all the flies on the top floor. We didn't try out the trails as it was raining that day.

Thank DJAMBRITT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for visiting the Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center recently and taking the time to submit a review. It sounds like it was a rainy day, which is often our busiest since it is a dry place to hang out. We hope that you’ll stop back again and try out the board walk. We apologize for the pesky flies in the tower. Our maintenance staff vacuums twice a day during this time of year in that area, but with the doors constantly being opened in the tower, we have a hard time keeping up. It seems like every fall we go through a week or two of this, and then it’s over. We do agree that it is not a pleasant sight and we will continue to work on it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center sits back away from highway US 2. A couple of years ago we just drove by, but not this time and we were happy we stopped. Friendly staff were there to advise us. However the displays relating to anthropology, history, biology, geology, and the like, are well documented and self guided. As others have mentioned the view from the top is worth the effort. You will find a telescope and binoculars available for your use (so we did not have to run back to our car to get ours) We were glad to find a small gift shop with worthwhile items that we could consider for our (grand)children. There is an exterior trial that looked informative, although we did not take it because of the weather.

Thank svenskjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NGLVC, Guest Relations Manager at Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for stopping by the Visitor Center this time. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from the tower and that the scope and binoculars were of benefit. Our staff enjoys hearing that you had a good visit, and we hope the grandkids enjoyed the gifts from the store! We hope you'll stop by next time you're driving through to take a hike on the board walk. It's just the perfect length to stretch your legs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Northern Great Lakes Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing